See other London properties

Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage

40 College Crescent, Swiss Cottage, London, England, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 84% from 29 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed here several years ago. The place is still clean but it is time for a renovation. Replacing old furniture would be highly recommended. They are also trying to fit as many people in a room as possible. The fact a window can't open because another bed needs to be crammed into a room means maybe too many beds in the room? This was a room of 6. I switched to a room of 4 and it was much less cramped. The area is good and it is very close to the underground. It is very safe.
  • 86%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Jane USA
  • The cleanliness will meet anyone's standards. I was traveling alone and felt very safe. I sadly had to check out early, when my daughter went in to labor, and the staff worked so hard to map me out an efficient plan to get back home in time to meet my new granddaughter. Thank you for everything...I will rebook my stay soon!
  • 97%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staffs are friendly and helpful, I stayed at the ensuite room which with 2 toilets n two shower rooms pretty enough for 12 girls, just sometimes in the morning everyone needs the mirror so you better do it quick n let the others use. Since the room is at basement n this is a pretty old building so you can hear ppl walking n the floor cracking above u at night. Breakfast is good, their homemade croissant is delicious!!
  • 91%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Chiwui Hong Kong
  • Great place. Great bar/food. Shared a room with 12 others… each bunk had its own privacy curtain, a plug, and a shelf for your cellphone. Very pleased! lockers in each room. People stayed fairly quiet. 3 min walk to metro.
  • 97%
  • 20 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great place except couldn't start the shower :( lol I'm going back I'll try another shower stall.
  • 97%
  • 08 May 2014 deborah USA
  • Althought the hostel is a little far from city center, it is really close to the Underground. I was in a 12 beds girls only room. Every bed had a little light and a little curtain, which ensured you could sleep well, but made it more difficult to connect with fellow travelers. The "bar" area was really nice. However, it looked like the staff at reception did not have a lot to recommend and it sometimes looked as if I knew more. A little expensive, but overall, would stay there again !
  • 83%
  • 24 Apr 2014 Marie-Pier Canada
  • All perfect. It would make it better if the reception staff are a little bit more friendlier
  • 89%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Fauzihain Malaysia
  • The laundry is a little bit expensive. But the Staffs are nice and the atmosphere is good, especially for the hidden bed which with curtain.
  • 80%
  • 19 Feb 2014 CHIH CHING Taiwan
  • I like Palmer house as a senior traveler. The location is good, close to the center of London by the Underground, but not as intense. The beds in the dorms have a very nice feature as they have curtains you can use to close off the bed into a cozy personal sleeping pod. Breakfast is good and I always feel welcomed here. I have stayed before....will stay again.
  • 83%
  • 14 Jan 2014 Maurice USA
  • Very cute, friendly hostel with great facilities. It is in a good location off the yellow tube line, walking distance to Swiss Cottage Tube station. I thought the area was very quaint and nice. Only a 10 minute ride to all the main attractions which is decent for London. The atmosphere was very nice, and they had a bar downstairs which adds a nice social setting. The showers were very modern and clean which you don't see very often at hostels ;)
  • 91%
  • 09 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »