See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 77% from 35 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel was wonderful. The staff was friendly and incredibly helpful and were available 24/7. We had no problem getting anywhere we wanted to go (whether by walking or taking public transit). Overall, the hostel was quiet and everyone was pleasant.
  • 86%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed there just for one night by myself, in the private room. Room is quite small but everything is fine. Mattress was a little bit uncomfortable. I love the breakfast. Staff are great people! Would stay again : )
  • 89%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • great buffet and hospitality by staff and owner
  • 97%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Peter USA
  • The beds squeak and squeal bloody murder when someone shifts or sits on them. Makes it very painful to sleep.
  • 77%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous India
  • I had a quick stay for one night. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and happy to help explaining everything I needed to know. The beds were simple and seemed clean and well cared for. The air freshener spray was a little annoying making it a bit difficult to fall asleep. The bathroom I used was snug and none of the doors locked, but otherwise good. In the morning they served free breakfast at the attached restaurant. I enjoyed eggs on toast and orange juice. Overall great!
  • 80%
  • 02 Dec 2013 Stephanie Australia
  • Great place to stay near downtown chicago! Excellent Staff and Breakfast!
  • 94%
  • 23 Nov 2013 Assia France
  • I had a single room, and it was clean and comfortable for hostel standards. Bathrooms were fine also. Breakfast was fine. Location is good, just off the downtown beat. I'd stay there again.
  • 83%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Denis Canada
  • This was such a convenient place for the price, I was three blocks away from Union Station in what felt like a safe part of town. I was only a 30 minute walk to the Art Institute and cabs were easy to hail from the corner street. Plus there were several cool restaurants really close. The staff was very friendly, they provided breakfast in the morning! The stairs were really creaky and worn and the building was a bit rough around the corners but the bed was comfy and the room was secure.
  • 83%
  • 05 Oct 2013 Nicole USA
  • Insufficient restroom/shower facilities for number of guests. Wifi was poor to non-existent. Another hostel in The-Loop is the same price and far superior. No handicapped access. Rooms are not secure unless every guest remembers to lock the door.
  • 37%
  • 04 Oct 2013 Kenneth
  • It's located in Greek town, easily found, where has nice Greek restaruants, cafés and groceries. Besides, the breakfast of this hostel is not bad, cleanning bathrooms and staffs are helpful. So I think maybe it will be choosed once I go to Chicago.
  • 74%
  • 16 Sep 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »