See other Oxford properties

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

9A Hythe Bridge Street, Oxford, England, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 75% from 11 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 69%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Close to the Town Centre.and the train station. Breakfust included and Great staff.
  • 94%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • The staff is very helpful and willing to accommodate everyone accordingly.
  • 91%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Anonymous Bulgaria
  • It was not as bad as the other reviews made it seem. I don't understand people who pay less than 20 for a bed and expect a 5 star experiance. There was a nice community area, nice layed back atmosphere. There was a good kitchen area, a bar, and breakfast was fine. The showers were warm, the blankets were warm, everything was clean, everyone was friendly. Rumor has it that the higher the room number the worse the rooms were, but I was happy and comfortable in #8 :)
  • 74%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Iris USA
  • OK Hostel very close to the centre.
  • 83%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Pawel Poland
  • The location is ok if you don't mind walking a little. Some restaurant and market are just in front. The hostel is clean and well cared. They have good rules if you want to have a more silent place to sleep, but they ask 5 pounds extra and give you back when you leave, "to be sure you will follow the rules", I did not like that.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • This hostel is just what the reviews imply- average. The staff are lovely, very welcoming and kind. Everything is fairly clean but a bit shabby...as if a dog got hungry and decided to munch on the furniture and bed linen. There are no social activities Bonuses: free wifi, free towel, free breakfast (which consists of toast and juice), close to train & bus station and the main city. Cons: multisex bathrooms, no wall sockets!!! They let all ages stay here, so some sketchy older folk.
  • 74%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Kelsey USA
  • The hostel staff was very helpful when it comes to lockers, keep waiting my coach inside the hostel after checkout and answered my questions swiftly.
  • 97%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Anonymous Malta
  • Be careful your DEPOSIT. If you are late to check out bit late, they won't be return it. The building is very poor!
  • 20%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »