See other Chicago properties

Parthenon Hostel

310 S. Halsted Street, GreyHound Amtrak Stations, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.1km

Rating: 79% from 41 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Me and my friend had a pretty good time at Parthenon Hostel. However, the WiFi was not so good and I dont know why I was unable to connect to facebook website. I tried everyday and both on computer and cellphone. I thought it was my computer or my cellphone, but I was able to connect to it when I was at Starbucks and Wendy's. So I think the problem is with the configurations of the hostel's'wifi
  • 91%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The location and staff were great. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good.
  • 77%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Robin USA
  • The wi-fi could be better and all rooms (4 bed) must be swap card.
  • 80%
  • 24 Apr 2014 CARLOS ARTHUR Brazil
  • I was pleased with the Parthenon. Despite its large size, the only noise problem was from a nearby restaurant, not inside. The linens, rooms, and bathrooms were clean; small bathroom, but I never saw a serious traffic jam. However, the dishes at the provided breakfast weren't clean. Security was fine. The area is nice, the front door locks electronically, and each dorm room has two locks. The room was quite warm, but the fan made it ok. All the other guests were polite and considerate.
  • 77%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel was wonderful. The staff was friendly and incredibly helpful and were available 24/7. We had no problem getting anywhere we wanted to go (whether by walking or taking public transit). Overall, the hostel was quiet and everyone was pleasant.
  • 86%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed there just for one night by myself, in the private room. Room is quite small but everything is fine. Mattress was a little bit uncomfortable. I love the breakfast. Staff are great people! Would stay again : )
  • 89%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • great buffet and hospitality by staff and owner
  • 97%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Peter USA
  • The beds squeak and squeal bloody murder when someone shifts or sits on them. Makes it very painful to sleep.
  • 77%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »