See other San Diego properties

R.K.Hostel

642 W. Hawthorn St., San Diego, CA 92101, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 52% from 18 reviews

  • 47%Atmosphere
  • 46%Staff
  • 47%Security
  • 43%Cleanliness
  • 67%Location
  • 56%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Far from downtown, the rooms are very hot and there is just one bathroom.
  • 46%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Flavia Brazil
  • It was a great location but the staff and building was awful. It took me 45 min to check in even though I had a reservation. No one was prepared. Staff was unprofessional. There was one shower for about 20 people. There were only 3 bathrooms. I had a man and 2 rooms in my room.
  • 40%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is the worst I have ever stayed at. It was old, smelly, dirty, noisy and unbearably hot. The staff was unprofessional, the location really bad right next to the freeway and close to the airport. We got no sleep and had to check out early with no chance of a refund. Don't ever stay there!
  • 26%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Sophie Denmark
  • I was waiting for almost 1hour to check in. Staff is without kindness, and too slow. In the morning whenI wanted to check out, nobody is in front and waited again. And also the common room was full of people sleeping over night. I never stay this hostel any more!
  • 26%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Dirty, upstairs smelled like urine. Staff took a long time to check us in, and put other activities before attending to us. Rooms were clean and so were bedsheets.
  • 46%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Jacqueline USA
  • I felt the staff was very personable.. Sometimes a little too personable an didn't feel I was getting timely service. The whole hostel smelled rank and of urine. There didn't seem to be fresh air flowing into the place which only enhanced the bad smell. I felt the price I was charged for 2 nights was excessive since the place offered nothing in the form of comfort. I felt like I couldn't touch or sit down anywhere cause it felt so dirty.
  • 34%
  • 23 Jul 2014 kyle USA
  • Some of the stuff were ok some not. After the place was booked up ithe guy incharge agreed to fix me some place in the living room. Day after the guy in the reception applied to me "we dont do that u have to take off" !! Finaly he found a bed .but u dont talk like that to guests
  • 40%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Yaakov Israel
  • I actually cancelled my reservation thanks to the front desk guy, who wasn't even at the desk... He was watching TV in another room. And when we went searching from him, he came out from his hidden corner and aggressively said "WHAT DO YOU WANT?" Well I'd like to cancel my reservations now..... We told him we wanted to check in, he said it's not until 1pm (two hours away). Thank god!! Otherwise we wouldve wasted our money here... The place it self was very dark and uninviting too...
  • 49%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • No toilet paper, people smoking pot in the open, unable to check out on time in the morning, hot rooms, dirty bathroom/shower area
  • 46%
  • 23 May 2014 Troy USA
  • Very male dominated hostel. Felt slightly uncomfortable at times.
  • 54%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »