See other San Diego properties

R.K.Hostel

642 W. Hawthorn St., San Diego, CA 92101, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 62% from 26 reviews

  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 52%Staff
  • 60%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I actually cancelled my reservation thanks to the front desk guy, who wasn't even at the desk... He was watching TV in another room. And when we went searching from him, he came out from his hidden corner and aggressively said "WHAT DO YOU WANT?" Well I'd like to cancel my reservations now..... We told him we wanted to check in, he said it's not until 1pm (two hours away). Thank god!! Otherwise we wouldve wasted our money here... The place it self was very dark and uninviting too...
  • 49%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • No toilet paper, people smoking pot in the open, unable to check out on time in the morning, hot rooms, dirty bathroom/shower area
  • 46%
  • 23 May 2014 Troy USA
  • Very male dominated hostel. Felt slightly uncomfortable at times.
  • 54%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • If someone wants to stay one or two days, It'll be fine. But If someone is looking for fun or hangout or something special, then this place is the best. Service is spotty.
  • 60%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • - Cheap Hostel. - Good localization. - Wet carpet in my room. Smell very bad. - Room too small for a four-bed room, considering that each host have your luggage and stuffs. - No locker. People seems very nice there, but i don't know them. It's just a matter of security. - Non - professional staffs. I had to check out at 5:30 a.m and, after ringing the bell 5 times to see if somebody would help me, i had to leave by my own. Take you own conclusions.
  • 49%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Lucas Brazil
  • Needs activities
  • 66%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Located in Little Italy, a very good area in the city. The house is nice, the staff is friendly and keen to help you. I missed lockers, but still it was a safe place.
  • 97%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Guilherme Brazil
  • The rooms were disgusting, it smelled like body Oder and the beds were not made. When I asked the staff why my security deposit was not subtracted from the bill, he called the manager. The manager was extremely confrontational and yelled in my face. DO NOT STAY HERE
  • 37%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Sean USA
  • Good location near little Italy and can walk into the city centre and seafront. room advertised as a double but was actually bunk beds. room clean but beds very.uncomfortable and noisy! Staff not very helpful- i asked if there was an internet cafe near to print boarding passes and was told to Google it. Wouldn't stay again.
  • 57%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous
  • Location was very good. Staff? White guy (bald) was nice... black guy was kind shady. He asked me if I was a resident even though I was watching TV drinking a beer. He could have asked nicely but he asked in a rude manner. When I checked out he wouldn't give me my key deposit because I didn't have a receipt. The white guy (he checked me in), never said that I needed the receipt to get key deposit. After arguing with the guy for 15 minutes and other resident taking my side, the guy gave my $$$
  • 71%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »