See other San Juan properties

Posada San Francisco

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 88% from 80 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place to stay. I had the best time!
  • 100%
  • 13 Apr 2015 Anonymous US Virgin Islands
  • No hot showers when I stayed there. Private rooms are two expensive if you have more than one person staying in a room.
  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We enjoyed our stay. We came for one night and the room we were in was not the best - the air conditioner was on a very warm setting and we couldn't reach it to change the temperature. Our refrigerator didn't work. We left to go to Vieques for a night and then came back to Posada San Fransisco for a couple more nights. This time the room was better - we could reach the air conditioner and our fridge worked well. Both times we were on the 4th floor and the showers were cold and one didn't work.
  • 83%
  • 19 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The e=mail sent a week before arrival is off-putting; very unfriendly in tone. However the staff are in fact very pleasant. Unless you're a backpacker, the fact that check-in's on the 6th floor and the elevator may not be working is a drawback (it was working during our stay).
  • 80%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I think a little investment in the plumbing, and the elevator will catapult this hostel to new heights.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Place waa awesome. Had a kitchen, multiple bathroom. I stayed at a 2 bed room and it was nice. Little dusty, but overall well put. However the one bed room place isnt that great... seems like an old bathroom or some closet...The owner was nice enough to help us get another night to stay.
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great experience. We only stayed for a night but ended up meeting some people from our university. Thanks for checking us in in the middle of the night!! It was so kind.
  • 89%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Sabeen USA
  • This was a great hostel! The location was fantastic, and the facilities were very clean. A big shout-out to the staff as well for being friendly and accommodating. There are several convenient hangout areas as well which was great as a solo traveler. I'd absolutely stay here again and recommend Posada San Francisco to anyone looking for an affordable and enjoyable place to stay in Old San Juan.
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed here in a private double for five nights and had a great time! If you're looking to save money on accommodations in order to splurge on day trips and restaurants, then the Posada San Fransisco is the perfect way to do it. It isn't that social of a hostel if you're staying on the sixth floor, but the fourth floor has a bit more going on. The view of Plaza Colòn is gorgeous and the proximity to great bars restaurants/galleries/ the forts is unbeatable.
  • 91%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Mackenzie USA
  • Posada San Francisco is in a fantastic location and security is excellent. For two women travelling alone,we felt very secure. We had a standard private room - beds were par, pillows and blankets on the sub-par side. When using the AC at night, we could have used an actual blanket rather than a bedspread. The bathrooms were pretty clean, water pressure varied. Don't count on the elevator. Private rooms on the 6th floor. All things considered, it was an excellent value for the price. Staff nice
  • 89%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • the location was exactly what we anticipated. great view from the balcony;you are right on the main drag of old san juan! nice kitchen, decent rooms for the price..i would just suggest bringing a blanket (luckily we brought one with us, without it we would have been cold). Our biggest issue was with the shower; very low pressure and tough to find the right balance of water temp. Also, parking can be a pain if you have a car. Overall, we would recommend it as a good budget option!
  • 80%
  • 17 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had an amazing stay at this hostel! The people were incredible, the setup was excellent; Clean sheets, plenty of bathrooms to use, beautiful view in the common area. Kitchen area was nice. Cannot beat it for the price!
  • 100%
  • 12 Feb 2015 James USA
  • Pros: Well-run hostel with helpful staff. Location can't be beat. Good prices, lockers (small), newer laundry machines. Cons: Elevator is unreliable. No 24-hour desk attendant, so be very careful not to misplace your key and get locked out. For better or worse, this place lacks the usual hostel atmosphere -- you'll have to be very outgoing if you want to get acquainted with other travelers. People mostly just keep to themselves here.
  • 89%
  • 09 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • We very much enjoyed our one night stay. The rooms was nice and it was helpful to have the shelf by the bed, along with the chair and fridge. Clean bathrooms were great as well.
  • 83%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous
  • Oh, how i miss Posada San Francisco already and it's only been one day! I had read all of the reviews and found them most complimentary, so trusted it would be a good experience for a solo traveler. AND IT WAS TERRIFIC!!! The location, accommodations, cost, friendliness of staff, and daily attention to cleanliness make Posada an ideal stay for a day, week, month, or.. I met wonderful people of all ages and from many countries which invited great conversations, sharing food and fun times.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Eileen USA
  • I absolutely loved this place!
  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Sara Leonard USA
  • I have been in some hostels in hawaii, miami, Europe, etc. this is one of the best that I have been. Excellent location, good price, super clean. He estado en varios hostages en hawaii, Europa, USA. Definitivamente, este es uno de Los mejores en los q he estado. Super limpio y organizado. Muy económico por lo que ofrece..
  • 97%
  • 28 Dec 2014 edgar Colombia
  • If you can't stand noisy air conditioning all night long, get yourself a single room rather than a dorm. I couldn't sleep more than two hours in a row. Sorry! The rest is perfect. And Old San Juan rocks.
  • 83%
  • 28 Dec 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • I stayed in this hostel only for one night, it seemed very good for the amount I paid. The only bad thing about it is that they ask you to call so they can come down stairs and open the door for you but if you are not from the states it can be a bit of a problem to arrive at midnight, have to ask somebody (in this case the taxi driver lent me his phone) so I can called them to open the door if not there wouldn't be a way for me to call them because I do not have an american phone.
  • 83%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Jose Luis Mexico
  • This was my first experience at a Hostel and the Posada San Francisco was a great place to stay in Old San Juan. Our family (6 of us) spent a week there prior to a Cruise and one day following. Could not ask for a better location in OSJ, walking distance to everywhere you would want to go... shopping, restaurants, nightlife, the beach. Very clean and safe place to stay. The next tile we visit Old San Juan, we will definitely stay at the Posada San Francisco again!
  • 100%
  • 20 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel in a good location. Checks all the boxes of a good hostel: feels clean and safe with responsive staff. And they have a big kitchen which is great because eating out in old san juan can be pricey.
  • 80%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel! Only minus: showers were not fully working (bad shower jet) and hot water in only one out of four showers. One room (out of three that we stayed in) smelled of old puke. The other two were great!
  • 94%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Julia Sweden
  • The hostel is in an excellent location. This was my first hostel experience and I thought it was amazing. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere is very friendly. I stayed in the 10 bed dorm and I think that is the best way to meet people. The hostel was clean, and accomadating. If I was to find something bad, the only thing I can think of was the times when there was very low pressure when taking a shower. Aside from that minor issue, I'd say for a first time hostel stay, it was great!
  • 91%
  • 10 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I have traveled and stayed at MANY hostels and this rates in the top 3!!!!
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Susan USA
  • All was fine especially the patios. Bathroom floors need to be scrubbed.
  • 80%
  • 30 Nov 2014 Linda USA
  • Absolutely phenomenal location overlooking Old San Juan. It is within walking distance of all the shops and eateries. Couldn't ask for a better location. Very clean and secure as well. Loved this place!
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Amazing location and fun group of people. You really can't beat the spot and the atmosphere. We booked two hostels and moved to the other for the 2nd half of our trip. We wished we hadn't done that because Posada was in such a convenient location. Hot water, clean facilities and great security, this is a great hostel!
  • 86%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The woman in charge of the hostel was very nice! I checked in very late, and she was still cheery and lovely to interact with. The accommodations were a good value for the cost, and it was nice to have the option of being in a female-only room. I wish I had stayed more than one night!
  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2014 Jordan USA
  • I LOVE THIS PLACE! Definitely will visit again because of the beautiful location, friendly staff, and bang for the buck. :)
  • 97%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Hannah
  • No one told me that the storage room cost any money. Then they wanted to claim 5 dollar per piece of luggage. I canceld a night, no refund at all. No possibility to change the dates of my booking.
  • 63%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Simon
  • The Posada is the best hostel on Puerto Rico bar none , the staff are awesome very friendly and helpful. LD was very helpful he went out of his way to make are trip carefree and he was very knowledgeable about all the different things to do on Puerto Rico. I would definitely come back.
  • 97%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel experience was great. I have been to other hostels in the past but this one surpassed them. Great location, great staff, safe and the people I meet while there were great. Definitely recommend if your going to Old San Juan this is the hostel to stay at.
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2014 jason USA
  • La Posada Hostel was a delight and conveniently located right in the heart of Old San Juan. Excellent value for the money. My recommendation is that the fridge be cleaned out on a more regular basis. It appears that leftover food may have been stored in there for a good while. Lastly I would suggest a larger assortment of kitchen pots and pans. There was no pasta strainer to be found nor were there any sizable pots with lids.
  • 91%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Alexander USA
  • The hostel and staff and everything else was the perfect. My friend and I enjoyed to stay there. They gave us all informations about puerto rico and improved our a short vacation.
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous
  • Good location, it's the tall building right at the top of Plaza Colon. The only issue on my short stay was not enough lockers for your valuables - 16 or so lockers is simply not enough for ~25 beds.
  • 74%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Easy to mingle with new friends. Excellent location, within walking distance of many historic sites.
  • 91%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Miguel Jair Mexico
  • Hostel was clean convenient and friendly. The elevator didnt work well, and a painting or picture in the room would have given it a much homier feel. Great value for the money and would highly recommend.
  • 80%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Katie
  • This is a beautiful hostel right in Old San Juan. The people we met staying there were awesome, and it had a really good vibe. The only negative thing I can say is that the staff weren't particularly helpful or interested in making you feel welcome. My friend and I had to arrive early because our flight got in at an inconvenient time, and the woman who let us in was very sassy and gave us a ton of attitude. Other than that, it is in a great location and a beautiful building.
  • 80%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Emma USA
  • The location was the best you can get. Amazing views. Very polite staff and clean facilities.
  • 94%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Location is perfect but there is nothing to do in Old San Juan. The staff was really bad. Despite there is "office hours" in a hostel?, the girl with glasses was giving wrong information about buses, transportation every time. Even though she works in a hostel, she doesn't know much about the city. Everytime we were getting information from her and when we double checked in tourism office, they were saying what she told was completely wrong. Her mistakes caused us a lot of time and money.
  • 63%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Anonymous Turkey
  • One of the best views in town!
  • 94%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Russell USA
  • Awesome service and staff. It's also located right in old San Juan I really couldn't ask for more.
  • 97%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent location, clean facility, fair price. The people were wonderful. I made many new friends and even some folks who went on to travel with me to other places. I highly recommend this place. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Nate USA
  • Very good location,good price,good atmosfere,friendly perspnnel
  • 100%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Robert Tomasz Poland
  • My 3 friends and I enjoyed our stay at this hostel during the beginning of July. The hostel room itself was clean upon arrival. The bathrooms, which are shared, reminded me of a bathroom at a friend's house where it is comfortable and had a "homey" atmosphere. There was never a time when a bathroom wasn't available and the bathrooms are constantly clean! It was an awesome hostel stay and I loved the island atomsphere it had with open windows throughout the halls and patterned tile floors.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay! Would definitely saty here again!
  • 100%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay in the middle of Old San Juan and a bus ride away from Isla Verde beach. Staff was friendly, rooms were okay but not much storage and only 2 outlets which were besides someone's pillow, so very awkward! Bathroom down the hall, probably only 2 for the whole floor seemed not enough, no soap or paper towels in the bathroom which I didn't like. The toilet paper is also paper thin so it will basically dissolve in your hands. Great views from lobby!
  • 80%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Yolanda USA
  • I will most definitely be staying here again. It was a good mix of different age groups (20 something's and 40 something's) such that it kept the young people responsible, but also created an inclusive environment. Everyone was always hanging out in the common spaces sharing wine an stories... This was my first solo trip, but the truth was the sense of community here made it feel like a trip with old friends.
  • 91%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • . Our room was on the east side of the building and the sun was very bright, very early. This caused us to wake up very early which was probably a good thing, but think next time I'd try to request a different location.
  • 89%
  • 19 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was as expected. No frills, but super friendly service, a beautiful building, simple clean rooms, and a beyond excellent location. I can't imagine you could beat this location for the money anywhere else in the city. I highly recommend.
  • 91%
  • 17 May 2014 Kelsey USA
  • Everything about this hostel was amazing. The location was perfect. The view was gorgeous. The staff were extremely friendly and did not hesitate to answer any questions. Our private room was simple and clean. I have no complaints and can not wait to go back!
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2014 Corissa Germany
  • I had a wonderful stay here - Old San Juan was incredible, and so was the hostel! The location and view could not be beat. I have no complaints!
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a good experience there with my friends. It was clean and teh AC worked perfectly. The only thing that people would want to consider is the elevator. Its tiny and I felt that we where going to stuck in it so we stuck to using the stairs. We didnt mind at all though.
  • 83%
  • 08 May 2014 Leonard Peru
  • It is one of the best hostels i have ever been. The atmosphere in the hotel is wonderful. You can meet there people from all over the world. The price is not excessive. The staff is really helpful. And the view from the balcony is amazing. I recommend this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • The S.F. P has grossly misrepresented it self on the web. Most of us came to the conclusion that they wrote their own reviews. There is no way anyone could say that this place was clean/neat. The exterior is fine but inside is old and un-kept. This place has so much potential, but is not well maintained at all.The bathroom floors/ showers/fridge were so filthy and gross. YUCK! We felt deceived. The highlight of the day was leaving. Don't go there you will regret it trust me!!! Shame on them!
  • 34%
  • 30 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Location is perfect for sightseeing and especially before/after a cruise. Staff very friendly, helpful, lugguage storage, nice ambiente with terraces and view. Room and bath could be better cleaned. Rooms would look nice with at least one picture frame, feels like in a hospital! Single room is tiny, tiny, you feel really like in a prison cell, white walls and a cross...AirCondition incredibly noisy! Take Earplugs if u want to find some sleep!!
  • 80%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »