See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 77% from 40 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • nice hostel. really close to the metro. breakfast included, nice staff. also you have a complete kitchen available.
  • 77%
  • 03 Nov 2014 fulvio Italy
  • We rented a 3 bed room for four nights. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the free breakfast is very generous, there was always plenty of hot water and we never had to wait for the showers. They have a laundry and a full kitchen but neither of these facilities are on the immediate premises. The only complaint would have been that one night one of the rooms downstairs was used for a party and the music was deafening until 2am.
  • 71%
  • 29 Oct 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Worse in my life experience. DON'T PAY CASH!! 1. in front of my door (single-room) was men’s restroom that never been closed so I heard when someone visited toilette, also it was a horrible smell from this toilette (there are 0.2 inches gap around door in my room) 2. Most important!!! They don’t have cell-phone connection in rooms!! (somehow reception been blocked) I could access service only in the lobby! 3. Instead staying 4 days, I moved out immediately but been charged $102, they took cash!
  • 34%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Iryna Ukraine
  • This location staff and experience was perfection!!!! I wS running the marathon and was able to walk in minutes to all the L stations, the start and the finish . Even though breakfast was at 730 they had water and bananas out extra early and permitted their own special bag check and showers. Amazing and wonderful in ever sense of the word.
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Kelly USA
  • No shampoo or body washing in the shower room. No free towel. The doom door cannot be locked. The room was very dirty. The toilet is so small. While sitting down, there is no enough space to bend my knees. It is the worst hostel I ever stayed. I would never stay here any more.
  • 26%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • this hostel is excellent. I really enjoyed the little touches to make the rooms seem more than they are, swags of materials around the windows and the artistic pictures in the rooms, the colour scheme of the hostel is also induced to make you smile as you climb the stairs. the continental breakfast was great and a good way to meet other guests.
  • 94%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • Excellently located just a few minutes from the centre of Chicago, perfect for travellers looking for a cheap place to stay. Bathroom facilities were good apart from the toilet doors did not lock which was a bit annoying. Other than that the facilities were clean and the room was fine. The breakfast which was provided was also good. Most of the staff we really friendly and would do whatever they could to try and make our stay as comfortable as possible! Excellent place for a low budget
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • I loved the location in Greektown! Walk to and from Amtrak and the Megabus, and if you're moving far about town, the 126 (and other lines) bus stop is on the corner of the block! I will say my single room was cold; it was at least 10 degrees F colder than the hallway, and felt like walking into a refrigerator. The staff did give me another blanket, and when I closed the vent (some AC still came in), I didn't really need the blanket, but kept it just in case. The free breakfast was great!
  • 97%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Leslie USA
  • I only stayed one night at the hostel but it was ok, the dorm was clean and comfortable, the toilets were ok and staff was helpful The computer was a bit old and slow and there was only one but I think in the whole it's a good hostel. You can take the Av. Jackson to get downtown by walking, it's only like 15 minutes and the walk is really nice. I would go back if I ever go back to Chicago. Besides, breakfast is included..
  • 71%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Marisol Mexico
  • Sweetest staff ever!! Also, I came back for the evening and was invited to join more guests in the bar downstairs and had a wonderful time. I highly recommend this hostel experience!
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Alyssa USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »