See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 87% from 35 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The bag lock up policy is brutal if you loose the card to your bag. I did and I'll admit it was my fault, but charging someone $20 for loosing a plastic card is a little too harsh in my opinion. Also no personal lockers so no keeping my stuff safe in my room. Also they had a minuscule breakfast that was nice, but very limited. I had to go out and buy my own anyway. If they could fix those policies I'd give them a great rating, but for now I'd say 2/5.
  • 60%
  • 23 Nov 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Perfect hostel. The landlady is so nice and amazing views !!
  • 91%
  • 20 Sep 2016 Anonymous France
  • Posada San Francisco is an ideal place to stay in Old San Juan. Of course the location is excellent. But the staff is very friendly and welcoming. I feel safe with the security from the street. I also feel that there is a concern about quietness, respectfulness about the shared areas, and cleanliness that I appreciate. I experienced and witnessed the staff being helpful and informative about San Juan and Puerto Rico.
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2016 Harriet USA
  • We got the private room (61) right next to the bathroom. The room was very clean. The bathroom was extremely clean and it seems as if they normally clean it several times a day. There were clorax wipes next to the toilet and a basket full of small hand towels to step on after the shower. And then another little basket to throw in your used towels. The room was super clean and we each got a towel. Nice clean blankets and comfortable. It was very quiet and we didn't really run into Ppl. Peaceful:)
  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2016 Nicole
  • It's always a delight to stay at la Posada. I very much like the new kitchen and common area on the fifth floor.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jul 2016 Alexander USA
  • Good band for your buck. In a beautiful area, but I wouldn't choose to stay in this area for more than 3 nights if you have an extended stay... it's worth spending a couple nights in Condado /closer to where locals go out at night. Staff is fine but not overtly accommodating, but the facilities are fine-- bathrooms could be cleaner tho.
  • 69%
  • 29 Jun 2016 Adam USA
  • It's not the cleanest place ever but the location is good, just at the corner of Old San Juan, bathrooms are plenty and provide provide disinfection paper towels. Private rooms have a refrigerator. Overall ok for the money you pay. Be careful of you book a tour and make sure the description fits what you will really get.
  • 66%
  • 27 Jun 2016 Susanne Germany
  • Great location in old San juan. Views of the Port and fort from the balcony. AC, TV, and fridge in private room we had. Small cots for beds but more than enough for just sleeping and relaxing. Tours that are offered from the lobby are great. the PIG OUT TOUR was great and the company was fun and easy to work with. Don't need many days in San Juan to see San Juan. Rent a car or have transportation to other parts of the Island to see the beaches, bio bay, etc. Great time overall.
  • 77%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Craig USA
  • The building the hostel is in was beautiful. Staff is helpful. It's great that they allow you to store your luggage there in a locked area the day you are coming or leaving so you don't have to lug it around. Yes the showers don't get hot water, but San Juan is hot, it's refreshing to have a cool shower! The rooms have a/c which is great. I will say the beds aren't great for the private rooms- they are a little small and not super comfy but you're also not paying much for the room.
  • 89%
  • 26 Apr 2016 Georgia USA
  • The only thing which is difficult about this location is finding parking, but with a little walking, it was fine! I also wouldn't recommend bringing any giant suitcases with you, as you have to go up four-six flights of stairs. Otherwise, the location was great, everything was ready for us upon our arrival, and it felt secure as you needed a chip key (like a hotel) to get into the hallways with rooms. I would definitely stay here again, and it is close to everything in Old San Juan!
  • 94%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »