See other San Diego properties

R.K.Hostel

642 W. Hawthorn St., San Diego, CA 92101, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 61% from 23 reviews

  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 53%Staff
  • 62%Security
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Dirty, upstairs smelled like urine. Staff took a long time to check us in, and put other activities before attending to us. Rooms were clean and so were bedsheets.
  • 46%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Jacqueline USA
  • I felt the staff was very personable.. Sometimes a little too personable an didn't feel I was getting timely service. The whole hostel smelled rank and of urine. There didn't seem to be fresh air flowing into the place which only enhanced the bad smell. I felt the price I was charged for 2 nights was excessive since the place offered nothing in the form of comfort. I felt like I couldn't touch or sit down anywhere cause it felt so dirty.
  • 34%
  • 23 Jul 2014 kyle USA
  • Some of the stuff were ok some not. After the place was booked up ithe guy incharge agreed to fix me some place in the living room. Day after the guy in the reception applied to me "we dont do that u have to take off" !! Finaly he found a bed .but u dont talk like that to guests
  • 40%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Yaakov Israel
  • I actually cancelled my reservation thanks to the front desk guy, who wasn't even at the desk... He was watching TV in another room. And when we went searching from him, he came out from his hidden corner and aggressively said "WHAT DO YOU WANT?" Well I'd like to cancel my reservations now..... We told him we wanted to check in, he said it's not until 1pm (two hours away). Thank god!! Otherwise we wouldve wasted our money here... The place it self was very dark and uninviting too...
  • 49%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • No toilet paper, people smoking pot in the open, unable to check out on time in the morning, hot rooms, dirty bathroom/shower area
  • 46%
  • 23 May 2014 Troy USA
  • Very male dominated hostel. Felt slightly uncomfortable at times.
  • 54%
  • 04 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • If someone wants to stay one or two days, It'll be fine. But If someone is looking for fun or hangout or something special, then this place is the best. Service is spotty.
  • 60%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • - Cheap Hostel. - Good localization. - Wet carpet in my room. Smell very bad. - Room too small for a four-bed room, considering that each host have your luggage and stuffs. - No locker. People seems very nice there, but i don't know them. It's just a matter of security. - Non - professional staffs. I had to check out at 5:30 a.m and, after ringing the bell 5 times to see if somebody would help me, i had to leave by my own. Take you own conclusions.
  • 49%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Lucas Brazil
  • Needs activities
  • 66%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Located in Little Italy, a very good area in the city. The house is nice, the staff is friendly and keen to help you. I missed lockers, but still it was a safe place.
  • 97%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Guilherme Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »