See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 90% from 94 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my first experience at a Hostel and the Posada San Francisco was a great place to stay in Old San Juan. Our family (6 of us) spent a week there prior to a Cruise and one day following. Could not ask for a better location in OSJ, walking distance to everywhere you would want to go... shopping, restaurants, nightlife, the beach. Very clean and safe place to stay. The next tile we visit Old San Juan, we will definitely stay at the Posada San Francisco again!
  • 100%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel in a good location. Checks all the boxes of a good hostel: feels clean and safe with responsive staff. And they have a big kitchen which is great because eating out in old san juan can be pricey.
  • 80%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel! Only minus: showers were not fully working (bad shower jet) and hot water in only one out of four showers. One room (out of three that we stayed in) smelled of old puke. The other two were great!
  • 94%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Julia Sweden
  • The hostel is in an excellent location. This was my first hostel experience and I thought it was amazing. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere is very friendly. I stayed in the 10 bed dorm and I think that is the best way to meet people. The hostel was clean, and accomadating. If I was to find something bad, the only thing I can think of was the times when there was very low pressure when taking a shower. Aside from that minor issue, I'd say for a first time hostel stay, it was great!
  • 91%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I have traveled and stayed at MANY hostels and this rates in the top 3!!!!
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Susan USA
  • All was fine especially the patios. Bathroom floors need to be scrubbed.
  • 80%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Linda USA
  • Absolutely phenomenal location overlooking Old San Juan. It is within walking distance of all the shops and eateries. Couldn't ask for a better location. Very clean and secure as well. Loved this place!
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Amazing location and fun group of people. You really can't beat the spot and the atmosphere. We booked two hostels and moved to the other for the 2nd half of our trip. We wished we hadn't done that because Posada was in such a convenient location. Hot water, clean facilities and great security, this is a great hostel!
  • 86%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The woman in charge of the hostel was very nice! I checked in very late, and she was still cheery and lovely to interact with. The accommodations were a good value for the cost, and it was nice to have the option of being in a female-only room. I wish I had stayed more than one night!
  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2014 Jordan USA
  • I LOVE THIS PLACE! Definitely will visit again because of the beautiful location, friendly staff, and bang for the buck. :)
  • 97%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Hannah
  • No one told me that the storage room cost any money. Then they wanted to claim 5 dollar per piece of luggage. I canceld a night, no refund at all. No possibility to change the dates of my booking.
  • 63%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Simon
  • The Posada is the best hostel on Puerto Rico bar none , the staff are awesome very friendly and helpful. LD was very helpful he went out of his way to make are trip carefree and he was very knowledgeable about all the different things to do on Puerto Rico. I would definitely come back.
  • 97%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel experience was great. I have been to other hostels in the past but this one surpassed them. Great location, great staff, safe and the people I meet while there were great. Definitely recommend if your going to Old San Juan this is the hostel to stay at.
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2014 jason USA
  • La Posada Hostel was a delight and conveniently located right in the heart of Old San Juan. Excellent value for the money. My recommendation is that the fridge be cleaned out on a more regular basis. It appears that leftover food may have been stored in there for a good while. Lastly I would suggest a larger assortment of kitchen pots and pans. There was no pasta strainer to be found nor were there any sizable pots with lids.
  • 91%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Alexander USA
  • The hostel and staff and everything else was the perfect. My friend and I enjoyed to stay there. They gave us all informations about puerto rico and improved our a short vacation.
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous
  • Good location, it's the tall building right at the top of Plaza Colon. The only issue on my short stay was not enough lockers for your valuables - 16 or so lockers is simply not enough for ~25 beds.
  • 74%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Easy to mingle with new friends. Excellent location, within walking distance of many historic sites.
  • 91%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Miguel Jair Mexico
  • Hostel was clean convenient and friendly. The elevator didnt work well, and a painting or picture in the room would have given it a much homier feel. Great value for the money and would highly recommend.
  • 80%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Katie
  • This is a beautiful hostel right in Old San Juan. The people we met staying there were awesome, and it had a really good vibe. The only negative thing I can say is that the staff weren't particularly helpful or interested in making you feel welcome. My friend and I had to arrive early because our flight got in at an inconvenient time, and the woman who let us in was very sassy and gave us a ton of attitude. Other than that, it is in a great location and a beautiful building.
  • 80%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Emma USA
  • The location was the best you can get. Amazing views. Very polite staff and clean facilities.
  • 94%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Location is perfect but there is nothing to do in Old San Juan. The staff was really bad. Despite there is "office hours" in a hostel?, the girl with glasses was giving wrong information about buses, transportation every time. Even though she works in a hostel, she doesn't know much about the city. Everytime we were getting information from her and when we double checked in tourism office, they were saying what she told was completely wrong. Her mistakes caused us a lot of time and money.
  • 63%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • One of the best views in town!
  • 94%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Russell USA
  • Awesome service and staff. It's also located right in old San Juan I really couldn't ask for more.
  • 97%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent location, clean facility, fair price. The people were wonderful. I made many new friends and even some folks who went on to travel with me to other places. I highly recommend this place. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Nate USA
  • Very good location,good price,good atmosfere,friendly perspnnel
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Robert Tomasz Poland
  • My 3 friends and I enjoyed our stay at this hostel during the beginning of July. The hostel room itself was clean upon arrival. The bathrooms, which are shared, reminded me of a bathroom at a friend's house where it is comfortable and had a "homey" atmosphere. There was never a time when a bathroom wasn't available and the bathrooms are constantly clean! It was an awesome hostel stay and I loved the island atomsphere it had with open windows throughout the halls and patterned tile floors.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay! Would definitely saty here again!
  • 100%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay in the middle of Old San Juan and a bus ride away from Isla Verde beach. Staff was friendly, rooms were okay but not much storage and only 2 outlets which were besides someone's pillow, so very awkward! Bathroom down the hall, probably only 2 for the whole floor seemed not enough, no soap or paper towels in the bathroom which I didn't like. The toilet paper is also paper thin so it will basically dissolve in your hands. Great views from lobby!
  • 80%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Yolanda USA
  • I will most definitely be staying here again. It was a good mix of different age groups (20 something's and 40 something's) such that it kept the young people responsible, but also created an inclusive environment. Everyone was always hanging out in the common spaces sharing wine an stories... This was my first solo trip, but the truth was the sense of community here made it feel like a trip with old friends.
  • 91%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • . Our room was on the east side of the building and the sun was very bright, very early. This caused us to wake up very early which was probably a good thing, but think next time I'd try to request a different location.
  • 89%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was as expected. No frills, but super friendly service, a beautiful building, simple clean rooms, and a beyond excellent location. I can't imagine you could beat this location for the money anywhere else in the city. I highly recommend.
  • 91%
  • 17 May 2014 Kelsey USA
  • Everything about this hostel was amazing. The location was perfect. The view was gorgeous. The staff were extremely friendly and did not hesitate to answer any questions. Our private room was simple and clean. I have no complaints and can not wait to go back!
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2014 Corissa Germany
  • I had a wonderful stay here - Old San Juan was incredible, and so was the hostel! The location and view could not be beat. I have no complaints!
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a good experience there with my friends. It was clean and teh AC worked perfectly. The only thing that people would want to consider is the elevator. Its tiny and I felt that we where going to stuck in it so we stuck to using the stairs. We didnt mind at all though.
  • 83%
  • 08 May 2014 Leonard Peru
  • It is one of the best hostels i have ever been. The atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful. You can meet there people from all over the world. The price is not excessive. The staff is really helpful. And the view from the balcony is amazing. I recommend this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • The S.F. P has grossly misrepresented it self on the web. Most of us came to the conclusion that they wrote their own reviews. There is no way anyone could say that this place was clean/neat. The exterior is fine but inside is old and un-kept. This place has so much potential, but is not well maintained at all.The bathroom floors/ showers/fridge were so filthy and gross. YUCK! We felt deceived. The highlight of the day was leaving. Don't go there you will regret it trust me!!! Shame on them!
  • 34%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Location is perfect for sightseeing and especially before/after a cruise. Staff very friendly, helpful, lugguage storage, nice ambiente with terraces and view. Room and bath could be better cleaned. Rooms would look nice with at least one picture frame, feels like in a hospital! Single room is tiny, tiny, you feel really like in a prison cell, white walls and a cross...AirCondition incredibly noisy! Take Earplugs if u want to find some sleep!!
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Everything was good except the rampant amount of mosquitoes and wifi. I got more bites at the hostel, in my room, bathroom and common area than I did while hiking in the rain forest of El Yunque and kayaking amongst the bioluminescent mangroves of Fajardo. It would be nice if they had citronel bands or anti-mosquito things to sell besides bug spray. The wifi kept cutting out. Ended up simply using my cell phone data since I have a US cellular connection.
  • 86%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The young woman who checked me in at the front desk was very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful/
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Adam USA
  • Reception was very accomodating and friendly. I brought 8 students and they loved it. Centrally located, great views, clean and nice.
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Willliam USA
  • Incredible Hostel. I have stayed in dozens and this in one of the nicest. As far as hostels go, 5 stars! The first two nights we stayed in a different hostel, Fortaleza Guest House, and had the most awful experience I have ever had in a hostel. We stayed in a room with no windows and had no running water on our floor with the most unhelpful, rude staff. Please, stay at Posada San Francisco and stay far AWAY from Fortaleza. Also, Posada has an excellent location in Old San Juan!
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Thomas USA
  • The only thing was that sometimes there was nothing to dry your hands on in the restrooms. Other than that I cannot complain about on thing. It was an excellent place to stay and I hope I can stay there again one day.
  • 97%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Alice USA
  • Surprisingly clean and well furnished/designed which made me very happy
  • 100%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very pleasurable experience! We will be back!
  • 100%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Meredith USA
  • This place is wonderful! The only thing we had trouble with was finding the front desk when we arrived (its on the top floor!) Other than that we loved it. Amazing location in Old San Juan, beautiful building with some of the most amazing views. Everyone was really nice, having the kitchen was great, and I never had to wait for the bathroom, it was right next to our room! All the doors lock with your key card, which I was very happy about. And there's an awesome bar on the ground floor!
  • 97%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location of this hostel is great! It is clean and has a great view and it is also very secure. I would definitely stay here again if I was to be back in San Juan.
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Rebecca USA
  • Great place. So worth the money and in an unbelievable location.
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. I would definitely stay there again. My only complaint would be that I got stuck in the elevator for a while when no staff were there. If the elevator was more dependable this place would be nearly perfect. Storing our luggage so that we could go out and have fun until check in and after check out til we left was so nice. Thanks
  • 94%
  • 02 Mar 2014 melissa USA
  • My fiancée and I along with my two children and sister have stayed at Posada SanFran three times. I highly recommend!! :)
  • 100%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Anne-Marie USA
  • The hostel was in an ideal location for exploring old San Juan. The rooms, though basic, were very clean and comfortable, and the staff was fantastic. I'd definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Really a Quality Hostel - Perfect Location for being in San Juan - everything was perfect for our group - We stayed over two different weekends and the staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient - It really was a highlight to our stay on the island! The elevator was an adventure in itself :-)
  • 100%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was a great experience. Only problem was the cabbie directed us to the wrong door, Once we called, the staff came right over to help.. The other guests were kind and fun to visit with, and were respectful of quiet hours. the kitchen was immaculate. the maid cleaned the floors/bathroom daily. They stored our luggage and let me keep meds in the fridge after checkout, as our ship didn't leave til 8 pm. Old bldg, so the bathroom wasn't shiny new. Super balcony to share w great view.
  • 100%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Marie USA
  • This place is simply amazing! The two most important things are the cleanliness and the staff! The shared kitchen and the washrooms were always clean! The location is great for Old San Juan. Of course, you need to think about taxis ($$$) if you are going to Santurce, Downtown or Condado at night, but during the day, the public bus system situated a 10 minute walk from the hotel is perfect! Plus, Piazza Colon is just in front so you can book tours and they will often pick you up there.
  • 97%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • We stayed in a private room here for 1 night and were very impressed with how nice it was. There was an incredible amount of room, things were very clean and the views from the balcony were amazing. This hostel is in a great location also. I had originally booked 2 different nights but flights got delayed and had to change my dates last minute. The staff was able to change one of my nights and cancel the other with no problem. I highly recommend this place.
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Kyle USA
  • Great Location! Everything in old San Juan within walking distance. Shared bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, but our room was a nice size and clean.
  • 83%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Jeffrey USA
  • Recommended by a friend and was definitely great value for the money.
  • 94%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great value and wonderful staff, will definitely use again.
  • 91%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Marla USA
  • Excellent. Would stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 08 Feb 2014 SHEALA USA
  • great place nice atmosphere and people in the hostel, Quite ssleeping are great commons to converse and close to the action.
  • 100%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic place in a perfect part of old San Juan. It was clean and comfortable for a hostel. The wifi really only worked from the 5th floor but that wasn't a big deal. The staff was good...could have been a little more friendly. The girl that worked at night (I think she was from North Carolina and her name was Tatia or something like that) was very nice and helpful. I would stay there longer if I had time,
  • 89%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great location! Great value.
  • 97%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Ryan Canada
  • Great hostel! Great location!! would recommend to friends, and I had a get time. the Wifi password didn't work on the 6th floor, but that's okay since it didn't really disrupt my trip or anything. Thanks again!
  • 91%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved everything about this place......What a perfect place. Close to everything you want to see in Old San Juan. Clean, safe.....and the Kitchen was a bonus......I have recommended this to everyone I met traveling.....
  • 100%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostel experiences I've had. Cheap rooms, excellent location inside Old San Juan, clean beds and hot showers. Met some wonderful people here as well!
  • 94%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Allan USA
  • This was my first hostel so I didn't know what to expect. Location is awesome! The bathrooms, while public were very clean. Staff was friendly. My only major complaints are 1 the elevator is trerribly slow. 2 whole minutes to get to the sixth floor. 2. The floor in my room could use a good mopping. But I guess that's what flip flops are for
  • 71%
  • 16 Jan 2014 April USA
  • When looking for the rooms, it does not specify that u have to walk all the way to the top to check In, when we walked up we had no idea where to go or any one to talk to, till we saw this older lady walking up, and was able to help us! But other then that every one was really nice and the place was nice and affordable (;
  • 71%
  • 15 Jan 2014 daniel Mexico
  • The price for the location, building, and view is unbeatable. The rooms were simple, clean, and air conditioned. The common bathrooms were not well kept.
  • 74%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Corinne USA
  • My first experience in a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. Stayed in the 4 bed private room which was HUGE with two double beds and a small table & refrigerator. Traveling with my adult son and his friend and they enjoyed the social room with time to meet/greet other guests.
  • 89%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • right in the heart of old town, walking distance to all kinds of great stuff. amazing views from the 6th floor deck. we had a spacious private room with A/C and TV. shared bathrooms are clean. the place felt very secure, with keycard access at the main entrance, floor entry, and room entry. the front desk girl was very friendly and helpful. was a great value for our money!
  • 97%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Haley USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »