See other London properties

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

41-42 Cosser St, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 71% from 26 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 70%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • All facilities were old and there is no curtain, light in bed. That is the reason why it's cost is cheap.
  • 57%
  • 18 Oct 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • The door did not lock, so even though we had codes for the door, it was basically open to everyone. Second, there was no light in the shower. Third, the water from the sink really needed a plumber because it spilled all over the floor, and fourth the toilet was really dirty. Cheap, but still not worth the money. Went to another hostell the day after.
  • 31%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Mari-Marthe Norway
  • shower system was bad. that was too hot water. and dust.. on bottom of bad plz.. keep clean
  • 51%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • I was there only for a night, so I might've missed something... But to my understanding, you had to walk though the pub downstairs to get to the hostel. There were only two toilets and adjacent shower rooms. The openings to them had no doors (the toilet/shower stalls had doors, of course), so didn't feel private and nice at all. Wouldn't stay there again, since there must be many other places with better facilities at the same price in London. The location was fine, though, near the Tube.
  • 54%
  • 15 Jul 2015 Saila Finland
  • Stayed in a 12 bed mixed dorm. It had a very mixed scene. The most horrible bathrooms, one useable toilet the other you could not go in, showered in the dark because the light was broken. There was good water heat. There is a lot of same sized dorm hostels with much newer and cleaner facilities. Location was awesome. The pub attached was ridiculously overpriced. Staff were helpful but you would need to be in a place so bad. Was the most expensive hostel I've stayed in and definitely not the best
  • 51%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Gabrielle Australia
  • The location is not the best. It is close to things, but the area seemed not very safe, and for two 21 year old girls who'd never been in London before, that wasn't ideal. However, the facilities were decent (pretty good for the price), it was clean, and the staff were friendly.
  • 71%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Sarah USA
  • In general the stuff was really nice and helpful apart from one Chinese (?) guy who seemed to be rude.. I thought that the noise from the pub will be too big and it will be hard to sleep but it wasn't. No kitchen, no common area apart from the pub where the smell was really not nice... The rooms are really tiny,,. No doors to bathrooms.... Well, the location is great though. If you are planning just to sleep there and 90% of the day spent in the city, this is the best hostel for you.
  • 63%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Location is absolutely perfect, pub downstairs is great. Bathrooms are cleaned everyday, but are not the most comfortable. Great thing was a shower in a 12 people room. Beds seemed to be very uncomfortable, but I suprisingly slept there quite well. Atmosphere was amazing- so many people from all over the world! Definetely a good adventure and I would recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 20 Mar 2015 Zuzanna Poland
  • This was our first hostel experience and it was a positive one! Wonderful location in a quiet street steps from the metro and a very short walk to the Thames. We noticed mold on the wall beside our bed and when we mentioned it, it was dealt with that afternoon. The showers werent always warm but that is understandable in an older building with dozens of people sharing. It would have been nice to have kitchen facilities, but because the hostel is above a pub we were moreso encouraged to eat there
  • 74%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Emily Canada
  • Best Hostel on my Europe trip. Staff were friendly and always willing to chat. Rooms weren't huge but enough space for everyone to move around comfortably. It wasn't a huge hostel. Wifi was probably the best on my Europe trip and that matters hugely when you're traveling. Showers weren't massive but they were good enough. All around a really good place to stay and I would recommend this to anyone going to London. It is so close to everything! Lambeth North is closest tube station.
  • 100%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »