See other Vienna properties

Palace Hostel

Savoyenstrasse 2, A-1160 Wien, Vienna, Austria, Distance from city centre: 6.4km

Rating: 79% from 13 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved my stay here!! The location is a bit far but the view is amazing, it's on the same property as a castle, and I met some really amazing people. If you're taking the subway and then a bus, make sure you get on the bus (46B or 146B) and not the tram (46). I was wondering around for a couple hours. The breakfast is nothing to write home about but it's free so who cares! Other than that, from the moment I walked in the door, my stay was flawless! I definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Rachel USA
  • A good Hostel, but its far from the downtown
  • 74%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Good view
  • 89%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Juris Latvia
  • This hostel was very clean. Beds were average. The lockers in the room were very sturdy. The bathroom was clean, but small. It is about a 20 minute subway/bus ride from the city center, but it is easy to find and has a great view of Vienna. Breakfast was good, but nothing special. People at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.
  • 91%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Poor experience overall. We had booked more nights but stayed one night only. Bedroom not clean, mattress and bed linen stained, bed structure dusty. Unfriendly staff. The room was freezing at night. Wifi is only available in common areas and signal very low. Breakfast was very poor too. Never again! We are used to stay in youth hostels but this looks rather like a budget hotel! Stay in the city centre instead!
  • 20%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous Italy
  • It is a great option in an enchanting location, next to a palace and with an outstanding view over the beautiful city of Vienna. It seems far, but in 12 minutes you reach the subway with the bus. The breakfast is definitely rich in options. The only problem was the noise caused by a group of teenagers, but you have to expect it when booking a hostel. We certainly would stay there again.
  • 80%
  • 14 Dec 2013 paulo ricardo Brazil
  • We booked beds for two in the mixed dorm for two days. When we arrived there, they said that they could find a reservation for only one bed. We showed them the confirmation email but still we had to sleep in separate rooms which was irresponsible on their side. The problem was solved next day though. The location not so far from the city yet extremely peaceful. The view of the city from the hostel is superb ! No WiFi in rooms. Awesome breakfast.
  • 60%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Manoj Nepal
  • Welcoming, clean hostel; the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend Palace Hostel, and will book a room here if I return to Vienna. This place is a great deal, and the breakfast is wonderful!
  • 97%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Susan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »