See other Ottawa properties

Ottawa Backpackers Inn

203 York Street, Ottawa, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 79% from 27 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had a very nice stay in that Hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
  • 91%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Katrin Austria
  • When I was in the Hostel, there weren't too many guests, but the staff was really nice and we've chatted a lot. Maybe the fact that there weren't too many guests explains, why I had the feeling the room wasn't always perfectly clean, but nothing you'd have to worry about. My bed wasn't too great, I have had better beds for the same price, but it wasn't too bad! The location is great, it's just like 10 minutes walk to the Parliament and downtown and nice cafés and restaurants around.
  • 86%
  • 16 Feb 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Great location, close to the majority of tourist places. Friendly staff. Unfortunately no breakfast. Good values.
  • 83%
  • 23 Dec 2013 BARBARA Brazil
  • Good location and decent sized room but the bed was extremely uncomfortable.
  • 69%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Nina Australia
  • I came for 2 day from Toronto, and I spend nice time in the hostel. The stuff were friendly and gave useful information. The privet room was too small and it was clean. no towel . The atmosphere was nice, The W.C. were public but it didn't cause any problem. It was close to the center, good location.
  • 71%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Ayelet Israel
  • I was only there one night, so I don't have too much I can contribute in this review. It was clean, everyone was easy going, and there were many bars within walking distance. Seemed liked a good place.
  • 86%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • The location is great if you want to visit the byward market or the US embassy. The cat in the hostel was friendly. OTHER THAN THOSE ABOVE, everything else is disappointing. 1, the hostel stinks. 2, the carpet, the sofa in the common area and the kitchen are dirty. 3, the duvet looked like just picked up from garbage, so are the mattress fitting sheet and linens. I slept with my clothes on. 4, there's a reading lamp for each bed but they are way too bright. Next time I would book the Marriot.
  • 51%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Only stayed one night here, and it was long enough! Dirty and poor facilities, but the location was good.
  • 63%
  • 16 Oct 2013 Anonymous China
  • DUUUUUDE!!! Had an awesome time at the Backpackers inn on York st. Staff were awesome they accommodated my insane schedule for the week with no problems!! Plus I met a gorgeous lady during my stay there which was just a cherry on top ;) Rock on homies!!!
  • 94%
  • 01 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • the cab driver did not want to let me stay in this hostel. he said it is located in a bad neighborhood... the sheets and towels were dirty and the bathroom was the worst i ever seen and i travelled in remote places in south america. it was very expensive for what was offered.
  • 46%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Massimo France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »