See other New York properties

Q4 Hotel

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 7km

Rating: 83% from 95 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A beautiful hostel at an old bank! Loved how close it was to the subway and the Queensboro train. But one HUGE downside- it was more of an annoyance- there were no soap provided for the bathroom? I thought that was extremely odd. I arrived and had to use the bathroom but was surprised by this. Luckily there were a store close by where we bought some. But this is the first time we ever had to do that.
  • 86%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very good hostel. I like it very much.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2014 ZRINKA Croatia
  • Its sandwiched between two stations, so its a 3-5min walk to either one. As a single traveler and a girl I felt safe getting around, but it does take a little longer to get into Queens. The room was big enough and the locker was convenient. The bathroom was seemingly cleaned every day, but is in dire need of hooks for towels. And the beds were never made and sheets not changed even upon request. There were no social activities, but you have access to a 24/7 kitchen. All in all a good experience.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • The in our private ensuite was very small. Also still quite loud but expected since the hostel is near the 7 train.
  • 63%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good location, very clean. The only problem is too noisy because of the trains.
  • 83%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • Website says "towels provided." You have to get a towel from the front desk if you want it. They ran out before I was able to get one and had no solutions, so I had to use a pillow case to dry off. Very frustrating. I don't think the staff like their jobs. I wouldn't either, the place was a concrete cell with one dim ceiling light in each room. Noise echos off all the concrete. People in the hall were slamming their doors, I thought someone was breaking in all night.
  • 46%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The bathroom door in the mixed 6 bed dorm (specifically my room, 310) is made of frosted glass. A person silhouette definitely can be seen while bathing. There is also a 1/4" gap between the sides of the frosted glass door and the wall. Would be a problem for some ladies or guys. Water basin could be a tad bigger.
  • 83%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • On an average. Ok
  • 60%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous India
  • The location is great! As far as facilities are concerned, you get what you are paying for. Clean beds and washrooms. Very helpful staff. It would be great if they could serve breakfast as well....that would make it perfect!
  • 89%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Shafia USA
  • Please pay no attention to my average rating, I never stayed at q4. Tried to cancel through hostels.com, but I got a late response and was charged for my stay even though I paid the insurance fee. I have yet to receive a response from hostels.com, let alone a refund. Perhaps a bad review will at least get me answers.
  • 60%
  • 28 May 2014 Gavin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »