See other Oxford properties

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

9A Hythe Bridge Street, Oxford, England, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 72% from 11 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 63%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff is very helpful and willing to accommodate everyone accordingly.
  • 91%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • It was not as bad as the other reviews made it seem. I don't understand people who pay less than 20 for a bed and expect a 5 star experiance. There was a nice community area, nice layed back atmosphere. There was a good kitchen area, a bar, and breakfast was fine. The showers were warm, the blankets were warm, everything was clean, everyone was friendly. Rumor has it that the higher the room number the worse the rooms were, but I was happy and comfortable in #8 :)
  • 74%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Iris USA
  • OK Hostel very close to the centre.
  • 83%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Pawel Poland
  • The location is ok if you don't mind walking a little. Some restaurant and market are just in front. The hostel is clean and well cared. They have good rules if you want to have a more silent place to sleep, but they ask 5 pounds extra and give you back when you leave, "to be sure you will follow the rules", I did not like that.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • This hostel is just what the reviews imply- average. The staff are lovely, very welcoming and kind. Everything is fairly clean but a bit shabby...as if a dog got hungry and decided to munch on the furniture and bed linen. There are no social activities Bonuses: free wifi, free towel, free breakfast (which consists of toast and juice), close to train & bus station and the main city. Cons: multisex bathrooms, no wall sockets!!! They let all ages stay here, so some sketchy older folk.
  • 74%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Kelsey USA
  • The hostel staff was very helpful when it comes to lockers, keep waiting my coach inside the hostel after checkout and answered my questions swiftly.
  • 97%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Anonymous Malta
  • Be careful your DEPOSIT. If you are late to check out bit late, they won't be return it. The building is very poor!
  • 20%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The Oxford Backpackers Hostel was exactly what we would have expected. The facilities were all pretty standard for a low budget hostel. The rooms were crowded and the facilities were not the most appealing or cleanest. However, they do give you a simple breakfast, the staff are all super helpful and friendly and the location is perfect. We stayed in mid August and found the price to be insanely high, but I've checked since and the price has gone down, so perhaps it's a seasonal thing.
  • 71%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Sharon USA
  • Upon arrival we waited our turn but when they were ready for us we waited to be acknowledged by the staff. During the check in things were complicated by the front desk incompetence when calculating how to split costs. The rooms were small and basic bathrooms down the hall stall style. The WiFi was spotty in the rooms and in the common area my roommate never fully connected during our entire stay.
  • 54%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »