See other Singapore properties

Pillows & Toast Heritage

No. 38 Upper Cross Street (Level 2), Singapore, Singapore, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 81% from 19 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pros: comfortable bunks & pillows w a shelf, good sized lockers, comfortable common area except temp frigid, breakfast usual + cereal with milk Cons: stairs to climb to entrance; only 4 toilets and 4 showers for 56 beds; showers sometimes hot; rates - 6 bed dorm went from S$20 to S$36/night (not worth it), wi-fi was the worst - some kind of proprietary system that kept trying to take over, logging me out unexpectedly - I changed all my passwords after I left I would not recommend the place
  • 57%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, it is not bad to stay. As for the staff, location, wi-fi service ect. those are pretty good. but as far as the infra such as a shower room, a rest room is concern, it is not enough to use conveniently. it means both the quantity and the quality are slightly not good. Exclusive of that point, it is not bad as i commentted in 1st low. Anyway, i had a very good time there. I hope It will be helpful for everyone who is going to read my feed-back. Thank you.
  • 66%
  • 01 May 2015 Junsu South Korea
  • It was a mistake to book into this hotel. I am not used to staying in this kind of accommodation when travelling abroad. There was a lot of inconvenience on our part while staying in this place. A close friend recommended this place and now I realized that we are not up to the same standard.
  • 60%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Mary Jane Philippines
  • Good location in chinatown (close to metro station).
  • 77%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Very friendly and informative staffs, also near to the MRT so can go anywhere easily, all the guests are awesome, will be back soon
  • 100%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Mohamad Naim Malaysia
  • Everything is good, only noisy roommate.
  • 86%
  • 05 Nov 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Pillow and Toast has a good location and pretty comfy beds but the showers didn't drain properly. Also, the toilets are outside, which is a little bit of an inconvenience. Lastly, the 6 bed dorm has windows which at night provide a LOT of light in the room. The staff were helpful when asked, but not overly friendly and when we stayed there, it certainly wasn't a very social atmosphere. Overall, a clean place (other than the showers) with comfy beds and good location, so not bad!
  • 63%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Teanna Canada
  • It's clean and provide the basic needs. Nice to stay there..
  • 71%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous Indonesia
  • The Hostel has a Great Location to discover Singapur! You will be able to reach all Main sight seeings from there by foot Or via MRT chinatown. As the Hostel is next to chinatown, there are also Mandy Bars/ Restaurants/ food courts.
  • 97%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Tina Germany
  • Pillows and Toast is definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed at. Firstly, it's located right outside of the Chinatown exit. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Your deposit includes a towel, lock, and key card, so it feels secure and they give you everything you need. Everything feels cleanaand well managed. I would definitely recommend this place if you're travelling to Singapore.
  • 94%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »