See other Berlin properties

Pfefferbett Hostel

Schoenhauser Allee 176, Berlin, Germany, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 88% from 17 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We went there in the beginning of March and were a bit surprised to find that several of the other guests were quite old (fities and sixties). It could be the season, but it certainly doesn't seem like a party hostel - which was fine for us because wanted to go out in the city anyway. And the advantage of that is that the hostel is quiet at night when you want to sleep. Relaxed atmosphere, clean bathrooms, friendly atmosphere and cool building. Good location.
  • 83%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • The facilities were kept really clean, as were the rooms! The lockers in the dorms were a nice touch because they also came with a lock so there isn't a need to bring your own. Only thing is that wifi is only available downstairs in the lobby/bar/lounge area, but I guess it creates a way for people to get to know each other. Enjoyed my stay here, and would book at Pfefferbett again if I'm ever in Berlin!
  • 97%
  • 22 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • The low staff rating applies only to one night receptionist who thought it was normal to play loud music, underneath my room, until 04.30 in the morning. When I pointed out there were only two people in the common area, he replied, "The clubbers will be back soon". The other staff members were very helpful. The two computers were faulty.
  • 74%
  • 19 Aug 2013 Anonymous England
  • Great hostel. I stayed in Pfefferbett, St. Christopher's, and The Circus which are all within 1km of each other. Pfefferbett, like the other 2 hostels I listed is unique in it's own way and I recommend all 3. Pfefferbett's "bar area" is more of a laidback lounge and I liked how it was off of the main street and quieter than the other two hostels, and you can walk/train to the parties easy. Pfefferbett's showers are a bit annoying though, they are push button showers and they spit out water hard.
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Located in a nice area of Prenzlauer Berg with good cafes and the underground metro nearby. The hostel has its own bar with an outdoor beer garden. The bar also serves food which was decent. Live music in the beer garden provides for a good atmosphere, and a nice way to meet other travelers. Dorm room and bed was comfortable. Would stay here again.
  • 86%
  • 21 Jul 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Excellent! The location is good cause it's really near a subway station. Really cheap and the installations are awesome. The staff is nice and the atmosphere is perfect. One of the best hostes I've ever stayed in.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jun 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • Nice hostel, easy to meet other backpackers. Cool area!
  • 86%
  • 24 Jun 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • It is located in an interesting area with restaurants and cafes close by plus a metro stop just across the street. It is very new and well kept with many facilities. I strongly recommend this hostel. Bill USA
  • 94%
  • 15 Jun 2013 William USA
  • I enjoyed my stay a lot! The design, facilities and atmosphere were great! The location was very convenient too. It's good that you can leave your luggage for safe-keeping even when you had already checked-out.
  • 97%
  • 26 Apr 2013 Agata Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »