See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 79% from 47 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was surprised to learn this hostel is not disabled accessible - no elevator. I live in SF Bay Area and all buildings have elevators. It was painful, for me, to walk up and down the stairs with the serious arthritis in my knees.I wish the website indicated "not accessible".I would not have booked here w/o an elevator. It's not like this is the only hostel in downtown Chicago and the other ones are cost competitive with this one.They should invest in an elevator, in the stairwell.
  • 69%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Therese USA
  • This was my 1st time staying at a hostel I enjoyed it thoroughly great tenants clean facilities...Will definately return sometime..:)
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Rich USA
  • Great first time experience at hostel. Great pleasant beautiful staff
  • 94%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Joel USA
  • I am happy with my stay.
  • 80%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Zulfia Afghanistan
  • Clean bathroom, various breakfast, very very good location but, it was hard to sleep because of loud music from downstairs. And wi-fi was bad (disconnected continually)
  • 66%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Jihyun South Korea
  • It's a great place! If there would be two things that I would mostly refer to when talking about the hostel is the great location, very close to the center in a walkable area and the cool people you get to know there!
  • 91%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Martin Romania
  • We originally booked two spots in a female dorm and when we got there they upgraded us to a double room for free due to an event happening near by that would be load (which is was but we could not hear it in out new room) They also let us check in early as we were going out to the suburbs and would not be back in until late at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
  • 83%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • nice hostel. really close to the metro. breakfast included, nice staff. also you have a complete kitchen available.
  • 77%
  • 03 Nov 2014 fulvio Italy
  • We rented a 3 bed room for four nights. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the free breakfast is very generous, there was always plenty of hot water and we never had to wait for the showers. They have a laundry and a full kitchen but neither of these facilities are on the immediate premises. The only complaint would have been that one night one of the rooms downstairs was used for a party and the music was deafening until 2am.
  • 71%
  • 29 Oct 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Worse in my life experience. DON'T PAY CASH!! 1. in front of my door (single-room) was men’s restroom that never been closed so I heard when someone visited toilette, also it was a horrible smell from this toilette (there are 0.2 inches gap around door in my room) 2. Most important!!! They don’t have cell-phone connection in rooms!! (somehow reception been blocked) I could access service only in the lobby! 3. Instead staying 4 days, I moved out immediately but been charged $102, they took cash!
  • 34%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Iryna Ukraine
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »