See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 79% from 41 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved the location in Greektown! Walk to and from Amtrak and the Megabus, and if you're moving far about town, the 126 (and other lines) bus stop is on the corner of the block! I will say my single room was cold; it was at least 10 degrees F colder than the hallway, and felt like walking into a refrigerator. The staff did give me another blanket, and when I closed the vent (some AC still came in), I didn't really need the blanket, but kept it just in case. The free breakfast was great!
  • 97%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Leslie USA
  • I only stayed one night at the hostel but it was ok, the dorm was clean and comfortable, the toilets were ok and staff was helpful The computer was a bit old and slow and there was only one but I think in the whole it's a good hostel. You can take the Av. Jackson to get downtown by walking, it's only like 15 minutes and the walk is really nice. I would go back if I ever go back to Chicago. Besides, breakfast is included..
  • 71%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Marisol Mexico
  • Sweetest staff ever!! Also, I came back for the evening and was invited to join more guests in the bar downstairs and had a wonderful time. I highly recommend this hostel experience!
  • 100%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Alyssa USA
  • The staff was very nice, the location is close to a bike rental and blue line subway, you can be in dawntown in 2 min walking, is a good option to stay in Chicago...
  • 74%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Good hostel overall. The staff was very friendly and the room and the bathrooms were clean and well equiped.
  • 83%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Inigo Spain
  • Overall, there's nothing to complain about - actually other than the lack of elevators, but you can always ask someone to help you carry your luggage up the stairs if that's a problem. I actually was pleasantly surprised by the location - in the middle of Greektown in Chicago - and enjoyed meeting several Greek-Americans on the streets and going to authentic Greek restaurants! Little Italy is also nearby! The blue line is also right by the hostel, and it's located near several bus stops.
  • 77%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Phoebe Canada
  • Helpful staff (frnt desk), clean linen/room, large shared clean bath, but toilet stalls r so small knees bump the door+no working locks on stall doors! Breakfast = the usual dry cereals/milk,juices+cooked oatmeal,boiled eggs, very decent. Cleaning staff rude - seemed to want me to move so they could eat together(upstairs frig room), -they finally went into TV/computer lounge - left in a huff. Terrible WiFi but terminals(2) r free, small fee 2 stow luggage. EASY walk to Union Station!
  • 89%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is a perfect launch point to explore the city. The security was good and the staff were extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The ladies bath facilities were very accessible and clean. The overall value is excellent!!
  • 91%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • no lift there, if you are with your big luggage, you gonna carry it upstairs for two/ third floors
  • 74%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Me and my friend had a pretty good time at Parthenon Hostel. However, the WiFi was not so good and I dont know why I was unable to connect to facebook website. I tried everyday and both on computer and cellphone. I thought it was my computer or my cellphone, but I was able to connect to it when I was at Starbucks and Wendy's. So I think the problem is with the configurations of the hostel's'wifi
  • 91%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »