See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 72% from 12 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 58%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wonderful time
  • 100%
  • 19 Jan 2017 Richard
  • We got free breakfast, towels and hair dryers, the employees are very helpful and the breakfast was great for a hostel, toast, eggs, porridge, cereals, apples, coffee, tee. You can easily walk into the city, less than 10 minutes to Willis tower, metro station and bus station is closed by.
  • 86%
  • 29 Dec 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Good location, only two blocks from the blue line and three stops from the Loop. Customer service is very good and there's someone at the desk 24 hours. Biggest problems for me were 1)the shower took too long to heat up, there were two showers in one room together (can't say I'm a fan of random people seeing me naked), and they used kitchen non-slip mats to stand on outside of the shower while drying off. Also, I wasn't a fan of the fact that there was no elevator. Fourth floor walk ups ughhh
  • 74%
  • 02 Dec 2016 Brendon USA
  • simple only terrible
  • 23%
  • 26 Sep 2016 Lothar Germany
  • I am reluctant to say anything negative about this place, as the staff were all friendly and very helpful, the included breakfast very delicious, and the value very good for a downtown hostel, but the following items made us uncomfortable: no working smoke detector(wooden structure); room cold-staff person unable to turn heat on, but did give us 1 blanket; local person on stoop smoking outside, making a huge mess
  • 66%
  • 02 Sep 2016 RICHARD USA
  • The hostel does not have one of the most important things for an international traveller: wi-fi. During all my trip, I had to go to places to have wi-fi! It was terrible. I got really upset, since they put they have wi-fi in the website. The location is pretty good, but in Chicago we can take the subway to go everywhere. I don't feel it worth the money spent.I would recommend this hostel only if you don't need wi-fi and has a car.
  • 60%
  • 01 Sep 2016 Renan Brazil
  • Kitchen should be centrally located.
  • 94%
  • 19 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel - cannot take alcohol in though because they have a bar downstairs! Also heard a baby crying in the night - weird thing for a hostel! Fine just for a bed for the night though!
  • 77%
  • 10 May 2016 Rachel England
  • Thank you to the staff for being so helpful and friendly :)
  • 91%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Anonymous Australia
  • Both the TV room and hallways smell horrible! All the furniture in the common area should be renewed since they all stink! The bathroom doors should have an auto-closing system so that hallways will not smell like toilets! The breakfast is horrible and needs to be improved. The breakfast "police" guy (the older guy with glasses) needs to learn how to be polite to guests and stop bothering them during the breakfast!! The wifi needs to be fixed since there are constant disconnections!
  • 46%
  • 12 Apr 2016 Anonymous Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »