See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 79% from 34 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was very nice, the location is close to a bike rental and blue line subway, you can be in dawntown in 2 min walking, is a good option to stay in Chicago...
  • 74%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Overall, there's nothing to complain about - actually other than the lack of elevators, but you can always ask someone to help you carry your luggage up the stairs if that's a problem. I actually was pleasantly surprised by the location - in the middle of Greektown in Chicago - and enjoyed meeting several Greek-Americans on the streets and going to authentic Greek restaurants! Little Italy is also nearby! The blue line is also right by the hostel, and it's located near several bus stops.
  • 77%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Phoebe Canada
  • Helpful staff (frnt desk), clean linen/room, large shared clean bath, but toilet stalls r so small knees bump the door+no working locks on stall doors! Breakfast = the usual dry cereals/milk,juices+cooked oatmeal,boiled eggs, very decent. Cleaning staff rude - seemed to want me to move so they could eat together(upstairs frig room), -they finally went into TV/computer lounge - left in a huff. Terrible WiFi but terminals(2) r free, small fee 2 stow luggage. EASY walk to Union Station!
  • 89%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is a perfect launch point to explore the city. The security was good and the staff were extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The ladies bath facilities were very accessible and clean. The overall value is excellent!!
  • 91%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • no lift there, if you are with your big luggage, you gonna carry it upstairs for two/ third floors
  • 74%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Me and my friend had a pretty good time at Parthenon Hostel. However, the WiFi was not so good and I dont know why I was unable to connect to facebook website. I tried everyday and both on computer and cellphone. I thought it was my computer or my cellphone, but I was able to connect to it when I was at Starbucks and Wendy's. So I think the problem is with the configurations of the hostel's'wifi
  • 91%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The location and staff were great. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good.
  • 77%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Robin USA
  • The wi-fi could be better and all rooms (4 bed) must be swap card.
  • 80%
  • 24 Apr 2014 CARLOS ARTHUR Brazil
  • I was pleased with the Parthenon. Despite its large size, the only noise problem was from a nearby restaurant, not inside. The linens, rooms, and bathrooms were clean; small bathroom, but I never saw a serious traffic jam. However, the dishes at the provided breakfast weren't clean. Security was fine. The area is nice, the front door locks electronically, and each dorm room has two locks. The room was quite warm, but the fan made it ok. All the other guests were polite and considerate.
  • 77%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel was wonderful. The staff was friendly and incredibly helpful and were available 24/7. We had no problem getting anywhere we wanted to go (whether by walking or taking public transit). Overall, the hostel was quiet and everyone was pleasant.
  • 86%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »