See other Christchurch properties

Point Break Backpackers

6 Union Street, New Brighton, Christchurch, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 7.7km

Rating: 54% from 12 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 51%Location
  • 45%Value for money
  • 48%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Far from Christchurch centre, but maybe I should've checked location better before booking.
  • 74%
  • 06 Jul 2015 Tom
  • Only two shower for the hostel and not really clean Expensive for a backpaker and for the facilities proposed
  • 46%
  • 16 Mar 2015 Clement
  • Kitchen too little for all the peoples. The hostel is really far away to the cbd.
  • 69%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Benjamin Chile
  • I wish I had done more research before booking this place. The kitchen was a disorganized, sticky disaster. The top to the shower stall in my dorm bathroom was LITERALLY duct taped on. Unpatched wall holes throughout. Dark. Dingy. They don't mention the 35 minute bus ride from city center to get to the hostel: WORTH BEING UP FRONT ABOUT. I get that the city had an earthquake but that was years ago and is absolutely no excuse for the state of this place.
  • 46%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Mallory USA
  • This hostel is a flop house. The building has good bones but this hostel is the is the broken window theory. No one cares to improve it. The hall way to bathroom smells really bad and the kitchen is just sticky and dirty on ever surface. The bathroom is dingy and dirty. All the plastic hooks are broken too. You could do a lot to improve this place but I doubt you ever will.
  • 31%
  • 04 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very very far away from the city (50 min by bus) but close to the pier. Friendly staff, rooms are not comfortable at all, you don't to stay there more than one night, kitchen ok and clean. But I'm sure there are better hostels in Christchurch!
  • 40%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Nice hostel close to the beach:)
  • 91%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Stefan Germany
  • The staff and the other people who stayed in the hostel were really nice. But the cleanliness was really bad, the kitchen smelled and it was dirty, the bathrooms was disgusting with hair and dirt inte the shower and the sinks. And the hostel had over used the air-freshners to cover up the real smell. Not worth the money because of the bad location, 40 min by bus to city.
  • 43%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Johanna Sweden
  • Never go to this hotel. Very very very dirty.probably the worst hostel Ive ever stayed.weird people.distgusting kitchen with no equipment.no spoons at all.i will not recomanded at all.
  • 20%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Eva Slovakia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »