See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 88% from 80 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We enjoyed our stay. We came for one night and the room we were in was not the best - the air conditioner was on a very warm setting and we couldn't reach it to change the temperature. Our refrigerator didn't work. We left to go to Vieques for a night and then came back to Posada San Fransisco for a couple more nights. This time the room was better - we could reach the air conditioner and our fridge worked well. Both times we were on the 4th floor and the showers were cold and one didn't work.
  • 83%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The e=mail sent a week before arrival is off-putting; very unfriendly in tone. However the staff are in fact very pleasant. Unless you're a backpacker, the fact that check-in's on the 6th floor and the elevator may not be working is a drawback (it was working during our stay).
  • 80%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I think a little investment in the plumbing, and the elevator will catapult this hostel to new heights.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Place waa awesome. Had a kitchen, multiple bathroom. I stayed at a 2 bed room and it was nice. Little dusty, but overall well put. However the one bed room place isnt that great... seems like an old bathroom or some closet...The owner was nice enough to help us get another night to stay.
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great experience. We only stayed for a night but ended up meeting some people from our university. Thanks for checking us in in the middle of the night!! It was so kind.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Sabeen USA
  • This was a great hostel! The location was fantastic, and the facilities were very clean. A big shout-out to the staff as well for being friendly and accommodating. There are several convenient hangout areas as well which was great as a solo traveler. I'd absolutely stay here again and recommend Posada San Francisco to anyone looking for an affordable and enjoyable place to stay in Old San Juan.
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed here in a private double for five nights and had a great time! If you're looking to save money on accommodations in order to splurge on day trips and restaurants, then the Posada San Fransisco is the perfect way to do it. It isn't that social of a hostel if you're staying on the sixth floor, but the fourth floor has a bit more going on. The view of Plaza Colòn is gorgeous and the proximity to great bars restaurants/galleries/ the forts is unbeatable.
  • 91%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Mackenzie USA
  • Posada San Francisco is in a fantastic location and security is excellent. For two women travelling alone,we felt very secure. We had a standard private room - beds were par, pillows and blankets on the sub-par side. When using the AC at night, we could have used an actual blanket rather than a bedspread. The bathrooms were pretty clean, water pressure varied. Don't count on the elevator. Private rooms on the 6th floor. All things considered, it was an excellent value for the price. Staff nice
  • 89%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • the location was exactly what we anticipated. great view from the balcony;you are right on the main drag of old san juan! nice kitchen, decent rooms for the price..i would just suggest bringing a blanket (luckily we brought one with us, without it we would have been cold). Our biggest issue was with the shower; very low pressure and tough to find the right balance of water temp. Also, parking can be a pain if you have a car. Overall, we would recommend it as a good budget option!
  • 80%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had an amazing stay at this hostel! The people were incredible, the setup was excellent; Clean sheets, plenty of bathrooms to use, beautiful view in the common area. Kitchen area was nice. Cannot beat it for the price!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2015 James USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »