See other San Diego properties

RK/Buckner hostel

765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 77% from 19 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hire people staying for free rent, owner came in yelling on phone which made people check out because they were trying to sleep. This was my first hostel but some of the british people i talked to said this was about the worst one in the area. People were living here and got sent out if it was fully booked. Not many international people were around. Most had to work and the two i was with (british and russian). The russian was a drunk and british was fun. They both left for another hostel.
  • 80%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Mackenzie USA
  • Maybe their attention might improve.
  • 69%
  • 22 Jun 2014 ANTONIO Mexico
  • Lockers missing, no hostel atmosphere (need events etc), more restrooms would be a plus.. Location quite good. Cheap, but rather spend 10usd more and stay spomewhere else.
  • 51%
  • 25 May 2014 tommi Finland
  • It's ok for the price
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2014 RODOLPHE France
  • not clean, beds were very uncomfortable, not even a cupbord in the room. bathrooms were horrible. Never again!!
  • 31%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Nice location (close to gaslamp district and balboa park), friendly staff.
  • 77%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Hannah Australia
  • The addition of doorknobs, salt and cooking oil would drastically improve the experience.
  • 63%
  • 24 Feb 2014 Christina USA
  • Great hostel, very clean, great bathroom facilities. The rooms had plenty of space for liuggage to be put. The kitchen is small but it had everything you needed. Towels weren't provided so BYO
  • 89%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Gemma Australia
  • I loved being able to book a single room at such a great rate. It had a an unusual clientele - as if it were temporary housing for a lot of adults making ends meet - but everyone was friend, nice and I felt very safe. As on older traveler, I preferred these quiet and respectful guests to the college-aged party crowd. The kitchen was a bit of a mess and my room didn't have a shade (just curtains you could see the streetlights thru) but the bathrooms were quite good and my room was very quiet.
  • 80%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This Hostel is really nice with a great atmosphere and reall friendly staff. Exellent bathrooms are located next to nearly every room. I think the hostel is newly renovated and the beds were comfy. It is in pretty easy walking distance to the gaslamp quarter.
  • 97%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Sandra Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »