See other Kailua-Kona properties

Pineapple Park Kona

81-6363 Mamalahoa HWY, Kealakekua, HI 96750, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA, Distance from city centre: 16.7km

Rating: 81% from 20 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We only stayed 2nights at this hostel and were out all day so can't comment on the atmosphere/facilities but were very pleased by the cleanliness of the room and by the fact that we have been graciously upgraded to a private room with ensuite bathroom when we mentioned that some friends stayed at this hostel before and recommended it. The lady also helped us book our snorkelling tour with manta rays which was very nice. Close to trail leading to Captain Cook's snorkelling site but need a car.
  • 80%
  • 01 Jul 2014 antoine France
  • great view on the ocean from the lovely veranda.
  • 89%
  • 16 Jun 2014 Patricia Switzerland
  • You need own transport when you stay at this hostel. The owner is realy strict and not always friendly, the atmosphere is very nice as feels like a home
  • 63%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Monique Netherlands
  • I had another outstanding visit to the Big Island & the stay at the "Pineapple" was as epic as always! It may seem a bit out of the way for some, but the privacy and location makes having an Aloha vacation come true:)
  • 97%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Most facilities are outdoors. Overall not impressed with the kitchen and bathroom facilities. Breakfast definitely NOT provided at this Hostel. Watch out for $7 late check-in fee!
  • 57%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Perfect for my needs. Great staff, meticulously clean, funky decor but neat as a pin. Guests knew there was an expectation of comaraderie and respect that was expected. Met some cool and kind people...
  • 91%
  • 05 Feb 2014 Paul USA
  • If you're interested in meeting new people, it's a really cool place to stay for that. There's a cool communal area out back which is really awesome. Annie, the owner is lovely. She's really caring and helpful, however she is a stickler for the rules, and so the kitchen and showers close at 10 pm on the dot everynight. It's a nice, relaxed place to stay while on the big island.
  • 89%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Midori Japan
  • Annie was very helpful and the hostel was absolutely CLEAN!! Hostel was a little bit out of town but easy access if you had your own rental car. It was a little bit difficult being confined to use "only the assigned" bathroom/shower nearest your room. Especially if others were not being used at the moment but overall this was a minor adjustment/inconvenience. Would definitely stay here again!
  • 80%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Kathyrn USA
  • This hostel has a couple of great things and poor things. The great is that its beautiful and in a great location near snorkeling at the city of refuge and captain cook monuments, pretty close to Kona as well. The bad is that its run by a pretty strict lady who can be bossy but overall nice and it is infested with cockroaches. I would say the good outweighs the bad overall I had a great time here.
  • 69%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Matthew USA
  • One of the cleanest hostels I've been to in the world. Good location, but plan on getting in early, as most places and transportation services in Kona tend to close around 8 or so. Also, be aware that this isn't a party hostel, lights strictly out at 10. But I had a lot of great conversations with people from around the world, and enjoyed the place so much I extended my stay from 2 nights to 10 days. Take the time to get to know Annie, the owner. Show her respect, and she will be a good friend.
  • 91%
  • 15 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »