See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 78% from 42 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The pictures on their profile are absolutely misleading. Our 3-person private room was anything else than cozy and everything seemed pretty dated, including the bathrooms. Considering hotel prices in an area close to major sights though this was still expensive but a good option. Complimentary breakfast was great.
  • 66%
  • 15 May 2015 Wiebke Germany
  • No elevator, far from subway. Very clean, decent breakfast!
  • 74%
  • 17 Apr 2015 ANNA TEREZA Brazil
  • This is my third time staying in a hostel. I would definitely not recommend this hostel to anybody. The only thing that I am satisfied with is just the location, which is very close to subway station and downtown areas. The pictures showed in the website are very different from the reality. The shared bathrooms are dirty. While you are showering, water is leaking from the top. Wifi is slow and the lounge is small. You basically don't have space to stay.
  • 49%
  • 15 Apr 2015 Anonymous China
  • Excellent location (5 minutes to Willis tower by walk, 5 minutes to Greyhound bus terminal by walk, 5-10 minutes to utd center by bus). Of course there are cheaper hostels in Chicago but this one is definetly worth staying. I was able to walk the entire city from here (didn't spend any money on transport). They provide you with a very basic breakfast (coffee, oats, cereals, toast, OJ, eggs). Clean and comfortable all in all. I can definetly recommend this place for a Chicago-City-Trip!!
  • 80%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • I was surprised to learn this hostel is not disabled accessible - no elevator. I live in SF Bay Area and all buildings have elevators. It was painful, for me, to walk up and down the stairs with the serious arthritis in my knees.I wish the website indicated "not accessible".I would not have booked here w/o an elevator. It's not like this is the only hostel in downtown Chicago and the other ones are cost competitive with this one.They should invest in an elevator, in the stairwell.
  • 69%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Therese USA
  • This was my 1st time staying at a hostel I enjoyed it thoroughly great tenants clean facilities...Will definately return sometime..:)
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Rich USA
  • Great first time experience at hostel. Great pleasant beautiful staff
  • 94%
  • 23 Dec 2014 Joel USA
  • I am happy with my stay.
  • 80%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Zulfia Afghanistan
  • Clean bathroom, various breakfast, very very good location but, it was hard to sleep because of loud music from downstairs. And wi-fi was bad (disconnected continually)
  • 66%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Jihyun South Korea
  • It's a great place! If there would be two things that I would mostly refer to when talking about the hostel is the great location, very close to the center in a walkable area and the cool people you get to know there!
  • 91%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Martin Romania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »