See other Kailua-Kona properties

Pineapple Park Kona

81-6363 Mamalahoa HWY, Kealakekua, HI 96750, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA, Distance from city centre: 16.7km

Rating: 82% from 19 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had another outstanding visit to the Big Island & the stay at the "Pineapple" was as epic as always! It may seem a bit out of the way for some, but the privacy and location makes having an Aloha vacation come true:)
  • 97%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Most facilities are outdoors. Overall not impressed with the kitchen and bathroom facilities. Breakfast definitely NOT provided at this Hostel. Watch out for $7 late check-in fee!
  • 57%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Perfect for my needs. Great staff, meticulously clean, funky decor but neat as a pin. Guests knew there was an expectation of comaraderie and respect that was expected. Met some cool and kind people...
  • 91%
  • 05 Feb 2014 Paul USA
  • If you're interested in meeting new people, it's a really cool place to stay for that. There's a cool communal area out back which is really awesome. Annie, the owner is lovely. She's really caring and helpful, however she is a stickler for the rules, and so the kitchen and showers close at 10 pm on the dot everynight. It's a nice, relaxed place to stay while on the big island.
  • 89%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Midori Japan
  • Annie was very helpful and the hostel was absolutely CLEAN!! Hostel was a little bit out of town but easy access if you had your own rental car. It was a little bit difficult being confined to use "only the assigned" bathroom/shower nearest your room. Especially if others were not being used at the moment but overall this was a minor adjustment/inconvenience. Would definitely stay here again!
  • 80%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Kathyrn USA
  • This hostel has a couple of great things and poor things. The great is that its beautiful and in a great location near snorkeling at the city of refuge and captain cook monuments, pretty close to Kona as well. The bad is that its run by a pretty strict lady who can be bossy but overall nice and it is infested with cockroaches. I would say the good outweighs the bad overall I had a great time here.
  • 69%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Matthew USA
  • One of the cleanest hostels I've been to in the world. Good location, but plan on getting in early, as most places and transportation services in Kona tend to close around 8 or so. Also, be aware that this isn't a party hostel, lights strictly out at 10. But I had a lot of great conversations with people from around the world, and enjoyed the place so much I extended my stay from 2 nights to 10 days. Take the time to get to know Annie, the owner. Show her respect, and she will be a good friend.
  • 91%
  • 15 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostels we've stayed at. The straff is very friendly and the location of the hostel is great if you have a car.
  • 97%
  • 03 Oct 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • The hostel is located near Captain Cook, but you still need a car. The owner gives great advice for sightseeing. The Lanai is a great lounge area. Everything is open air. There is only 1 bus a day that will go to or from the airport. Extra 13.5% local taxes not mentioned. Didn't see the free breakfast thats offered if you stay 2 nights or more.
  • 77%
  • 18 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • The hostel is in a way that makes everyone talk to each other, so it feels very friendly around. Like having showers in the nature. It's clean, comfortable. The owner is quite nice, takes you to supermarket, like Costco. The patio on the second floor feels awesome; love having breakfast there as you can sit and view the ocean. It's close the Captain Cook monument park - the best snorkeling spot in hawaii. The owner (Annie) and her assistant (Will) often offer free fruits (banana, papaya...)
  • 89%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Pandush USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »