See other Amsterdam properties

Passenger Ship Maria Alberta

Oosterdok, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 95% from 20 reviews

  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 99%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We spent two nights in Maria Alberta. Lucas, the owner, took good care of us and he gave us some tips about what to do and what to visit during the weekend. He also prepares delicious and huge breakfast ( I really liked his pancakes with apple) and his ship has a very cosy atmosphere and is next to the centre.
  • 91%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Gemma Spain
  • it was wonderful to stay there.The rooms were good and comfortable. The Captain was funny. :) He showed us what we can look at amsterdam . And the breakfast was plentiful and made ​​with love. Everyone has got a self- fried omlette :) we want to come back :)
  • 91%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Karoline Germany
  • We stayed for one night and it's really a nice accommodation with a very sympathic owner who additionally bakes fresh pancakes (with apple pieces!) for every person in the morning. The breakfast with the other guests in general was nice. It's a very cozy atmosphere there. People with claustrophobia shouldn't book rooms on a small boat - for all others it's a great experience! I can totally recommend the Passenger Ship Maria Alberta in Amsterdam.
  • 89%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Fun experience. Never stayed on a barge before. Got to know owner a bit. Lucas was good company and had some interesting life stories. Loved talking to him while he prepared breakfast.
  • 100%
  • 09 Oct 2014 thomas USA
  • The host is hilarious and a very good cook! Breakfast is substantial. 15 minute walk from train station, and not much further to the rest of town. It's very close to an amazing, huge library. Just remember it's a boat, so space is limited. This isn't a place you'll return to relax, unless it's nice enough to sit on the deck outside. Nonetheless, we had a very pleasant stay.
  • 97%
  • 06 Oct 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Alles war sauber, die Lage recht zentral und die zwei Besitzer herzensgut und haben hilfreiche Tipps verteilt. Das Frühstück ist urgemütlich weil man mit allen Gästen um den gedeckten Tisch sitzt und frisch gebratene Omletts verspeist. Bei guten Wetter kann man auch gemütlich auf der kleinen Terasse sitzen. Tipp: Wenn ihr unerwartet früh ankommt und kleine Koffer habt könnt ihr die erstmal im gegenüber liegend Nemo einschließen. NUR: Es ist wirklich sehr klein...
  • 94%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Hannah Germany
  • We had a very nice stay and the owner was very friendly and helpful. The room was quite cramped for 3 people and our luggage, but we think that is part of the experience of staying on a boat, and it was also equipped with the usual room facilities, so we had everything we needed. All in all we had a very pleasant experience and will definitely recommend it to everyone.
  • 97%
  • 25 May 2014 Anonymous Indonesia
  • Riktigt bra boende i centrala Amsterdam! Det var häftigt, genuint, mysigt och personligt att få bo på en båt i kanalen. På morgonen serverades en grymt bra frukost med nystekta pannkakor och omelett. Ofta i sällskap med folk från andra länder. Lucas är jättetrevlig och generös och har alltid en rolig historia att berätta. Vi bodde i rummet med dubbelsäng. Alla rum har egna badrum med dusch och toa. Eftersom det är på en båt är det ju lite trångt, men allt man behövde fanns! Rekommenderas skarp!
  • 100%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Kajsa Sweden
  • Excellent value for money, good breakfast and a charming host called Lucas who does an excellent foot massage!
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2014 Richard England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »