See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 87% from 57 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I love staying here because the staff are so helpful and friendly. The facilities are very clean. Their willingness to store luggage and refrigerate medication is so helpful. It is not a luxury facility, but for the price you pay, it is a very good deal. The view from the balcony is great, and the other folks staying there are friendly and helpful. So the elevator can be a pain, but what place is perfect?
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Marie USA
  • Love It, location is amazing and you have a great kitchen and shared areas are great,may clean bathrooms allover..A+ Thank You for the awesome experience!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Really well located, the owner is kind and make us feel at ease. It is nice that there is cooking facilities but the cooking pans is a bit useless… won't be nice to buy new one for the travelers use.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Marie-eve Canada
  • I stayed at this hostel for a week and it was relaxing. Got to meet new people and enjoy san juan but the rooms are extremely small like SUPER small the rool that one of my friend had use to be a laundry room and it looked like a closet. Hate the rooms love the location, so if you dont mind sleeping in a super small space this hostel could work for you.
  • 71%
  • 05 Aug 2015 aimee
  • For what you pay for it's a great value. I traveled alone, and was kind of afraid that I'd be alone in PR where people usually go for luxury tropical vacation for a week, but I ended up meeting nice backpackers all around the world and making friends with them. The atmosphere is great. There isn't any event going on hosted by the hostel, but you would still meet lots of people.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Located in the center of Old San Juan right next to Fort San Cristobal and close to every attraction, good cafes and restaurants in the area. Central bus terminal can be reached in 5 mins by foot where you can take buses to Condado and Isla Verde, free trolly running every 15 mins stops nearby. The place is laid back, full of people traveling alone in a nice common room. AC is more than just working well. So make sure to bring your blanket if you're sensitive to cold. Plus staffs are lovely.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Could be more communal, the staff could have more recommendations for guests. Slightly pricey for having a single tiny room.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, in old San Juan, near the old castle. Facility is in a beautiful Spanish style structure, however on the inside, everything is outdated, including the bathrooms, and could use a makeover. Water pressure in the shower was somewhat poor. bathrooms were okay I'm term of cleanliness but there was not enought tissues. A/C was working well in both rooms I stayed. Overall, best feature is location, otherwise, hostel could use a makeover.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous
  • It was a decent hostel with a good owner-- though there was a strictly enforced rule to leave during the middle (and most hot) part of the day. It was clean, and the balcony is a real treat. The location is just fine, but girls be carfeful walking alone at night.
  • 77%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Leah USA
  • It is a very beautiful old building in the old San Juan, on Plaza Colon and at a walk distance to bars, restaurants, shops and the two old castles. Great view, great location and cheap. Taxis are parked immediately downstairs. Very quiet and clean. Good internet access in the common areas.The only thing to bear in mind is that sometimes there is a temporary interruption of water due to water shortage in the area, but it happened just once in 6 days.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Michela Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »