See other Dublin properties

Paddy's Palace Dublin

5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 68% from 35 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My trip June 18 was ruined by a guest that was staying or living there as he informed me for a year, he yelled at us when we entered the room, saying that we banged the door , which I informed him that i do not bang doors that maybe the 2 windows that were open was the cause, he proceeded to shout and curse, only it was late at night, I would have left and went else where, the security man was no help it was obvious to us..So no thanks and no its not a palace.plus I wont recommend it.
  • 63%
  • 19 Jun 2015 bernie Ireland
  • Close to noisy train tracks.
  • 63%
  • 08 May 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The good things: 24hrs reception, free lift to the airport (even though the bus broke down in front of the hostel -_- ), comfy beds, good included breakfast, close to O'Connell Street and Temple bar. The bad things: the front door of our building was broken, I guess, and anyone could access it, close to a railroad track so noisy, no hot water for one day (had to go to another building to have a shower), no wi-fi in the rooms but only in the common room which closes at 11.00 pm.
  • 57%
  • 26 Feb 2015 Anonymous France
  • Great location, but no safety boxes and also little bit dorty public areas; but for one night stay it was okay, I had a good sleep even there was seven other girls in my room.
  • 66%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Hiljahenna Finland
  • Poor services. I booked private room for four with bathroom, but I got a room for 8 people without bathroom. We had one bathroom for the whole guests in the hostel. It was horrible.
  • 60%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Martina Czech Republic
  • We had a not so good experience in this hostel. Nothing horrible, but also not a good night. The hotel is well located and staff was nice to try to solve the problem with the heating (+). Now (-) our private room was super small, like 2x2m, really, nothing else than a bunk bed the smell of mould. It was really dirty and bed sheets did not look very good too, even though I think this comes with the whole impression of the room. It was very cold and heating wasn't working at all. Safety is poor.
  • 49%
  • 29 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The dorm room was great. The lounge area is only in the reception building with the kitchen and Wi-Fi. The bathroom was... moldy with no hot water. The red door building needs more work before I would stay there again. The problem is you will not know which building you will be staying in until you get there, so my next stay in Dublin will not be at Paddy's Place.
  • 63%
  • 23 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Although I had one of the best times of my trip in Dublin, it was more the people I met in the hostel than the actual hostel itself. While the kitchen was amazing, it is in a separate building than the dorms and dorms were often crowded and small. I also got bad bed bugs and when I notified staff of this, they did nothing about it. In saying that, I was the only one in a 10 bunk dorm that had them. If you stay a few days, you do get a few Paddywagon trip and that was incredible. Cheap but good.
  • 77%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • I probably wouldnt go back. While the free airport pickup is nice, I was a bit deceived. There is wifi but only in the lounge which is in a different building from the bedrooms. I wanted to do the free tour of Glendalough and Kilkenny but no one told me it was only free during the week and not weekends. The staff dont really seem to care much, and the bathrooms were kinda mucky. The kitchen was ok but the stove takes forever to heat up. The location and free airport pickup were the best.things.
  • 69%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Good location, airport shuttle is a plus Nice sitting room for the breakfast Having to go to lobby while it's open for internet is bothering but not a deal breaker Didn't tour with guide offered but seems to have quite some of them available Beside the one guy who kept saying that he wasn't there to make friends with customers (which I know...), staff was helpful
  • 80%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »