See other Portland properties

Portland Pensione

109 ne san rafael st., Portland, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 47% from 18 reviews

  • 38%Atmosphere
  • 56%Staff
  • 46%Security
  • 38%Cleanliness
  • 61%Location
  • 46%Value for money
  • 41%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • In fairness this was my first hostel stay, but I have stayed in a large variety of places. This was not a pleasant pace to stay. The only key to my room was held by the hostess who resides in a hoarder den. In order to enter my room I had to go into this den. I suppose everything else was fine. Not a bad location, but not central.
  • 43%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Robert USA
  • Worst hostel ever (but some nice people in there)
  • 34%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Chloe France
  • price a is a bit steep. 5 tbucks less woud make it excellent
  • 80%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Dimitry USA
  • It smells like sickness. The sheets appeared clean. No lockers. You don't receive any keys. The main door is kept slightly ajar all day, so you and anyone else can walk in and access your room. The door is closed and locked at night, so you need to make a racket for the staff to wake up and go unlock the door. There are lots of sketchy people staying in the associated motel. I think the place is famous among hard drug users - it's cheap and nobody will call the police.
  • 29%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Lucas USA
  • Pretty grossed out by the hostel... Didn't even end up staying the night. If you are staying here, bring your own sheets (and throw them out after), your own pillow, and make sure you bring shower shoes.
  • 37%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Robyn
  • The dorm rooms have no keys. All dorm rooms are connected to a dark corridor and accessed through the kitchen door also the main entry door. You need to call the room assistant whenever you want to get in. The first night I stayed in a room with two single beds which was a bit comfortable and quiet. However, I was switched to the smaller room that have 3 small single beds. This room has an odd shape and is too small for 3 adults. I felt unsecured and uncomfortable to stay in the dorm.
  • 40%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • Quite dirty!!! the reality is not compatible with net pictures. I got afraid to sleep there and went out to look for another place. I have paid with credit card before know the room, and asked my money back, they didn't reverse me yet, but it takes time, so i'm still waiting for. And the pension isn't very close to downtown.
  • 26%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Julia Brazil
  • The hostel managers were absolutely delightful and very friendly. Unfortunately I found the hostel quite dirty overall - the kitchen particularly was filthy with dirty plates and dishes left all over. There appeared to be little care for the cleanliness. The bathroom was only slightly better - although the bathmat looked like it hadn't been washed in a while. The bedrooms were slightly better however you could not lock your room and there were no lockers available for your valuables.
  • 40%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Emma Australia
  • This is a motel. The landlady lives on the premises and rents out the extra rooms in her apartment. She is nice and the bedrooms are clean, and it's not too far from downtown. But the environment seems shady. There are suspicious characters living in the other units, but ultimately I had no problems. My only real gripe is they don't assign a key to let yourself into the unit. Your only option is to knock. You have to trust that they're present and awake to let you in (they say they always are).
  • 69%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Please do not stay here, specially if you are girl. The location is very unsafe. The old woman living in the house is super mean... I mean SUPER mean. Rodney and Roxy try to keep the place together but the living conditions are subpar. The towels stink of grease, the bathrooms are musty, the kitchen has dirty rank dishes in the sink all the time. The rooms are more or less clean but thats about it. I am convinced there is considerable drug activity here. Rodney n Roxy are the only saving grace.
  • 40%
  • 18 May 2014 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »