See other Toronto properties

Planet Traveler

357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 92% from 84 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If I had stayed at a hotel, I wouldn't have met anybody, but staying at Planet Traveler, I roomed with 5 other guys from around the world and we had a great time. Some of the guys came in late at night but they went to bed quickly, so I had a good night sleep every night.
  • 100%
  • 10 Sep 2014 James USA
  • I had a fantastic experience at Planet Traveler! I was so impressed with the facilities in general, as they had clearly been renovated recently. The staff cleaned the rooms daily and put out quite a spread for the free breakfast, which was available until 1 pm. The view from the rooftop is great, and the area is nice as it's right by the University of Toronto and Little Italy. I was only a short walk away from some great restaurants. The bathroom in my dorm was amazing for a hostel.
  • 97%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel is amazing. I went to Toronto for FanExpo and had a blast staying at the Planet Traveler. My room was clean, the staff was super nice, and the kitchen was great. My room even had a private bathroom - a major plus! It's located in Little Italy, near the University of Toronto, so it's a very safe neighborhood. I walked alone at night there and didn't feel the least bit unsafe. My only critique: the pillows are awful, you'll want to bring your own. I would definitely recommend it.
  • 97%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I haven't stayed in many hostels, but upon arriving I was quickly blown away. Clean, modern, and considered, both the building and the staff have raised my personal standard of excellence. Would quite happily return.
  • 97%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Nicholas Canada
  • Great view from the Hostel rooftop and I freaking loved the new people I got to meet. The staff was pretty laid back but they responded to any issues in a timely manner. The vibe there is something I haven't found anywhere else. They even have some parking as well which was great for me. I think for people between 22-28 this is your place it's right next to Kenisington market and by a host of major attractions. The rooms are small on space but you should never be there only to sleep.
  • 97%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Corey USA
  • We were checked in by a very friendly staff member (who I had a crush on) who gave us a tour before we got to our room. The lockers were spacious, the bathroom and rooftop were beautiful and the general atmosphere felt very European with almost every guest and staff member being foreign. Had a great time chatting with awesome people and a great place to spend a weekend or longer; breakfast variety, BBQ night, luggage storage, free laundry and more! Only downside was not getting a good sleep...
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Ania Canada
  • I have nothing bad to say about Planet Traveler. Possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed at.
  • 89%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Cassandra Australia
  • This is the best experience ever.
  • 100%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • LOVE this hostel. A walk-in ikea. Room/bathroom was clean, love the lockers and breakfast was GREAT. A ton of options for bread/bagels(white, whole grain, whole wheat, multigrain) and cereals/granola and bananas, coffee/tea, milk, oatmeal, peanut butter, jams, etc... You can drop your bags off really early and leave them until really late at night (up to midnight I believe) on the day that you check out. Rooftop view was GREAT. A little noisy though with music, but great for socializing. BYOB.
  • 94%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • After travelling around the world and staying in hostels, I had higher expectations about this one since it had good reviews. However, I found the rooms too small and crowded and not clean enough to my standards. They could also make our lives easier by having individual lamps and shelves next to the dorm beds, accompanied by a fabric pannel hanging from the top beds to the lower ones. This would def. create more privacy for the customers. Included breakfast and rooftop are a plus!
  • 51%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Alejandra Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »