See other Cusco properties

Pirwa Backpackers Colonial

San Francisco Square 360, Cusco, Peru, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 84% from 19 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Perfect location, close to Mercado de San Pedro (good local food and shopping). A few min walk to Plaza de Armas.
  • 83%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Jessica Mexico
  • The staff were great. However the kitchen was not very clean, and there was not soap reliably available to do dishes. Otherwise, the service was great, great quiet clean upstairs, quiet personal room with a space heater. And the laundry service was awesome.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was a great hostel in Cusco. Not incredibly expensive and still in a good location; atmosphere is fun, and the drinks and food are cheap. Location is prime.
  • 89%
  • 16 May 2015 Anders USA
  • DIRTY BATHROOMS ALL TIME. They only have FEW toilet for a lot of People. NO URINALS..... imagine the MIXED toilets...... They only clean them in the morning. Also the rooms were really Dirty with Garbage and empty bottles. Kitchen really SMALL and DIRTY. There was no cleaning accessories, even after requesting them. Location was good. Staff nice people. Nice house but Could be better if you could IMPROVE CLEANLINESS.
  • 51%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Great backpacker's hostel with plenty of everything. Don't be fooled by the small front, the hostel is huge with two courtyards inside. The hot water is a bit finicky, but once you get the hang of it the showers are quite nice.
  • 94%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Alison Canada
  • very nice hostel in a good location. spacious rooms, kitchen, baths and common areas were all clean. there is also a travel desk to book tours e.g. to Machu Piccu.
  • 80%
  • 25 Jan 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The staff here are super friendly. Located nicely next to San Francisco plaza and close to many things. I do want to mention that the building is pretty open and can get very cold at night in the winter. Other than that it was a great hostel!
  • 94%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Overall great location. Nice living area/courtyard and upstairs bar area. Quiet atmosphere except for the loud music they occasionally play. Clean bathrooms and showers with hot water. The dorm style room we stayed in did not have a lock. Lockers in the room. Outlets in the courtyard and front desk, but only one outlet in our 6 person dorm room. The black cat would always try to sneak into our room.
  • 94%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Came back a week later and they remembered me. Good service and clean facilities. Chill atmosphere.
  • 94%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Flights got rescheduled and emailed the front desk about the change for the taxi. Unfortunately, the taxi did not show. Overall great location to markets and main square - not as congested as Plaza de Armas. Nice living area/courtyard and upstairs bar area. Decent breakfast with additional pay-for options. Clean bathrooms and showers with hot water. The dorm style room we stayed in did not have a lock. Lockers in the room. The room was warm at night and they had extra blankets on the beds.
  • 94%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »