See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 90% from 81 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Posada San Francisco is in a fantastic location and security is excellent. For two women travelling alone,we felt very secure. We had a standard private room - beds were par, pillows and blankets on the sub-par side. When using the AC at night, we could have used an actual blanket rather than a bedspread. The bathrooms were pretty clean, water pressure varied. Don't count on the elevator. Private rooms on the 6th floor. All things considered, it was an excellent value for the price. Staff nice
  • 89%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • the location was exactly what we anticipated. great view from the balcony;you are right on the main drag of old san juan! nice kitchen, decent rooms for the price..i would just suggest bringing a blanket (luckily we brought one with us, without it we would have been cold). Our biggest issue was with the shower; very low pressure and tough to find the right balance of water temp. Also, parking can be a pain if you have a car. Overall, we would recommend it as a good budget option!
  • 80%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had an amazing stay at this hostel! The people were incredible, the setup was excellent; Clean sheets, plenty of bathrooms to use, beautiful view in the common area. Kitchen area was nice. Cannot beat it for the price!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2015 James USA
  • Pros: Well-run hostel with helpful staff. Location can't be beat. Good prices, lockers (small), newer laundry machines. Cons: Elevator is unreliable. No 24-hour desk attendant, so be very careful not to misplace your key and get locked out. For better or worse, this place lacks the usual hostel atmosphere -- you'll have to be very outgoing if you want to get acquainted with other travelers. People mostly just keep to themselves here.
  • 89%
  • 09 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We very much enjoyed our one night stay. The rooms was nice and it was helpful to have the shelf by the bed, along with the chair and fridge. Clean bathrooms were great as well.
  • 83%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous
  • Oh, how i miss Posada San Francisco already and it's only been one day! I had read all of the reviews and found them most complimentary, so trusted it would be a good experience for a solo traveler. AND IT WAS TERRIFIC!!! The location, accommodations, cost, friendliness of staff, and daily attention to cleanliness make Posada an ideal stay for a day, week, month, or.. I met wonderful people of all ages and from many countries which invited great conversations, sharing food and fun times.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Eileen USA
  • I absolutely loved this place!
  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Sara Leonard USA
  • I have been in some hostels in hawaii, miami, Europe, etc. this is one of the best that I have been. Excellent location, good price, super clean. He estado en varios hostages en hawaii, Europa, USA. Definitivamente, este es uno de Los mejores en los q he estado. Super limpio y organizado. Muy económico por lo que ofrece..
  • 97%
  • 28 Dec 2014 edgar Colombia
  • If you can't stand noisy air conditioning all night long, get yourself a single room rather than a dorm. I couldn't sleep more than two hours in a row. Sorry! The rest is perfect. And Old San Juan rocks.
  • 83%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I stayed in this hostel only for one night, it seemed very good for the amount I paid. The only bad thing about it is that they ask you to call so they can come down stairs and open the door for you but if you are not from the states it can be a bit of a problem to arrive at midnight, have to ask somebody (in this case the taxi driver lent me his phone) so I can called them to open the door if not there wouldn't be a way for me to call them because I do not have an american phone.
  • 83%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Jose Luis Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

15 fantastic Irish bars you can party in on St. Patrick's Day

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »