See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 86% from 56 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fun times at this hostel. The closest thing to home in Puerto Rico so far for me. The staff is great, Virginia, Martin, Angel, Dania, Julia, and the ladies whom I forget there name were great. If your staying in Puerto Rico its a must to stay here.
  • 100%
  • 05 Feb 2016 Dan USA
  • Water pressure sometimes none existent. Temp of water cold to lukewarm. With the evelator being unreliable, having a place to lock items at the entrance level would be helpful.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jan 2016 Anonymous Puerto Rico
  • This hostel was great! We had an awesome view from the floor balcony and the location was perfect! The hostel is right next to the San Cristobal fort, in front of a great plaza, and walking distance to a ton og great restaurants. The private room was huge and had great a/c. The bathroom was kept in good condition. Walking up and down 5 flight of stairs everyday was a great change to constantly using elevators. Con:The bed was a little uncomfortable.
  • 97%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Alicia USA
  • Had a great stay! Great location and fun atmosphere! Clean and safe :) air conditioning was great!
  • 97%
  • 12 Jan 2016 Alexandra USA
  • Excellent location ,very beautiful, you can't ask anymore.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jan 2016 ledgardo USA
  • It is in the best location! I was able to book tours ahead of time and it was so easy to walk to the pickup locations! It's also by really good food. Here are my complaints: there are no shelves or tables in any bathrooms or rooms for putting your things. Often the floor is wet or dirty In both of those places so it was difficult to change and shower! The air gets chilly at night so I suggest bringing an extra blanket. Someone stole my food, so be wary of that. Otherwise it was a nice place.
  • 83%
  • 08 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • DANIA is has always been friendly and professional. This will be my third time.... The bus system has been changing a lot.. I believe for the better but, they haven't even figured it out! So always ask three times. Also ask ' DO YOU GO NEAR......' if you ask a bus driver if they go to say Walmart they will probably say NO But, they go two blocks away!!!!! The updates to the updates to the updates are sometimes out of date !!!
  • 89%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Denny US Virgin Islands
  • Great location. Very clean.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I arrived around 6:30am, I called and a woman answered and told me I wasn't allowed to come inside until 9am, I asked her if I could drop off my baggage and she rudely said no and that guests were sleeping and suggested I could book another hostel even though I had reservations! When I came back to check in at 3pm she was too busy on her phone trying to schedule a personal call. I stood in front of her for over 7 minutes until she finally said "Do you need help? this is the large white woman
  • 60%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Yolanda USA
  • Simple and great. Bare bones sure but it's a hostel!
  • 89%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Ethan USA
  • We have stayed here before We love the location and the accommodations are No thrills but fine for 1 or 2 nights. Great value for the money The main entrance gate lock was broken which which would have allowed anyone access to any floor /bathrooms common areas but no problems We would stay again
  • 77%
  • 27 Nov 2015 susan USA
  • I rate security poor because the front gate was broken but outside of that the place was great. Would stay another 8 days anytime.
  • 86%
  • 25 Nov 2015 Pete USA
  • This hostel is wonderful! The staff didn't have a lot of extra information for tours and such, but they really did an excellent job of getting travelers to hang out. I strongly recommend this hostel.
  • 89%
  • 24 Nov 2015 Erin
  • I love staying here because the staff are so helpful and friendly. The facilities are very clean. Their willingness to store luggage and refrigerate medication is so helpful. It is not a luxury facility, but for the price you pay, it is a very good deal. The view from the balcony is great, and the other folks staying there are friendly and helpful. So the elevator can be a pain, but what place is perfect?
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Marie USA
  • Love It, location is amazing and you have a great kitchen and shared areas are great,may clean bathrooms allover..A+ Thank You for the awesome experience!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Really well located, the owner is kind and make us feel at ease. It is nice that there is cooking facilities but the cooking pans is a bit useless… won't be nice to buy new one for the travelers use.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Marie-eve Canada
  • I stayed at this hostel for a week and it was relaxing. Got to meet new people and enjoy san juan but the rooms are extremely small like SUPER small the rool that one of my friend had use to be a laundry room and it looked like a closet. Hate the rooms love the location, so if you dont mind sleeping in a super small space this hostel could work for you.
  • 71%
  • 05 Aug 2015 aimee
  • For what you pay for it's a great value. I traveled alone, and was kind of afraid that I'd be alone in PR where people usually go for luxury tropical vacation for a week, but I ended up meeting nice backpackers all around the world and making friends with them. The atmosphere is great. There isn't any event going on hosted by the hostel, but you would still meet lots of people.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Located in the center of Old San Juan right next to Fort San Cristobal and close to every attraction, good cafes and restaurants in the area. Central bus terminal can be reached in 5 mins by foot where you can take buses to Condado and Isla Verde, free trolly running every 15 mins stops nearby. The place is laid back, full of people traveling alone in a nice common room. AC is more than just working well. So make sure to bring your blanket if you're sensitive to cold. Plus staffs are lovely.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Could be more communal, the staff could have more recommendations for guests. Slightly pricey for having a single tiny room.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, in old San Juan, near the old castle. Facility is in a beautiful Spanish style structure, however on the inside, everything is outdated, including the bathrooms, and could use a makeover. Water pressure in the shower was somewhat poor. bathrooms were okay I'm term of cleanliness but there was not enought tissues. A/C was working well in both rooms I stayed. Overall, best feature is location, otherwise, hostel could use a makeover.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous
  • It was a decent hostel with a good owner-- though there was a strictly enforced rule to leave during the middle (and most hot) part of the day. It was clean, and the balcony is a real treat. The location is just fine, but girls be carfeful walking alone at night.
  • 77%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Leah USA
  • It is a very beautiful old building in the old San Juan, on Plaza Colon and at a walk distance to bars, restaurants, shops and the two old castles. Great view, great location and cheap. Taxis are parked immediately downstairs. Very quiet and clean. Good internet access in the common areas.The only thing to bear in mind is that sometimes there is a temporary interruption of water due to water shortage in the area, but it happened just once in 6 days.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Michela Italy
  • Great hostel in great location at Plaza Colon, very clean!
  • 89%
  • 25 May 2015 Nicola Germany
  • I stayed at this location for Memorial weekend 2015. I loved the location, we walked to San Cristobal, El Morro, local bars like Nu Yorican Café etc. I loved the view from our floor(5th floor) I loved how in order to get into your floor you needed a key(we felt very safe). We had a half bathroom next to us and the full bathroom at the end of the hall. The TV did not work in the 5th floor area and the shower was not washed out completely one day. The price, location & safety was worth the money!
  • 77%
  • 21 May 2015 MARIA Peru
  • The location of Posada San Francisco is great- it's situated in the heart of Old San Juan, and is within walking distance of all of the history and culture that the city is known and loved for. It has balconies on every floor which offered a place to relax, overlook the plaza and enjoy the breeze coming off of the water. Didn't use the kitchen; however one is available for use. The single dormitory was clean with A/C, but a bit creepy with a cross hanging over the bed.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2015 Jenell USA
  • Very good hostel! Bad things: They don't change towels and there's no bedrooms with bath (suites)
  • 89%
  • 19 Apr 2015 RAPHAEL Brazil
  • Great place to stay. I had the best time!
  • 100%
  • 13 Apr 2015 Anonymous US Virgin Islands
  • No hot showers when I stayed there. Private rooms are two expensive if you have more than one person staying in a room.
  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We enjoyed our stay. We came for one night and the room we were in was not the best - the air conditioner was on a very warm setting and we couldn't reach it to change the temperature. Our refrigerator didn't work. We left to go to Vieques for a night and then came back to Posada San Fransisco for a couple more nights. This time the room was better - we could reach the air conditioner and our fridge worked well. Both times we were on the 4th floor and the showers were cold and one didn't work.
  • 83%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The e=mail sent a week before arrival is off-putting; very unfriendly in tone. However the staff are in fact very pleasant. Unless you're a backpacker, the fact that check-in's on the 6th floor and the elevator may not be working is a drawback (it was working during our stay).
  • 80%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I think a little investment in the plumbing, and the elevator will catapult this hostel to new heights.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Place waa awesome. Had a kitchen, multiple bathroom. I stayed at a 2 bed room and it was nice. Little dusty, but overall well put. However the one bed room place isnt that great... seems like an old bathroom or some closet...The owner was nice enough to help us get another night to stay.
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great experience. We only stayed for a night but ended up meeting some people from our university. Thanks for checking us in in the middle of the night!! It was so kind.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Sabeen USA
  • This was a great hostel! The location was fantastic, and the facilities were very clean. A big shout-out to the staff as well for being friendly and accommodating. There are several convenient hangout areas as well which was great as a solo traveler. I'd absolutely stay here again and recommend Posada San Francisco to anyone looking for an affordable and enjoyable place to stay in Old San Juan.
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We really enjoyed our stay at the hostel. Very safe, wonderful location! The facilities were great and we appreciated their honesty in the listing. Everything was as we expected it to be and it was a great experience. We really enjoyed our trip, and the hostel was a big part of that. Thanks so much!
  • 86%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed here in a private double for five nights and had a great time! If you're looking to save money on accommodations in order to splurge on day trips and restaurants, then the Posada San Fransisco is the perfect way to do it. It isn't that social of a hostel if you're staying on the sixth floor, but the fourth floor has a bit more going on. The view of Plaza Colòn is gorgeous and the proximity to great bars restaurants/galleries/ the forts is unbeatable.
  • 91%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Mackenzie USA
  • Posada San Francisco is in a fantastic location and security is excellent. For two women travelling alone,we felt very secure. We had a standard private room - beds were par, pillows and blankets on the sub-par side. When using the AC at night, we could have used an actual blanket rather than a bedspread. The bathrooms were pretty clean, water pressure varied. Don't count on the elevator. Private rooms on the 6th floor. All things considered, it was an excellent value for the price. Staff nice
  • 89%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • the location was exactly what we anticipated. great view from the balcony;you are right on the main drag of old san juan! nice kitchen, decent rooms for the price..i would just suggest bringing a blanket (luckily we brought one with us, without it we would have been cold). Our biggest issue was with the shower; very low pressure and tough to find the right balance of water temp. Also, parking can be a pain if you have a car. Overall, we would recommend it as a good budget option!
  • 80%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had an amazing stay at this hostel! The people were incredible, the setup was excellent; Clean sheets, plenty of bathrooms to use, beautiful view in the common area. Kitchen area was nice. Cannot beat it for the price!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2015 James USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »