See other Singapore properties

Pillows & Toast Heritage

No. 38 Upper Cross Street (Level 2), Singapore, Singapore, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 85% from 14 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pillow and Toast has a good location and pretty comfy beds but the showers didn't drain properly. Also, the toilets are outside, which is a little bit of an inconvenience. Lastly, the 6 bed dorm has windows which at night provide a LOT of light in the room. The staff were helpful when asked, but not overly friendly and when we stayed there, it certainly wasn't a very social atmosphere. Overall, a clean place (other than the showers) with comfy beds and good location, so not bad!
  • 63%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Teanna Canada
  • It's clean and provide the basic needs. Nice to stay there..
  • 71%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Anonymous Indonesia
  • The Hostel has a Great Location to discover Singapur! You will be able to reach all Main sight seeings from there by foot Or via MRT chinatown. As the Hostel is next to chinatown, there are also Mandy Bars/ Restaurants/ food courts.
  • 97%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Tina Germany
  • Pillows and Toast is definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed at. Firstly, it's located right outside of the Chinatown exit. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Your deposit includes a towel, lock, and key card, so it feels secure and they give you everything you need. Everything feels cleanaand well managed. I would definitely recommend this place if you're travelling to Singapore.
  • 94%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great cozy place to crash. Nicely situated close to the MRT, and great area fo exploring (and close to a bunch of local bars and eateries.) Pillows are good and toast is good. Don't forget to pack your shower shoes, though.
  • 80%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great experience. Definitely come back whenever I visit Singapore again.
  • 100%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Grace USA
  • Pillows and Toast was a clean hostel with large common areas and nice staff. I didn't sleep well, though, as there was a lot of noise from the street, and the mattress was too hard. The next day my back was very stiff, and I never have that problem at home. There also seemed to a problem with water from the shower getting under the floorboards in the hallway, because the floor next to the showers made a squishy, wet sound when walked on.
  • 83%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was staying in a 6 mixed bed dorm. It was good. Very near to Chinatown MRT. Safe surroundings. Good breakfast. Internet was quite slow (maybe only me). The bed cover could have been cleaner (but OK). As there is a new Downtown MRT Line (Blue) connecting Chinatown to Bugis (green line), the hostel should update the instruction of direction to get to/from the airport. It'll be easier to take the above way rather than Purple line to Outram Park to land on the green line (to the airport).
  • 83%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • Pillows and Toast connects between us friend who we seldom meet with fun entertainment. We played Jenga, cards and board games till late night despite all of us being tired the whole day. The environment felt like home.
  • 94%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »