See other San Diego properties

R.K.Hostel

642 W. Hawthorn St., San Diego, CA 92101, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 65% from 41 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very male dominated hostel. Felt slightly uncomfortable at times.
  • 54%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • If someone wants to stay one or two days, It'll be fine. But If someone is looking for fun or hangout or something special, then this place is the best. Service is spotty.
  • 60%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • - Cheap Hostel. - Good localization. - Wet carpet in my room. Smell very bad. - Room too small for a four-bed room, considering that each host have your luggage and stuffs. - No locker. People seems very nice there, but i don't know them. It's just a matter of security. - Non - professional staffs. I had to check out at 5:30 a.m and, after ringing the bell 5 times to see if somebody would help me, i had to leave by my own. Take you own conclusions.
  • 49%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Lucas Brazil
  • Needs activities
  • 66%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Located in Little Italy, a very good area in the city. The house is nice, the staff is friendly and keen to help you. I missed lockers, but still it was a safe place.
  • 97%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Guilherme Brazil
  • The rooms were disgusting, it smelled like body Oder and the beds were not made. When I asked the staff why my security deposit was not subtracted from the bill, he called the manager. The manager was extremely confrontational and yelled in my face. DO NOT STAY HERE
  • 37%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Sean USA
  • Good location near little Italy and can walk into the city centre and seafront. room advertised as a double but was actually bunk beds. room clean but beds very.uncomfortable and noisy! Staff not very helpful- i asked if there was an internet cafe near to print boarding passes and was told to Google it. Wouldn't stay again.
  • 57%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous
  • Location was very good. Staff? White guy (bald) was nice... black guy was kind shady. He asked me if I was a resident even though I was watching TV drinking a beer. He could have asked nicely but he asked in a rude manner. When I checked out he wouldn't give me my key deposit because I didn't have a receipt. The white guy (he checked me in), never said that I needed the receipt to get key deposit. After arguing with the guy for 15 minutes and other resident taking my side, the guy gave my $$$
  • 71%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Fun place. The white guy with the shaved head is awesome. I don't remember his name. The black guy on the other hand is kind of rude. I had never stayed a hostel before so didn't know what to expect. The black guy was there when I checked in. He didn't say anything to me other than "Only cash" and "This is your bed" and a joke about having a good time with the girls who were staying there (I thought it might be a brothel). It was just British chicks on vacation. All others were nice, good vibe.
  • 80%
  • 06 Aug 2013 Jeremy USA
  • When we booked the room- we booked a "double, private room" that showed a picture of a private room with a full size bed. We arrived at the hostel and the staff that check us in was brisk and rushed with no time to help direct us for parking. He took us to our room, that ended up being a tiny room with one set of bunk beds- when asked about the double- he laughed and said this is the double. Another couple that was staying there at the same time as us experienced something similar.
  • 60%
  • 30 Jul 2013 nicole USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »