See other Portland properties

Portland Pensione

109 ne san rafael st., Portland, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 46% from 14 reviews

  • 37%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 47%Security
  • 35%Cleanliness
  • 60%Location
  • 42%Value for money
  • 40%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pretty grossed out by the hostel... Didn't even end up staying the night. If you are staying here, bring your own sheets (and throw them out after), your own pillow, and make sure you bring shower shoes.
  • 37%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Robyn
  • The dorm rooms have no keys. All dorm rooms are connected to a dark corridor and accessed through the kitchen door also the main entry door. You need to call the room assistant whenever you want to get in. The first night I stayed in a room with two single beds which was a bit comfortable and quiet. However, I was switched to the smaller room that have 3 small single beds. This room has an odd shape and is too small for 3 adults. I felt unsecured and uncomfortable to stay in the dorm.
  • 40%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • Quite dirty!!! the reality is not compatible with net pictures. I got afraid to sleep there and went out to look for another place. I have paid with credit card before know the room, and asked my money back, they didn't reverse me yet, but it takes time, so i'm still waiting for. And the pension isn't very close to downtown.
  • 26%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Julia Brazil
  • The hostel managers were absolutely delightful and very friendly. Unfortunately I found the hostel quite dirty overall - the kitchen particularly was filthy with dirty plates and dishes left all over. There appeared to be little care for the cleanliness. The bathroom was only slightly better - although the bathmat looked like it hadn't been washed in a while. The bedrooms were slightly better however you could not lock your room and there were no lockers available for your valuables.
  • 40%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Emma Australia
  • This is a motel. The landlady lives on the premises and rents out the extra rooms in her apartment. She is nice and the bedrooms are clean, and it's not too far from downtown. But the environment seems shady. There are suspicious characters living in the other units, but ultimately I had no problems. My only real gripe is they don't assign a key to let yourself into the unit. Your only option is to knock. You have to trust that they're present and awake to let you in (they say they always are).
  • 69%
  • 04 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Please do not stay here, specially if you are girl. The location is very unsafe. The old woman living in the house is super mean... I mean SUPER mean. Rodney and Roxy try to keep the place together but the living conditions are subpar. The towels stink of grease, the bathrooms are musty, the kitchen has dirty rank dishes in the sink all the time. The rooms are more or less clean but thats about it. I am convinced there is considerable drug activity here. Rodney n Roxy are the only saving grace.
  • 40%
  • 18 May 2014 Anonymous India
  • Where to begin... Everyone we met was drunk, stoned or in one case involved in a detailed and passionate conversation with a parked car. The whole place stank of stale smoke. 'Dirty' does not do justice to the standards of cleanliness in the room. Sofa had various stains all over it, toilet was broken, no towels or soap provided, a real 'wipe your feet on the way out' type of place. A truly depressing and shabby excuse for accommodation that should not be listed on your website.
  • 34%
  • 18 May 2014 John Canada
  • Primary problem is that the owners seem to be trying to do all the housekeeping and front desk work by themselves without hiring a crew of helpers so all of the work for an old motel with 30+ rooms cannot possibly be done. They're a nice couple. They just need to hire some helpers! The outside is kept up better than the inside and I did notice someone else working on the landscaping! I was tempted to sleep outside on the plastic chair on the front terrace! And I made it through two nights!
  • 34%
  • 10 May 2014 Bruce USA
  • Inexpensive, friendly staff, not very clean.
  • 74%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Kayla
  • This is an old rundown motel in a really bad part of Portland. It is in a state of bad disrepair, and everything is filthy. The mattresses are old, thin and dirty beyond belief. I stayed in a women's dorm, which was very noisy, super cramped, and only had one tiny bathroom for 4 women. We were given two thin sheets but no blanket, pillow, or towel, which were badly needed. The only good thing about this place was friendly management. The worst thing was the filth.
  • 31%
  • 04 Sep 2013 Mary L USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »