See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 87% from 57 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I love staying here because the staff are so helpful and friendly. The facilities are very clean. Their willingness to store luggage and refrigerate medication is so helpful. It is not a luxury facility, but for the price you pay, it is a very good deal. The view from the balcony is great, and the other folks staying there are friendly and helpful. So the elevator can be a pain, but what place is perfect?
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Marie USA
  • Love It, location is amazing and you have a great kitchen and shared areas are great,may clean bathrooms allover..A+ Thank You for the awesome experience!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Really well located, the owner is kind and make us feel at ease. It is nice that there is cooking facilities but the cooking pans is a bit useless… won't be nice to buy new one for the travelers use.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Marie-eve Canada
  • I stayed at this hostel for a week and it was relaxing. Got to meet new people and enjoy san juan but the rooms are extremely small like SUPER small the rool that one of my friend had use to be a laundry room and it looked like a closet. Hate the rooms love the location, so if you dont mind sleeping in a super small space this hostel could work for you.
  • 71%
  • 05 Aug 2015 aimee
  • For what you pay for it's a great value. I traveled alone, and was kind of afraid that I'd be alone in PR where people usually go for luxury tropical vacation for a week, but I ended up meeting nice backpackers all around the world and making friends with them. The atmosphere is great. There isn't any event going on hosted by the hostel, but you would still meet lots of people.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Located in the center of Old San Juan right next to Fort San Cristobal and close to every attraction, good cafes and restaurants in the area. Central bus terminal can be reached in 5 mins by foot where you can take buses to Condado and Isla Verde, free trolly running every 15 mins stops nearby. The place is laid back, full of people traveling alone in a nice common room. AC is more than just working well. So make sure to bring your blanket if you're sensitive to cold. Plus staffs are lovely.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Could be more communal, the staff could have more recommendations for guests. Slightly pricey for having a single tiny room.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, in old San Juan, near the old castle. Facility is in a beautiful Spanish style structure, however on the inside, everything is outdated, including the bathrooms, and could use a makeover. Water pressure in the shower was somewhat poor. bathrooms were okay I'm term of cleanliness but there was not enought tissues. A/C was working well in both rooms I stayed. Overall, best feature is location, otherwise, hostel could use a makeover.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous
  • It was a decent hostel with a good owner-- though there was a strictly enforced rule to leave during the middle (and most hot) part of the day. It was clean, and the balcony is a real treat. The location is just fine, but girls be carfeful walking alone at night.
  • 77%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Leah USA
  • It is a very beautiful old building in the old San Juan, on Plaza Colon and at a walk distance to bars, restaurants, shops and the two old castles. Great view, great location and cheap. Taxis are parked immediately downstairs. Very quiet and clean. Good internet access in the common areas.The only thing to bear in mind is that sometimes there is a temporary interruption of water due to water shortage in the area, but it happened just once in 6 days.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Michela Italy
  • Great hostel in great location at Plaza Colon, very clean!
  • 89%
  • 25 May 2015 Nicola Germany
  • I stayed at this location for Memorial weekend 2015. I loved the location, we walked to San Cristobal, El Morro, local bars like Nu Yorican Café etc. I loved the view from our floor(5th floor) I loved how in order to get into your floor you needed a key(we felt very safe). We had a half bathroom next to us and the full bathroom at the end of the hall. The TV did not work in the 5th floor area and the shower was not washed out completely one day. The price, location & safety was worth the money!
  • 77%
  • 21 May 2015 MARIA Peru
  • The location of Posada San Francisco is great- it's situated in the heart of Old San Juan, and is within walking distance of all of the history and culture that the city is known and loved for. It has balconies on every floor which offered a place to relax, overlook the plaza and enjoy the breeze coming off of the water. Didn't use the kitchen; however one is available for use. The single dormitory was clean with A/C, but a bit creepy with a cross hanging over the bed.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2015 Jenell USA
  • Very good hostel! Bad things: They don't change towels and there's no bedrooms with bath (suites)
  • 89%
  • 19 Apr 2015 RAPHAEL Brazil
  • Great place to stay. I had the best time!
  • 100%
  • 13 Apr 2015 Anonymous US Virgin Islands
  • No hot showers when I stayed there. Private rooms are two expensive if you have more than one person staying in a room.
  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We enjoyed our stay. We came for one night and the room we were in was not the best - the air conditioner was on a very warm setting and we couldn't reach it to change the temperature. Our refrigerator didn't work. We left to go to Vieques for a night and then came back to Posada San Fransisco for a couple more nights. This time the room was better - we could reach the air conditioner and our fridge worked well. Both times we were on the 4th floor and the showers were cold and one didn't work.
  • 83%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The e=mail sent a week before arrival is off-putting; very unfriendly in tone. However the staff are in fact very pleasant. Unless you're a backpacker, the fact that check-in's on the 6th floor and the elevator may not be working is a drawback (it was working during our stay).
  • 80%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I think a little investment in the plumbing, and the elevator will catapult this hostel to new heights.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Place waa awesome. Had a kitchen, multiple bathroom. I stayed at a 2 bed room and it was nice. Little dusty, but overall well put. However the one bed room place isnt that great... seems like an old bathroom or some closet...The owner was nice enough to help us get another night to stay.
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great experience. We only stayed for a night but ended up meeting some people from our university. Thanks for checking us in in the middle of the night!! It was so kind.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Sabeen USA
  • This was a great hostel! The location was fantastic, and the facilities were very clean. A big shout-out to the staff as well for being friendly and accommodating. There are several convenient hangout areas as well which was great as a solo traveler. I'd absolutely stay here again and recommend Posada San Francisco to anyone looking for an affordable and enjoyable place to stay in Old San Juan.
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We really enjoyed our stay at the hostel. Very safe, wonderful location! The facilities were great and we appreciated their honesty in the listing. Everything was as we expected it to be and it was a great experience. We really enjoyed our trip, and the hostel was a big part of that. Thanks so much!
  • 86%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed here in a private double for five nights and had a great time! If you're looking to save money on accommodations in order to splurge on day trips and restaurants, then the Posada San Fransisco is the perfect way to do it. It isn't that social of a hostel if you're staying on the sixth floor, but the fourth floor has a bit more going on. The view of Plaza Colòn is gorgeous and the proximity to great bars restaurants/galleries/ the forts is unbeatable.
  • 91%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Mackenzie USA
  • Posada San Francisco is in a fantastic location and security is excellent. For two women travelling alone,we felt very secure. We had a standard private room - beds were par, pillows and blankets on the sub-par side. When using the AC at night, we could have used an actual blanket rather than a bedspread. The bathrooms were pretty clean, water pressure varied. Don't count on the elevator. Private rooms on the 6th floor. All things considered, it was an excellent value for the price. Staff nice
  • 89%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • the location was exactly what we anticipated. great view from the balcony;you are right on the main drag of old san juan! nice kitchen, decent rooms for the price..i would just suggest bringing a blanket (luckily we brought one with us, without it we would have been cold). Our biggest issue was with the shower; very low pressure and tough to find the right balance of water temp. Also, parking can be a pain if you have a car. Overall, we would recommend it as a good budget option!
  • 80%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had an amazing stay at this hostel! The people were incredible, the setup was excellent; Clean sheets, plenty of bathrooms to use, beautiful view in the common area. Kitchen area was nice. Cannot beat it for the price!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2015 James USA
  • Pros: Well-run hostel with helpful staff. Location can't be beat. Good prices, lockers (small), newer laundry machines. Cons: Elevator is unreliable. No 24-hour desk attendant, so be very careful not to misplace your key and get locked out. For better or worse, this place lacks the usual hostel atmosphere -- you'll have to be very outgoing if you want to get acquainted with other travelers. People mostly just keep to themselves here.
  • 89%
  • 09 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We very much enjoyed our one night stay. The rooms was nice and it was helpful to have the shelf by the bed, along with the chair and fridge. Clean bathrooms were great as well.
  • 83%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous
  • Oh, how i miss Posada San Francisco already and it's only been one day! I had read all of the reviews and found them most complimentary, so trusted it would be a good experience for a solo traveler. AND IT WAS TERRIFIC!!! The location, accommodations, cost, friendliness of staff, and daily attention to cleanliness make Posada an ideal stay for a day, week, month, or.. I met wonderful people of all ages and from many countries which invited great conversations, sharing food and fun times.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Eileen USA
  • I absolutely loved this place!
  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Sara Leonard USA
  • I have been in some hostels in hawaii, miami, Europe, etc. this is one of the best that I have been. Excellent location, good price, super clean. He estado en varios hostages en hawaii, Europa, USA. Definitivamente, este es uno de Los mejores en los q he estado. Super limpio y organizado. Muy económico por lo que ofrece..
  • 97%
  • 28 Dec 2014 edgar Colombia
  • If you can't stand noisy air conditioning all night long, get yourself a single room rather than a dorm. I couldn't sleep more than two hours in a row. Sorry! The rest is perfect. And Old San Juan rocks.
  • 83%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I stayed in this hostel only for one night, it seemed very good for the amount I paid. The only bad thing about it is that they ask you to call so they can come down stairs and open the door for you but if you are not from the states it can be a bit of a problem to arrive at midnight, have to ask somebody (in this case the taxi driver lent me his phone) so I can called them to open the door if not there wouldn't be a way for me to call them because I do not have an american phone.
  • 83%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Jose Luis Mexico
  • This was my first experience at a Hostel and the Posada San Francisco was a great place to stay in Old San Juan. Our family (6 of us) spent a week there prior to a Cruise and one day following. Could not ask for a better location in OSJ, walking distance to everywhere you would want to go... shopping, restaurants, nightlife, the beach. Very clean and safe place to stay. The next tile we visit Old San Juan, we will definitely stay at the Posada San Francisco again!
  • 100%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel in a good location. Checks all the boxes of a good hostel: feels clean and safe with responsive staff. And they have a big kitchen which is great because eating out in old san juan can be pricey.
  • 80%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel! Only minus: showers were not fully working (bad shower jet) and hot water in only one out of four showers. One room (out of three that we stayed in) smelled of old puke. The other two were great!
  • 94%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Julia Sweden
  • The hostel is in an excellent location. This was my first hostel experience and I thought it was amazing. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere is very friendly. I stayed in the 10 bed dorm and I think that is the best way to meet people. The hostel was clean, and accomadating. If I was to find something bad, the only thing I can think of was the times when there was very low pressure when taking a shower. Aside from that minor issue, I'd say for a first time hostel stay, it was great!
  • 91%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I have traveled and stayed at MANY hostels and this rates in the top 3!!!!
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Susan USA
  • All was fine especially the patios. Bathroom floors need to be scrubbed.
  • 80%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Linda USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »