See other Auckland properties

Ponsonby Backpackers

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 87% from 19 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very dirty, after seeing my room I left the hostel and booked a hotel
  • 34%
  • 06 Feb 2016 Victoria Mexico
  • It was a lovely little place. Everyone was very nice. Had a great BNB feel to it. All of the backpackers were friendly and started good conversation. I had a single room. Very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was cleaner than some of the other backpackers. Great little TV room. Easy to get to by walking from down town.
  • 86%
  • 10 Jan 2016 Andrea USA
  • This was my very first hostel experience and honestly, it was a great first time experience! The hostel is set in a large house-like setting. I loved how friendly everyone was, the atmosphere was really amazing. They only provided 3 hours of free wifi but they were the only hostel to have a shared computer to use which was extremely helpful for the beginning of my trip in some of my last minute bookings. My only complaint was the ladies bathroom was a bit cramped but hostel was worth the cost.
  • 83%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly staff, great location! First hostel I stated at and could not have asked for a better experience. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 05 Dec 2015 Bradley USA
  • Good place. I was there less than 8 hours, but it was great for just that short time.
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I stayed for one week at Ponsonby Backpackers Hostel and I can highly recommend this hostel - very kind and helpful staff, great atmosphere and location! No wonder that it's booked out very often! If I'll come back to Auckland I'll stay there definitely again! Thanks to staff that made my stay so pleasant!!
  • 100%
  • 05 Nov 2015 David Germany
  • Very nice hostel in quieter part of Auckland. Very cozy, nice staff, well-equipped kitchen (except for can openers...), nice outdoor area, comfortable lounge. Internet works good. Short walk into city (about 20 - 30 mins to Queen Street depending on how fast you walk), but also Ponsonby Rd has lots of amazing shops. All necessary shops (groceries, post office, bank etc.) nearby. Definitely not too expensive. Lots of nice people. Only negative thing: showers are a bit too small.
  • 80%
  • 01 Nov 2015 Ravenna Germany
  • Very friendly staff, lovely house and location, and comfortable bunk beds that don't squeek!
  • 89%
  • 29 Sep 2015 Anonymous France
  • Can't complain one bit! Great location and staff. I would highly recommend to every traveller.
  • 100%
  • 24 Sep 2015 Abigail USA
  • Very cozy hostel and homely. Easy to make friends. Very helpfull and friendly staff. Nice large kitchen and cost lounge room with warm fire.
  • 94%
  • 08 Jul 2015 alex England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »