See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 78% from 37 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Needs a complete kitchen on the compound and another sitting/common room with a television.
  • 77%
  • 09 Sep 2015 Jewel Trinidad And Tobago
  • Very good location for the tourist. Youi can do many things by walk
  • 83%
  • 03 Sep 2015 Jasmine USA
  • The full kitchen is not in the building, if you're planning on cooking, its a far cry from ideal. Great folks though.
  • 71%
  • 02 Sep 2015 kakumyo USA
  • Good, interesting location in Grecian neighborhood without costing a fortune, with this hostel as base making possible an exploration of one of the world's most interesting cities.
  • 77%
  • 16 Aug 2015 Wilbur USA
  • Very easy to get to from Ohare. Take the blue line to your stop. The common area has kitchen with microwave and frig. Lounge area is small but adequate. People are friendly beds clean and comfortable. I obversed a variety of travelers. Young older and families small kids. Would stay there again when visiting from Orlando.
  • 86%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Dorothy USA
  • Front desk staff was super nice and helpful with all our questions. 1 day had no hot water in the shower, so that was pretty disappointing, especially paying we did for a private room on a busy weekend.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2015 miguel USA
  • The pictures on their profile are absolutely misleading. Our 3-person private room was anything else than cozy and everything seemed pretty dated, including the bathrooms. Considering hotel prices in an area close to major sights though this was still expensive but a good option. Complimentary breakfast was great.
  • 66%
  • 15 May 2015 Wiebke Germany
  • No elevator, far from subway. Very clean, decent breakfast!
  • 74%
  • 17 Apr 2015 ANNA TEREZA Brazil
  • This is my third time staying in a hostel. I would definitely not recommend this hostel to anybody. The only thing that I am satisfied with is just the location, which is very close to subway station and downtown areas. The pictures showed in the website are very different from the reality. The shared bathrooms are dirty. While you are showering, water is leaking from the top. Wifi is slow and the lounge is small. You basically don't have space to stay.
  • 49%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Anonymous China
  • Excellent location (5 minutes to Willis tower by walk, 5 minutes to Greyhound bus terminal by walk, 5-10 minutes to utd center by bus). Of course there are cheaper hostels in Chicago but this one is definetly worth staying. I was able to walk the entire city from here (didn't spend any money on transport). They provide you with a very basic breakfast (coffee, oats, cereals, toast, OJ, eggs). Clean and comfortable all in all. I can definetly recommend this place for a Chicago-City-Trip!!
  • 80%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »