See other New York properties

Q4 Hotel

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 7km

Rating: 84% from 115 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had an awesome time spending the night at this hostel, unfortunately there was a lot of noise made in the night by the staff and the last day i woke up with bedbug bites in my arms. Maybe they should clean their beds better
  • 91%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Heidy USA
  • The rooms and the in-room bathrooms are nice and clean. However, the sound level from the adjecent railway is unacceptable (open or closed window does not make any difference). No way of sleeping without earplugs. And the service at the reception is very poor. None of my (quite easy) questions were answered sufficiently (e.g. What does the pub crawl fee include? Are there luggage storage location nearby port authority? Can you point me to a (nice) salsa bar?).
  • 60%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Anastasia Germany
  • Staff were a joke, the guys at the front desk were more interested in watching TV and completely disengaged. Once I approached the reception and he just stared blankly at me when I said hello, like he was too cool to be there, then after asking if there is a washer and dryer (which the website currently says there is) he simply just said no. Compared to other hostels, the person would normally jump into an opportunity to guide me to a laundromat but the guys here didn't care...
  • 63%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • it was great!!
  • 97%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Staff was friendly and room and kitchen downstairs was clean. Did not meet any people because january is obviously out of season. The hostel is very very loud at night because of the trains passing right in front of the hostel. With earplugs you sleep tight. Location is good, 10 min with subway to times square. Rooms are small, especially the bathroom (i had my own on my room). Could not even turn around, bathroom only as wide as you yourself are. After all would recommend this hostel.
  • 69%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Carlos Germany
  • I went there in off season, so my room was completely private! This hostel is really clean. You can borrow a hair dryer and a pc with printer. After evening, it was little bit noisy but staff gave me earplugs. It was helpful to sleep well. It's a little bit far from downtown, but you can go there just 2, 3 stations from this hostel. If I will go to NYC again, I'll use this hostel.
  • 94%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • On the first day, a pipe burst and shut the water off for the whole building! They said that they would have it fixed by the late afternoon but only after 30-40 minutes they had everything fixed! Unbelievably fast maintenance! Super friendly staff. I've already booked my next stay with them:)
  • 97%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The bunkroom was absolutely freezing. Seemed full of early 20-somethings interested in debauchery, petty crime and freeloading off others. Had a good chat with a Finnish dude though.
  • 57%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • As far as hostel experiences go, Q4 has been my best yet. Conveniently located, with the Queens Plaza subway station being a short walk away, the hostel is kept impeccably clean, with housekeeping staff cleaning the rooms every single day. The staff at the front desk are extremely friendly and helpful, and the hostel has many nicely done-up common areas perfect meet new people. The only drawback was the lack of elevators, which meant that I had to lug a humongous suitcase up 3 flights!
  • 100%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anandita India
  • good location, clean, excellent atmosphere, excellent facilities. A bit cold in the room
  • 86%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Sebastian Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »