See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 90% from 94 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my first experience at a Hostel and the Posada San Francisco was a great place to stay in Old San Juan. Our family (6 of us) spent a week there prior to a Cruise and one day following. Could not ask for a better location in OSJ, walking distance to everywhere you would want to go... shopping, restaurants, nightlife, the beach. Very clean and safe place to stay. The next tile we visit Old San Juan, we will definitely stay at the Posada San Francisco again!
  • 100%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel in a good location. Checks all the boxes of a good hostel: feels clean and safe with responsive staff. And they have a big kitchen which is great because eating out in old san juan can be pricey.
  • 80%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel! Only minus: showers were not fully working (bad shower jet) and hot water in only one out of four showers. One room (out of three that we stayed in) smelled of old puke. The other two were great!
  • 94%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Julia Sweden
  • The hostel is in an excellent location. This was my first hostel experience and I thought it was amazing. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere is very friendly. I stayed in the 10 bed dorm and I think that is the best way to meet people. The hostel was clean, and accomadating. If I was to find something bad, the only thing I can think of was the times when there was very low pressure when taking a shower. Aside from that minor issue, I'd say for a first time hostel stay, it was great!
  • 91%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I have traveled and stayed at MANY hostels and this rates in the top 3!!!!
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Susan USA
  • All was fine especially the patios. Bathroom floors need to be scrubbed.
  • 80%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Linda USA
  • Absolutely phenomenal location overlooking Old San Juan. It is within walking distance of all the shops and eateries. Couldn't ask for a better location. Very clean and secure as well. Loved this place!
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Amazing location and fun group of people. You really can't beat the spot and the atmosphere. We booked two hostels and moved to the other for the 2nd half of our trip. We wished we hadn't done that because Posada was in such a convenient location. Hot water, clean facilities and great security, this is a great hostel!
  • 86%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The woman in charge of the hostel was very nice! I checked in very late, and she was still cheery and lovely to interact with. The accommodations were a good value for the cost, and it was nice to have the option of being in a female-only room. I wish I had stayed more than one night!
  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2014 Jordan USA
  • I LOVE THIS PLACE! Definitely will visit again because of the beautiful location, friendly staff, and bang for the buck. :)
  • 97%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Hannah
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »