See other Toronto properties

Planet Traveler

357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 92% from 86 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is lovely, everyone was very welcoming and the breakfasts were fantastic. The beds are clean and comfortable, the location is just a short walk from everything we wanted to do. I'm gutted we didn't make it to one of the rooftop parties! I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Toronto.
  • 94%
  • 14 Oct 2014 Isabella England
  • Great hostel with great staff. Very clean, rooms were cleaned every day while I was there. Lovely decor and atmosphere. Huge kitchen with cooking supplies. Breakfast had plenty of options and ran until 1pm! The location is convenient to public transit and there are plenty of shops in the area, including 24 hour delis.
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel. So clean, awesome location and incredible breakfast selection. Only downside was that I couldn't get wifi in my room (which was #36 and basically the very last one in the corridor on the top level in the hostel).
  • 89%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • If I had stayed at a hotel, I wouldn't have met anybody, but staying at Planet Traveler, I roomed with 5 other guys from around the world and we had a great time. Some of the guys came in late at night but they went to bed quickly, so I had a good night sleep every night.
  • 100%
  • 10 Sep 2014 James USA
  • Very nice hostel, stayed only for one night. Free breakfast was good and everything was very clean.
  • 91%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • I had a fantastic experience at Planet Traveler! I was so impressed with the facilities in general, as they had clearly been renovated recently. The staff cleaned the rooms daily and put out quite a spread for the free breakfast, which was available until 1 pm. The view from the rooftop is great, and the area is nice as it's right by the University of Toronto and Little Italy. I was only a short walk away from some great restaurants. The bathroom in my dorm was amazing for a hostel.
  • 97%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • This hostel is amazing. I went to Toronto for FanExpo and had a blast staying at the Planet Traveler. My room was clean, the staff was super nice, and the kitchen was great. My room even had a private bathroom - a major plus! It's located in Little Italy, near the University of Toronto, so it's a very safe neighborhood. I walked alone at night there and didn't feel the least bit unsafe. My only critique: the pillows are awful, you'll want to bring your own. I would definitely recommend it.
  • 97%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I haven't stayed in many hostels, but upon arriving I was quickly blown away. Clean, modern, and considered, both the building and the staff have raised my personal standard of excellence. Would quite happily return.
  • 97%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Nicholas Canada
  • Great view from the Hostel rooftop and I freaking loved the new people I got to meet. The staff was pretty laid back but they responded to any issues in a timely manner. The vibe there is something I haven't found anywhere else. They even have some parking as well which was great for me. I think for people between 22-28 this is your place it's right next to Kenisington market and by a host of major attractions. The rooms are small on space but you should never be there only to sleep.
  • 97%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Corey USA
  • We were checked in by a very friendly staff member (who I had a crush on) who gave us a tour before we got to our room. The lockers were spacious, the bathroom and rooftop were beautiful and the general atmosphere felt very European with almost every guest and staff member being foreign. Had a great time chatting with awesome people and a great place to spend a weekend or longer; breakfast variety, BBQ night, luggage storage, free laundry and more! Only downside was not getting a good sleep...
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Ania Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »