See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 87% from 45 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The building the hostel is in was beautiful. Staff is helpful. It's great that they allow you to store your luggage there in a locked area the day you are coming or leaving so you don't have to lug it around. Yes the showers don't get hot water, but San Juan is hot, it's refreshing to have a cool shower! The rooms have a/c which is great. I will say the beds aren't great for the private rooms- they are a little small and not super comfy but you're also not paying much for the room.
  • 89%
  • 26 Apr 2016 Georgia USA
  • The only thing which is difficult about this location is finding parking, but with a little walking, it was fine! I also wouldn't recommend bringing any giant suitcases with you, as you have to go up four-six flights of stairs. Otherwise, the location was great, everything was ready for us upon our arrival, and it felt secure as you needed a chip key (like a hotel) to get into the hallways with rooms. I would definitely stay here again, and it is close to everything in Old San Juan!
  • 94%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great time! I stayed in a private room the first night and it was beautiful, then stayed in a shared room the second night. The hostel is very clean, with a beautiful view and location is okay if viejo San Juan is what you care about.
  • 91%
  • 16 Mar 2016 Amanda USA
  • Great location and great security. There were two showers for the whole floor and one didn't have any hot water. The sink for one of the three toilets also didn't have hot water. There is no WIFI in the rooms, only in the common area. The washing machine is broken. The elevator is very old and would break every other day. Big open kitchen if you want to do some cooking. Beautiful balcony for looking out over the city. And great common area to talk with other guests.
  • 69%
  • 29 Feb 2016 Matthew USA
  • This was my first time at a hostel, staff was very accommodating when my friend and I checked in at 12am (via reservation). For a hostel, worth the price. Water pressure was a little low but I can deal. Also had my first dorm-style stay. That was weird but still a great experience. I felt safe (probably because I had a friend with me). But great location, great staff, great price!
  • 83%
  • 19 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic location, well priced, friendly, helpful & knowledgeable staff.
  • 91%
  • 15 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Fun times at this hostel. The closest thing to home in Puerto Rico so far for me. The staff is great, Virginia, Martin, Angel, Dania, Julia, and the ladies whom I forget there name were great. If your staying in Puerto Rico its a must to stay here.
  • 100%
  • 05 Feb 2016 Dan USA
  • Perfect location and beautiful view from balconies!
  • 86%
  • 03 Feb 2016 Anna Poland
  • Water pressure sometimes none existent. Temp of water cold to lukewarm. With the evelator being unreliable, having a place to lock items at the entrance level would be helpful.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jan 2016 Anonymous Puerto Rico
  • This hostel was great! We had an awesome view from the floor balcony and the location was perfect! The hostel is right next to the San Cristobal fort, in front of a great plaza, and walking distance to a ton og great restaurants. The private room was huge and had great a/c. The bathroom was kept in good condition. Walking up and down 5 flight of stairs everyday was a great change to constantly using elevators. Con:The bed was a little uncomfortable.
  • 97%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Alicia USA
  • Had a great stay! Great location and fun atmosphere! Clean and safe :) air conditioning was great!
  • 97%
  • 12 Jan 2016 Alexandra USA
  • Excellent location ,very beautiful, you can't ask anymore.
  • 94%
  • 11 Jan 2016 ledgardo USA
  • It is in the best location! I was able to book tours ahead of time and it was so easy to walk to the pickup locations! It's also by really good food. Here are my complaints: there are no shelves or tables in any bathrooms or rooms for putting your things. Often the floor is wet or dirty In both of those places so it was difficult to change and shower! The air gets chilly at night so I suggest bringing an extra blanket. Someone stole my food, so be wary of that. Otherwise it was a nice place.
  • 83%
  • 08 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • DANIA is has always been friendly and professional. This will be my third time.... The bus system has been changing a lot.. I believe for the better but, they haven't even figured it out! So always ask three times. Also ask ' DO YOU GO NEAR......' if you ask a bus driver if they go to say Walmart they will probably say NO But, they go two blocks away!!!!! The updates to the updates to the updates are sometimes out of date !!!
  • 89%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Denny US Virgin Islands
  • Great location. Very clean.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I arrived around 6:30am, I called and a woman answered and told me I wasn't allowed to come inside until 9am, I asked her if I could drop off my baggage and she rudely said no and that guests were sleeping and suggested I could book another hostel even though I had reservations! When I came back to check in at 3pm she was too busy on her phone trying to schedule a personal call. I stood in front of her for over 7 minutes until she finally said "Do you need help? this is the large white woman
  • 60%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Yolanda USA
  • Simple and great. Bare bones sure but it's a hostel!
  • 89%
  • 01 Dec 2015 Ethan USA
  • We have stayed here before We love the location and the accommodations are No thrills but fine for 1 or 2 nights. Great value for the money The main entrance gate lock was broken which which would have allowed anyone access to any floor /bathrooms common areas but no problems We would stay again
  • 77%
  • 27 Nov 2015 susan USA
  • I rate security poor because the front gate was broken but outside of that the place was great. Would stay another 8 days anytime.
  • 86%
  • 25 Nov 2015 Pete USA
  • This hostel is wonderful! The staff didn't have a lot of extra information for tours and such, but they really did an excellent job of getting travelers to hang out. I strongly recommend this hostel.
  • 89%
  • 24 Nov 2015 Erin
  • I love staying here because the staff are so helpful and friendly. The facilities are very clean. Their willingness to store luggage and refrigerate medication is so helpful. It is not a luxury facility, but for the price you pay, it is a very good deal. The view from the balcony is great, and the other folks staying there are friendly and helpful. So the elevator can be a pain, but what place is perfect?
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Marie USA
  • Love It, location is amazing and you have a great kitchen and shared areas are great,may clean bathrooms allover..A+ Thank You for the awesome experience!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Really well located, the owner is kind and make us feel at ease. It is nice that there is cooking facilities but the cooking pans is a bit useless… won't be nice to buy new one for the travelers use.
  • 77%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Marie-eve Canada
  • I stayed at this hostel for a week and it was relaxing. Got to meet new people and enjoy san juan but the rooms are extremely small like SUPER small the rool that one of my friend had use to be a laundry room and it looked like a closet. Hate the rooms love the location, so if you dont mind sleeping in a super small space this hostel could work for you.
  • 71%
  • 05 Aug 2015 aimee
  • For what you pay for it's a great value. I traveled alone, and was kind of afraid that I'd be alone in PR where people usually go for luxury tropical vacation for a week, but I ended up meeting nice backpackers all around the world and making friends with them. The atmosphere is great. There isn't any event going on hosted by the hostel, but you would still meet lots of people.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Located in the center of Old San Juan right next to Fort San Cristobal and close to every attraction, good cafes and restaurants in the area. Central bus terminal can be reached in 5 mins by foot where you can take buses to Condado and Isla Verde, free trolly running every 15 mins stops nearby. The place is laid back, full of people traveling alone in a nice common room. AC is more than just working well. So make sure to bring your blanket if you're sensitive to cold. Plus staffs are lovely.
  • 91%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • Could be more communal, the staff could have more recommendations for guests. Slightly pricey for having a single tiny room.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, in old San Juan, near the old castle. Facility is in a beautiful Spanish style structure, however on the inside, everything is outdated, including the bathrooms, and could use a makeover. Water pressure in the shower was somewhat poor. bathrooms were okay I'm term of cleanliness but there was not enought tissues. A/C was working well in both rooms I stayed. Overall, best feature is location, otherwise, hostel could use a makeover.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous
  • It was a decent hostel with a good owner-- though there was a strictly enforced rule to leave during the middle (and most hot) part of the day. It was clean, and the balcony is a real treat. The location is just fine, but girls be carfeful walking alone at night.
  • 77%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Leah USA
  • It is a very beautiful old building in the old San Juan, on Plaza Colon and at a walk distance to bars, restaurants, shops and the two old castles. Great view, great location and cheap. Taxis are parked immediately downstairs. Very quiet and clean. Good internet access in the common areas.The only thing to bear in mind is that sometimes there is a temporary interruption of water due to water shortage in the area, but it happened just once in 6 days.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2015 Michela Italy
  • Great hostel in great location at Plaza Colon, very clean!
  • 89%
  • 25 May 2015 Nicola Germany
  • I stayed at this location for Memorial weekend 2015. I loved the location, we walked to San Cristobal, El Morro, local bars like Nu Yorican Café etc. I loved the view from our floor(5th floor) I loved how in order to get into your floor you needed a key(we felt very safe). We had a half bathroom next to us and the full bathroom at the end of the hall. The TV did not work in the 5th floor area and the shower was not washed out completely one day. The price, location & safety was worth the money!
  • 77%
  • 21 May 2015 MARIA Peru
  • The location of Posada San Francisco is great- it's situated in the heart of Old San Juan, and is within walking distance of all of the history and culture that the city is known and loved for. It has balconies on every floor which offered a place to relax, overlook the plaza and enjoy the breeze coming off of the water. Didn't use the kitchen; however one is available for use. The single dormitory was clean with A/C, but a bit creepy with a cross hanging over the bed.
  • 80%
  • 08 May 2015 Jenell USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »