See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 74% from 13 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • simple only terrible
  • 23%
  • 26 Sep 2016 Lothar Germany
  • I am reluctant to say anything negative about this place, as the staff were all friendly and very helpful, the included breakfast very delicious, and the value very good for a downtown hostel, but the following items made us uncomfortable: no working smoke detector(wooden structure); room cold-staff person unable to turn heat on, but did give us 1 blanket; local person on stoop smoking outside, making a huge mess
  • 66%
  • 02 Sep 2016 RICHARD USA
  • The hostel does not have one of the most important things for an international traveller: wi-fi. During all my trip, I had to go to places to have wi-fi! It was terrible. I got really upset, since they put they have wi-fi in the website. The location is pretty good, but in Chicago we can take the subway to go everywhere. I don't feel it worth the money spent.I would recommend this hostel only if you don't need wi-fi and has a car.
  • 60%
  • 01 Sep 2016 Renan Brazil
  • Kitchen should be centrally located.
  • 94%
  • 19 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel - cannot take alcohol in though because they have a bar downstairs! Also heard a baby crying in the night - weird thing for a hostel! Fine just for a bed for the night though!
  • 77%
  • 10 May 2016 Rachel England
  • Thank you to the staff for being so helpful and friendly :)
  • 91%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • Both the TV room and hallways smell horrible! All the furniture in the common area should be renewed since they all stink! The bathroom doors should have an auto-closing system so that hallways will not smell like toilets! The breakfast is horrible and needs to be improved. The breakfast "police" guy (the older guy with glasses) needs to learn how to be polite to guests and stop bothering them during the breakfast!! The wifi needs to be fixed since there are constant disconnections!
  • 46%
  • 12 Apr 2016 Anonymous Turkey
  • price is really nice. Location also good. CTA station is near hostel. but first day heater was not working so I just slept wearing my jacket......
  • 80%
  • 10 Feb 2016 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »