See other Toronto properties

Planet Traveler

357 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 92% from 83 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Competent and friendly staff. We stayed in a private room; room nothing fancy but bed was comfy. Roof deck was great. Only complaint was how hot the room was; no ventilation at all so it got to feel and smell kind of stale and just hot. But a great hostel! Would definitely recommend and would go back!
  • 89%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Probably the only minus is that their common room and kitchen is rather small compared to the size of the whole hostel. But then again it makes you talk to people and people there are the greatest. Their dorms are not to big either but very newly renovated and great bathrooms! Great rooftop, good breakfast..what do you need more? Oh and the are might at first seem like not the greatest but Kensington Market around the corner is one of the coolest neighboorhoods in the city..
  • 89%
  • 07 May 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • Fantastic place to stay, not too noisy as far as hostels go, and VERY clean. Private rooms were smaller than I expected, but not anything to be upset about. Owners were very nice and helpful.
  • 97%
  • 27 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Planet Traveler is AMAZING! The best hostel that I have ever stayed at. It was clean, in a good location (approx. 20 minute walk to downtown), and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The best part is the atmosphere - very relaxed and comfortable. If you're staying over the weekend, don't miss the free BBQ on Saturday night - free food and a great way to meet your fellow travelers! The breakfast was amazing too (a very important factor in hostel decision-making!) Highly recommended :)
  • 97%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • This is a new-ish, snazzy hostel. What would make it super would be individual reading lamps for each bed and lots, lots, lots more hooks. If everything worked as it should, it would be grrrreat! The drain stopper in our bathroom was stuck so it wouldn't drain. Even though I mentioned it twice to staff members, it didn't get fixed. So close to just great, folks. Go the extra mile and you'll be 'way ahead of the pack.
  • 83%
  • 21 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is one of the best experiences I had. The staff is absolutely adorable (especially Maya, although they are ALL fantastic!), the owner makes our stay really special, by inviting us on Sunday to a BBQ (plus, it is free!) and I really liked the cleanliness. Close to everything, a antastic view of Toronto from the roof. A lovely hostel! Una de las mejores experiencias que haya tenido! Certainement la meilleure auberge de Toronto!
  • 100%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous Algeria
  • Everyone was really nice and helpful. The security is great and the location was really good. On the main trolley line.
  • 94%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Paige USA
  • I arrived after midnight because my flight wasn't until after midnight and there was nobody there.... I called and I had no way in. I have a leg condition and cannot walk for long periods of time, but was forced to walk around the city for 4 hours looking for a place to sleep. They still made me pay for that night I didn't stay. The night I did stay, I had fun at the party on the roof. given that, I gave a high rating. beware of late night flights
  • 89%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is the best ever hostel I have ever lived! While I only lived in hostel twice, one in Montreal and one here, I indeed felt myself at home in Planet Traveller. I was warmly greeted by the receptionist Carl, the guy from Liverpool. He was so patient to introduce all the stuffs in the hostels to me. I also made all friends from all over the world by staying here. We went together to ROM, and played games in the hostel. I will surely stop by next time I visit Toronto.
  • 97%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Very clean facilities and equally clean/modern motif to the building. Staff were predominately polite, helpful, and friendly. Free breakfast is served daily until 1pm, and fresh sheets and towels are provided. Location was fantastic and within walking distance to many of Toronto's attractions. Only complaint I can think of was the shoddy wifi, other than that it was well worth the stay!
  • 97%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Jonathan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »