See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 90% from 97 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place to stay! Would definitely saty here again!
  • 100%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I will most definitely be staying here again. It was a good mix of different age groups (20 something's and 40 something's) such that it kept the young people responsible, but also created an inclusive environment. Everyone was always hanging out in the common spaces sharing wine an stories... This was my first solo trip, but the truth was the sense of community here made it feel like a trip with old friends.
  • 91%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • . Our room was on the east side of the building and the sun was very bright, very early. This caused us to wake up very early which was probably a good thing, but think next time I'd try to request a different location.
  • 89%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was as expected. No frills, but super friendly service, a beautiful building, simple clean rooms, and a beyond excellent location. I can't imagine you could beat this location for the money anywhere else in the city. I highly recommend.
  • 91%
  • 17 May 2014 Kelsey USA
  • Everything about this hostel was amazing. The location was perfect. The view was gorgeous. The staff were extremely friendly and did not hesitate to answer any questions. Our private room was simple and clean. I have no complaints and can not wait to go back!
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2014 Corissa Germany
  • I had a wonderful stay here - Old San Juan was incredible, and so was the hostel! The location and view could not be beat. I have no complaints!
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a good experience there with my friends. It was clean and teh AC worked perfectly. The only thing that people would want to consider is the elevator. Its tiny and I felt that we where going to stuck in it so we stuck to using the stairs. We didnt mind at all though.
  • 83%
  • 08 May 2014 Leonard Peru
  • The S.F. P has grossly misrepresented it self on the web. Most of us came to the conclusion that they wrote their own reviews. There is no way anyone could say that this place was clean/neat. The exterior is fine but inside is old and un-kept. This place has so much potential, but is not well maintained at all.The bathroom floors/ showers/fridge were so filthy and gross. YUCK! We felt deceived. The highlight of the day was leaving. Don't go there you will regret it trust me!!! Shame on them!
  • 34%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Location is perfect for sightseeing and especially before/after a cruise. Staff very friendly, helpful, lugguage storage, nice ambiente with terraces and view. Room and bath could be better cleaned. Rooms would look nice with at least one picture frame, feels like in a hospital! Single room is tiny, tiny, you feel really like in a prison cell, white walls and a cross...AirCondition incredibly noisy! Take Earplugs if u want to find some sleep!!
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Everything was good except the rampant amount of mosquitoes and wifi. I got more bites at the hostel, in my room, bathroom and common area than I did while hiking in the rain forest of El Yunque and kayaking amongst the bioluminescent mangroves of Fajardo. It would be nice if they had citronel bands or anti-mosquito things to sell besides bug spray. The wifi kept cutting out. Ended up simply using my cell phone data since I have a US cellular connection.
  • 86%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The young woman who checked me in at the front desk was very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful/
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Adam USA
  • Reception was very accomodating and friendly. I brought 8 students and they loved it. Centrally located, great views, clean and nice.
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Willliam USA
  • Incredible Hostel. I have stayed in dozens and this in one of the nicest. As far as hostels go, 5 stars! The first two nights we stayed in a different hostel, Fortaleza Guest House, and had the most awful experience I have ever had in a hostel. We stayed in a room with no windows and had no running water on our floor with the most unhelpful, rude staff. Please, stay at Posada San Francisco and stay far AWAY from Fortaleza. Also, Posada has an excellent location in Old San Juan!
  • 100%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Thomas USA
  • The only thing was that sometimes there was nothing to dry your hands on in the restrooms. Other than that I cannot complain about on thing. It was an excellent place to stay and I hope I can stay there again one day.
  • 97%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Alice USA
  • Surprisingly clean and well furnished/designed which made me very happy
  • 100%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very pleasurable experience! We will be back!
  • 100%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Meredith USA
  • This place is wonderful! The only thing we had trouble with was finding the front desk when we arrived (its on the top floor!) Other than that we loved it. Amazing location in Old San Juan, beautiful building with some of the most amazing views. Everyone was really nice, having the kitchen was great, and I never had to wait for the bathroom, it was right next to our room! All the doors lock with your key card, which I was very happy about. And there's an awesome bar on the ground floor!
  • 97%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location of this hostel is great! It is clean and has a great view and it is also very secure. I would definitely stay here again if I was to be back in San Juan.
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Rebecca USA
  • Great place. So worth the money and in an unbelievable location.
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. I would definitely stay there again. My only complaint would be that I got stuck in the elevator for a while when no staff were there. If the elevator was more dependable this place would be nearly perfect. Storing our luggage so that we could go out and have fun until check in and after check out til we left was so nice. Thanks
  • 94%
  • 02 Mar 2014 melissa USA
  • My fiancée and I along with my two children and sister have stayed at Posada SanFran three times. I highly recommend!! :)
  • 100%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Anne-Marie USA
  • The hostel was in an ideal location for exploring old San Juan. The rooms, though basic, were very clean and comfortable, and the staff was fantastic. I'd definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Really a Quality Hostel - Perfect Location for being in San Juan - everything was perfect for our group - We stayed over two different weekends and the staff was friendly, helpful, and efficient - It really was a highlight to our stay on the island! The elevator was an adventure in itself :-)
  • 100%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was a great experience. Only problem was the cabbie directed us to the wrong door, Once we called, the staff came right over to help.. The other guests were kind and fun to visit with, and were respectful of quiet hours. the kitchen was immaculate. the maid cleaned the floors/bathroom daily. They stored our luggage and let me keep meds in the fridge after checkout, as our ship didn't leave til 8 pm. Old bldg, so the bathroom wasn't shiny new. Super balcony to share w great view.
  • 100%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Marie USA
  • This place is simply amazing! The two most important things are the cleanliness and the staff! The shared kitchen and the washrooms were always clean! The location is great for Old San Juan. Of course, you need to think about taxis ($$$) if you are going to Santurce, Downtown or Condado at night, but during the day, the public bus system situated a 10 minute walk from the hotel is perfect! Plus, Piazza Colon is just in front so you can book tours and they will often pick you up there.
  • 97%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • We stayed in a private room here for 1 night and were very impressed with how nice it was. There was an incredible amount of room, things were very clean and the views from the balcony were amazing. This hostel is in a great location also. I had originally booked 2 different nights but flights got delayed and had to change my dates last minute. The staff was able to change one of my nights and cancel the other with no problem. I highly recommend this place.
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Kyle USA
  • Great Location! Everything in old San Juan within walking distance. Shared bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, but our room was a nice size and clean.
  • 83%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Jeffrey USA
  • Recommended by a friend and was definitely great value for the money.
  • 94%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great value and wonderful staff, will definitely use again.
  • 91%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Marla USA
  • Excellent. Would stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 08 Feb 2014 SHEALA USA
  • great place nice atmosphere and people in the hostel, Quite ssleeping are great commons to converse and close to the action.
  • 100%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic place in a perfect part of old San Juan. It was clean and comfortable for a hostel. The wifi really only worked from the 5th floor but that wasn't a big deal. The staff was good...could have been a little more friendly. The girl that worked at night (I think she was from North Carolina and her name was Tatia or something like that) was very nice and helpful. I would stay there longer if I had time,
  • 89%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great location! Great value.
  • 97%
  • 01 Feb 2014 Ryan Canada
  • Great hostel! Great location!! would recommend to friends, and I had a get time. the Wifi password didn't work on the 6th floor, but that's okay since it didn't really disrupt my trip or anything. Thanks again!
  • 91%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved everything about this place......What a perfect place. Close to everything you want to see in Old San Juan. Clean, safe.....and the Kitchen was a bonus......I have recommended this to everyone I met traveling.....
  • 100%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best hostel experiences I've had. Cheap rooms, excellent location inside Old San Juan, clean beds and hot showers. Met some wonderful people here as well!
  • 94%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Allan USA
  • This was my first hostel so I didn't know what to expect. Location is awesome! The bathrooms, while public were very clean. Staff was friendly. My only major complaints are 1 the elevator is trerribly slow. 2 whole minutes to get to the sixth floor. 2. The floor in my room could use a good mopping. But I guess that's what flip flops are for
  • 71%
  • 16 Jan 2014 April USA
  • When looking for the rooms, it does not specify that u have to walk all the way to the top to check In, when we walked up we had no idea where to go or any one to talk to, till we saw this older lady walking up, and was able to help us! But other then that every one was really nice and the place was nice and affordable (;
  • 71%
  • 15 Jan 2014 daniel Mexico
  • The price for the location, building, and view is unbeatable. The rooms were simple, clean, and air conditioned. The common bathrooms were not well kept.
  • 74%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Corinne USA
  • My first experience in a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. Stayed in the 4 bed private room which was HUGE with two double beds and a small table & refrigerator. Traveling with my adult son and his friend and they enjoyed the social room with time to meet/greet other guests.
  • 89%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • right in the heart of old town, walking distance to all kinds of great stuff. amazing views from the 6th floor deck. we had a spacious private room with A/C and TV. shared bathrooms are clean. the place felt very secure, with keycard access at the main entrance, floor entry, and room entry. the front desk girl was very friendly and helpful. was a great value for our money!
  • 97%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Haley USA
  • Rudest way to greet guests ever! They don't understand one thing about customer service!! The owner kept on arguing me about my reservation and trying to prove to me how she's right instead of finding a solution. Water barely trickles down the shower head; it's easier to take a shower off the faucet on sink :| Don't go.
  • 54%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel is old and dingy, but the location and view from the balcony is great. I wouldn't stay here again because they are dishonest- Reception is not 24 hours and they charge extra in case you arrive after a certain time. The buzzer does not work and the elevator stopped working when we were there. They are also dishonest about the airport transfer- they don't offer transfers and were rude to me when I inquired. They don't tell you any of this until after you pay the non-refundable deposit.
  • 57%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Wonderful staff, great location. Would definitely stay again.
  • 94%
  • 16 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The views from this hostel are amazing !!! I stayed on the 6th floor and was able to relax on the balcony with those amazing views! The 4th floor common room was where everyone hangs out and parties if I didn't stop on that floor though being on the 6th floor I wouldn't of seen anyone. My only complaint is that the hostel owner hit on me many times in very innapropiate ways and as a female single traveler I was very weary of being anywhere alone where he was.
  • 91%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Danielle USA
  • The location of Posada is lovely. It's very close to everything you may want to do, as far as bars, restaurants and many touristic scenes. Everything is walking distance in the old town. The views are absolutely breathtaking during the day but especially at night. The only complaint I have is not being able to find the hostel easily. I was at the building but didn't know that I had to go to the 6th floor for the reception. I had to walk around and ask people.
  • 91%
  • 11 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Primo posada! Staff welcomed me as a walk-in during unexpected visit. Felt very safe as a solo woman. Incredible balcony views of harbor and Castillo San Cristobal, with trolly at corner. Plus bus terminal only a few blocks away, but you gotta give lots of wait time since guaguas are very unpredictable.
  • 100%
  • 08 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel in the heart of Old San Juan. The wifi connection was poor if you weren't on the 5th floor. But other than that the hostel staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • 80%
  • 04 Dec 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Great location in old San Juan. Near good places to eat and drink. Staff super nice. Many, many clean bathrooms. Rooms basic but comfortable. Could use a few hooks on the wall the hang towels, jackets, etc.
  • 97%
  • 01 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I love this hostel, it is very clean and the owners are very friendly. The location is excellent and the building is just gorgeous!! If I come back to Puerto Rico I will definitily stay in this hostel, great location for a good price.
  • 100%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great place! The dryer didn't work very well but it was all good. Great staff and beautiful building!
  • 86%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed there for the night. Very quick but pleasant stay.
  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Incredible location in Old San Juan just north from Plaza De Colon. Great viewed from balconies since on 5 & 6th floors. Older and scarey elevator does help take luggage up but other times we used the stairs. Everything you would want (dining, sight seeing, bars, culture, swimming) is within walking distance. Rooms on 6th floor had high ceilings. I think all bathrooms / showers are public ones. Would NOT bring a car since parking is harder to find and expensive compared to rest of island.
  • 94%
  • 18 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • We were here very briefly, but it is easy to find and the location is excellent. The staff is quite wonderful and everything was basic, but clean.
  • 89%
  • 17 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Amazing location in old San Juan (also you will either need to get a bike, rent a car or get on a bus (takes too long) to get to the beach). But old San Juan is beautiful and great on restaurants, shops and sights to see. The hostel is clean, very simple, but everything you need is there. You can even cook in the kitchen, which is also really clean. The view is also amazing. Things I found uncomfortable: the mattresses are too firm (my friend has back pain), water stream is too weak and cold.
  • 77%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Anonymous Russia
  • Can't beat this location, especially for such a good price.
  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Ryan USA
  • Awesome place.. I got every year but first time I went solo and it was well worth it. Great location price atmosphere and staff for a quick getaway.
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2013 rebecca USA
  • Very well organized hostel, great location
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2013 Andreja Serbia
  • Very good location, but there is no sign to find the building. No name on the entrance...
  • 100%
  • 06 Nov 2013 Pierre Antoine France
  • The staff was friendly and knowledgably about the location. The hostile was clean and well maintained. It was what I expected. The view of the harbor was beautiful. The views from the balconies were outstanding. However, better signage and a working intercom would have been helpful. Also, Hostile.com needs to update the phone number for the facility ASAP. I would use the facility again.
  • 91%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I'd stay there again without hesitation. If you are brining a car, map out the garage locations ahead of time. There are no street signs in that part of Old San Juan. The garages are near the hostel and quite reasonable in cost, but very difficult to find in the dark.
  • 89%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • You cannot beat the location or the view. It is a very sociable place, too. And despite being in the closest room to the hangout spot (the balcony), it was never too noisy because the smooth-sounding white-noise AC in the room drowned out everything. The bunk beds are so sturdy you never feel a thing when the person above you goes up the steps or rolls around. The staff is great, too. I have no complaints.
  • 100%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I have done a lot of traveling and for fear of sounding like an advertisement this is easily the best, cleanest and least expensive hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff are great and were extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking to spend time in Old San Juan and the surrounding area.
  • 100%
  • 05 Oct 2013 Ben Canada
  • Stayed here for two before my cruise and then two days after. Everything about this Hostel is great. The staff is very nice and helpful. The location is great, old San Juan is beautiful. I'll be staying here next time in town.
  • 100%
  • 04 Oct 2013 Thomas
  • CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! Location in center of Old San Juan. Perfect! Owners clean daily and leave cleaning wipes in each bathroom for you to wipe common area before or after use. Each room has individual AC unit and is located away from the kitchen and common area. This allows those who want to hang out late be separate without disturbing those who want to go to bed or be in a quiet room. I cancelled my other hostel accommodations and stayed at Posado!
  • 100%
  • 03 Oct 2013 lisa USA
  • No smoking zone would be nice, and A/C throughout.
  • 77%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Said USA
  • Posada SF is a very convenient place to stay especially if you don't have a car to get around San Juan because it's right in the middle of Old San Juan (close to El Morro, Castillo San Cristobal and lots of good restaurants). The front desk was very efficient and always there to assist you; the lady owner is very nice and she gives all sort of tips to experience San Juan and Puerto Rico. Also the shared bathroom is clean; they constantly cleaned it throughout the day! Yeay! Highly recommended!
  • 86%
  • 20 Aug 2013 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The best hostel I've ever stayed in. I liked the no-nonsense email that laid out all the rules before getting there, and the instructions for how to find the hostel were very helpful. The two staff members I dealed with directly (one whose husband was from Iowa, and one who had just started work that day) were amazingly friendly. The balconies were gorgeous. If I ever come back to Puerto Rico, I'll stay at this hostel longer than 3 nights.
  • 100%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Wonderful people and a very social setting! Always something to do and somewhere to go. Kitchen could use some updating but all in all wonderful stay!
  • 83%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Lisa USA
  • Very nice location, very kind and helpful staff, I highly recommend it.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jul 2013 Anonymous Romania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »