See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 88% from 68 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is a very beautiful old building in the old San Juan, on Plaza Colon and at a walk distance to bars, restaurants, shops and the two old castles. Great view, great location and cheap. Taxis are parked immediately downstairs. Very quiet and clean. Good internet access in the common areas.The only thing to bear in mind is that sometimes there is a temporary interruption of water due to water shortage in the area, but it happened just once in 6 days.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Michela Italy
  • Great hostel in great location at Plaza Colon, very clean!
  • 89%
  • 25 May 2015 Nicola Germany
  • I stayed at this location for Memorial weekend 2015. I loved the location, we walked to San Cristobal, El Morro, local bars like Nu Yorican Café etc. I loved the view from our floor(5th floor) I loved how in order to get into your floor you needed a key(we felt very safe). We had a half bathroom next to us and the full bathroom at the end of the hall. The TV did not work in the 5th floor area and the shower was not washed out completely one day. The price, location & safety was worth the money!
  • 77%
  • 21 May 2015 MARIA Peru
  • The location of Posada San Francisco is great- it's situated in the heart of Old San Juan, and is within walking distance of all of the history and culture that the city is known and loved for. It has balconies on every floor which offered a place to relax, overlook the plaza and enjoy the breeze coming off of the water. Didn't use the kitchen; however one is available for use. The single dormitory was clean with A/C, but a bit creepy with a cross hanging over the bed.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2015 Jenell USA
  • Very good hostel! Bad things: They don't change towels and there's no bedrooms with bath (suites)
  • 89%
  • 19 Apr 2015 RAPHAEL Brazil
  • Great place to stay. I had the best time!
  • 100%
  • 13 Apr 2015 Anonymous US Virgin Islands
  • No hot showers when I stayed there. Private rooms are two expensive if you have more than one person staying in a room.
  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We enjoyed our stay. We came for one night and the room we were in was not the best - the air conditioner was on a very warm setting and we couldn't reach it to change the temperature. Our refrigerator didn't work. We left to go to Vieques for a night and then came back to Posada San Fransisco for a couple more nights. This time the room was better - we could reach the air conditioner and our fridge worked well. Both times we were on the 4th floor and the showers were cold and one didn't work.
  • 83%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The e=mail sent a week before arrival is off-putting; very unfriendly in tone. However the staff are in fact very pleasant. Unless you're a backpacker, the fact that check-in's on the 6th floor and the elevator may not be working is a drawback (it was working during our stay).
  • 80%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I think a little investment in the plumbing, and the elevator will catapult this hostel to new heights.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »