See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 87% from 36 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The bag lock up policy is brutal if you loose the card to your bag. I did and I'll admit it was my fault, but charging someone $20 for loosing a plastic card is a little too harsh in my opinion. Also no personal lockers so no keeping my stuff safe in my room. Also they had a minuscule breakfast that was nice, but very limited. I had to go out and buy my own anyway. If they could fix those policies I'd give them a great rating, but for now I'd say 2/5.
  • 60%
  • 23 Nov 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Perfect hostel. The landlady is so nice and amazing views !!
  • 91%
  • 20 Sep 2016 Anonymous France
  • Posada San Francisco is an ideal place to stay in Old San Juan. Of course the location is excellent. But the staff is very friendly and welcoming. I feel safe with the security from the street. I also feel that there is a concern about quietness, respectfulness about the shared areas, and cleanliness that I appreciate. I experienced and witnessed the staff being helpful and informative about San Juan and Puerto Rico.
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2016 Harriet USA
  • We got the private room (61) right next to the bathroom. The room was very clean. The bathroom was extremely clean and it seems as if they normally clean it several times a day. There were clorax wipes next to the toilet and a basket full of small hand towels to step on after the shower. And then another little basket to throw in your used towels. The room was super clean and we each got a towel. Nice clean blankets and comfortable. It was very quiet and we didn't really run into Ppl. Peaceful:)
  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2016 Nicole
  • It's always a delight to stay at la Posada. I very much like the new kitchen and common area on the fifth floor.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jul 2016 Alexander USA
  • Good band for your buck. In a beautiful area, but I wouldn't choose to stay in this area for more than 3 nights if you have an extended stay... it's worth spending a couple nights in Condado /closer to where locals go out at night. Staff is fine but not overtly accommodating, but the facilities are fine-- bathrooms could be cleaner tho.
  • 69%
  • 29 Jun 2016 Adam USA
  • It's not the cleanest place ever but the location is good, just at the corner of Old San Juan, bathrooms are plenty and provide provide disinfection paper towels. Private rooms have a refrigerator. Overall ok for the money you pay. Be careful of you book a tour and make sure the description fits what you will really get.
  • 66%
  • 27 Jun 2016 Susanne Germany
  • Great location in old San juan. Views of the Port and fort from the balcony. AC, TV, and fridge in private room we had. Small cots for beds but more than enough for just sleeping and relaxing. Tours that are offered from the lobby are great. the PIG OUT TOUR was great and the company was fun and easy to work with. Don't need many days in San Juan to see San Juan. Rent a car or have transportation to other parts of the Island to see the beaches, bio bay, etc. Great time overall.
  • 77%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Craig USA
  • The building the hostel is in was beautiful. Staff is helpful. It's great that they allow you to store your luggage there in a locked area the day you are coming or leaving so you don't have to lug it around. Yes the showers don't get hot water, but San Juan is hot, it's refreshing to have a cool shower! The rooms have a/c which is great. I will say the beds aren't great for the private rooms- they are a little small and not super comfy but you're also not paying much for the room.
  • 89%
  • 26 Apr 2016 Georgia USA
  • The only thing which is difficult about this location is finding parking, but with a little walking, it was fine! I also wouldn't recommend bringing any giant suitcases with you, as you have to go up four-six flights of stairs. Otherwise, the location was great, everything was ready for us upon our arrival, and it felt secure as you needed a chip key (like a hotel) to get into the hallways with rooms. I would definitely stay here again, and it is close to everything in Old San Juan!
  • 94%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great time! I stayed in a private room the first night and it was beautiful, then stayed in a shared room the second night. The hostel is very clean, with a beautiful view and location is okay if viejo San Juan is what you care about.
  • 91%
  • 16 Mar 2016 Amanda USA
  • Great location and great security. There were two showers for the whole floor and one didn't have any hot water. The sink for one of the three toilets also didn't have hot water. There is no WIFI in the rooms, only in the common area. The washing machine is broken. The elevator is very old and would break every other day. Big open kitchen if you want to do some cooking. Beautiful balcony for looking out over the city. And great common area to talk with other guests.
  • 69%
  • 29 Feb 2016 Matthew USA
  • This was my first time at a hostel, staff was very accommodating when my friend and I checked in at 12am (via reservation). For a hostel, worth the price. Water pressure was a little low but I can deal. Also had my first dorm-style stay. That was weird but still a great experience. I felt safe (probably because I had a friend with me). But great location, great staff, great price!
  • 83%
  • 19 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic location, well priced, friendly, helpful & knowledgeable staff.
  • 91%
  • 15 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Fun times at this hostel. The closest thing to home in Puerto Rico so far for me. The staff is great, Virginia, Martin, Angel, Dania, Julia, and the ladies whom I forget there name were great. If your staying in Puerto Rico its a must to stay here.
  • 100%
  • 05 Feb 2016 Dan USA
  • Perfect location and beautiful view from balconies!
  • 86%
  • 03 Feb 2016 Anna Poland
  • Water pressure sometimes none existent. Temp of water cold to lukewarm. With the evelator being unreliable, having a place to lock items at the entrance level would be helpful.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jan 2016 Anonymous Puerto Rico
  • This hostel was great! We had an awesome view from the floor balcony and the location was perfect! The hostel is right next to the San Cristobal fort, in front of a great plaza, and walking distance to a ton og great restaurants. The private room was huge and had great a/c. The bathroom was kept in good condition. Walking up and down 5 flight of stairs everyday was a great change to constantly using elevators. Con:The bed was a little uncomfortable.
  • 97%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Alicia USA
  • Had a great stay! Great location and fun atmosphere! Clean and safe :) air conditioning was great!
  • 97%
  • 12 Jan 2016 Alexandra USA
  • Excellent location ,very beautiful, you can't ask anymore.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jan 2016 ledgardo USA
  • It is in the best location! I was able to book tours ahead of time and it was so easy to walk to the pickup locations! It's also by really good food. Here are my complaints: there are no shelves or tables in any bathrooms or rooms for putting your things. Often the floor is wet or dirty In both of those places so it was difficult to change and shower! The air gets chilly at night so I suggest bringing an extra blanket. Someone stole my food, so be wary of that. Otherwise it was a nice place.
  • 83%
  • 08 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • DANIA is has always been friendly and professional. This will be my third time.... The bus system has been changing a lot.. I believe for the better but, they haven't even figured it out! So always ask three times. Also ask ' DO YOU GO NEAR......' if you ask a bus driver if they go to say Walmart they will probably say NO But, they go two blocks away!!!!! The updates to the updates to the updates are sometimes out of date !!!
  • 89%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Denny US Virgin Islands
  • Great location. Very clean.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I arrived around 6:30am, I called and a woman answered and told me I wasn't allowed to come inside until 9am, I asked her if I could drop off my baggage and she rudely said no and that guests were sleeping and suggested I could book another hostel even though I had reservations! When I came back to check in at 3pm she was too busy on her phone trying to schedule a personal call. I stood in front of her for over 7 minutes until she finally said "Do you need help? this is the large white woman
  • 60%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Yolanda USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »