See other London properties

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

41-42 Cosser St, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 81% from 29 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Best Hostel on my Europe trip. Staff were friendly and always willing to chat. Rooms weren't huge but enough space for everyone to move around comfortably. It wasn't a huge hostel. Wifi was probably the best on my Europe trip and that matters hugely when you're traveling. Showers weren't massive but they were good enough. All around a really good place to stay and I would recommend this to anyone going to London. It is so close to everything! Lambeth North is closest tube station.
  • 100%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • I can not say so much because I was out kinda 90% of the day/night. But the people were friendly, good atmosphere, nice breakfast, about 3-5 minutes walking from Lamberth North underground station. I just did not like the area of the showers,it was quite messy.
  • 86%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Unfriendly staff, dirty and smells bad bathrooms, a lot of dust in rooms. Not allowed to drink in room.
  • 40%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Matic Slovenia
  • I stayed the week while I was working nearby, the hostel was warm and the beds comfortable, the dorms were not noisy like some places but I guess that depends on the guests too, so I slept well all week. Breakfast in the morning was good, cereal, toast and coffee. The staff were great, especially Sunny and Dani, always had a smile and a joke and I would definitely come back. The bar downstairs is open all night for guests and there is free pool for them too, best hostel I've been to in London.
  • 100%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Anonymous Wales
  • Staff was awesome- super friendly and accommodating, particularly the blonde guy (so sorry I forgot your name!). He was really nice and went out of his way to help us out every day. The bar was really cool, and overall it was clean. Will be staying again on our next visit to London.
  • 94%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great experience, would definitely come back again :D and recommend to friends!
  • 80%
  • 26 Sep 2014 corinne Canada
  • I stayed at the Steam Engine while working nearby, it was clean and well maintained with decent showers and comfy beds. It's not the liveliest hostel but is great if you need somewhere to stay where you have a chance of getting a good nights sleep (never guaranteed in a hostel because it depends on the other guests). I must mention the staff, Sunny, Dani, Daniel + Julieta, who were really welcoming and an asset to the place, as well as being able to recommend places to visit nearby. I'll be back
  • 97%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Anonymous Wales
  • Absolutely recommend! It is close to the sights, in a great area where I felt completely safe by myself, the staff are wonderful. Breakfast is decent enough with cereals and toast. The only downside is not enough showers, but for the price definitely worth it!
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Beds are a little uncomfortable. I could feel the springs in the mattress. One of the showers was out of order for 2 days. Besides that, really nice.
  • 89%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • The hostle is good located, very close to the tube and more or less 10 min walking to the London Eye. It has a nice and friendly staff, Daniel is a nice and helpfull, he gave me some tips for trying some new beers. It also serves breakfast and you can order food in the bar at night, they have an special burger some days.
  • 100%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Isadora Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Most of us love to see the back of winter, and welcome the warmth of Springtime sun. Check out these fab Spring festivals guaranteed to wake your body up for the rest of the ye...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »