See other London properties

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

41-42 Cosser St, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 77% from 36 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Unfriendly staff, dirty and smells bad bathrooms, a lot of dust in rooms. Not allowed to drink in room.
  • 40%
  • 19 Oct 2014 Matic Slovenia
  • Staff was awesome- super friendly and accommodating, particularly the blonde guy (so sorry I forgot your name!). He was really nice and went out of his way to help us out every day. The bar was really cool, and overall it was clean. Will be staying again on our next visit to London.
  • 94%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Had a great experience, would definitely come back again :D and recommend to friends!
  • 80%
  • 26 Sep 2014 corinne Canada
  • I stayed at the Steam Engine while working nearby, it was clean and well maintained with decent showers and comfy beds. It's not the liveliest hostel but is great if you need somewhere to stay where you have a chance of getting a good nights sleep (never guaranteed in a hostel because it depends on the other guests). I must mention the staff, Sunny, Dani, Daniel + Julieta, who were really welcoming and an asset to the place, as well as being able to recommend places to visit nearby. I'll be back
  • 97%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Anonymous Wales
  • Absolutely recommend! It is close to the sights, in a great area where I felt completely safe by myself, the staff are wonderful. Breakfast is decent enough with cereals and toast. The only downside is not enough showers, but for the price definitely worth it!
  • 94%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Beds are a little uncomfortable. I could feel the springs in the mattress. One of the showers was out of order for 2 days. Besides that, really nice.
  • 89%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • The hostle is good located, very close to the tube and more or less 10 min walking to the London Eye. It has a nice and friendly staff, Daniel is a nice and helpfull, he gave me some tips for trying some new beers. It also serves breakfast and you can order food in the bar at night, they have an special burger some days.
  • 100%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Isadora Brazil
  • A great place to stay, staff was friendly, had a decent bar and free breakfast (cereal, toast and coffee). I left my bag in the room when I went out and took comfort that the room was locked, there were also lockers I which you could store small items, need your own lock. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good place to stay.
  • 94%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is great and the place is superb. Love to have a bar downstairs in my hostel, never experienced this before :) Especially huge thanks to Daniel who served us crazy Finns so greatly!
  • 100%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • There are only two bathrooms and showers in this hostel, which is not enough! the door security code also changed suddenly and getting the new code was a little bit cumbersome. there was free breakfast, which was great, but only consists of toast (pb and jam), coffee, and cereal.
  • 54%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »