See other Auckland properties

Ponsonby Backpackers

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 83% from 21 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Ponsonby is a great neighbourhood for bars and restaurants. I stayed in a small single private room which was clean and comfortable.
  • 89%
  • 11 May 2016 Anonymous England
  • Average price for average hostel.
  • 69%
  • 19 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • We only stayed at Ponsonby for one evening, arriving rather late but I cannot fault the small experience that we had. The one member of staff we met was lovely and very accommodating to our slightly earlier than planned check-in and to our early check out time the following morning. The room was small but not cramped with a comfy bunk-bed. The bathroom was just around the corner from our room and we shared it with around three or four other people so it was never a struggle to get in there.
  • 80%
  • 27 Feb 2016 Anonymous England
  • The staff did not know anything about the city and had to look everything up online. The facilities were dirty and the stove barely worked. The room was very hot without air conditioning. The wifi is not free. Except they have a community computer. It was located on the top of a giant hill and there wasn't a lot to see on that side of town.
  • 40%
  • 23 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Ponsonby Backpackers is a great place to stay if you're ever in Auckland! The staff are very friendly, the hostel is clean, well-furnished, and pleasant to spend time in. Ponsonby is a nice neighborhood a bit removed from the bustling center of the city so if you prefer trees, parks, and bungalows to skyscrapers I'd highly recommend it. One note--as is clearly stated on their website there is no AC in the hostel and Auckland can get hot. Ask for a first floor room if you're sensitive to heat.
  • 97%
  • 16 Feb 2016 Samuel USA
  • Very dirty, after seeing my room I left the hostel and booked a hotel
  • 34%
  • 06 Feb 2016 Victoria Mexico
  • It was a lovely little place. Everyone was very nice. Had a great BNB feel to it. All of the backpackers were friendly and started good conversation. I had a single room. Very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was cleaner than some of the other backpackers. Great little TV room. Easy to get to by walking from down town.
  • 86%
  • 10 Jan 2016 Andrea USA
  • This was my very first hostel experience and honestly, it was a great first time experience! The hostel is set in a large house-like setting. I loved how friendly everyone was, the atmosphere was really amazing. They only provided 3 hours of free wifi but they were the only hostel to have a shared computer to use which was extremely helpful for the beginning of my trip in some of my last minute bookings. My only complaint was the ladies bathroom was a bit cramped but hostel was worth the cost.
  • 83%
  • 28 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very friendly staff, great location! First hostel I stated at and could not have asked for a better experience. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 05 Dec 2015 Bradley USA
  • Good place. I was there less than 8 hours, but it was great for just that short time.
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »