See other San Diego properties

RK/Buckner hostel

765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 71% from 21 reviews

  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 71%Staff
  • 69%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I'll never back to the hostel.
  • 29%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Rocio
  • I would NOT recommend this hostel. Firstly the service at check in was lethargic and uninspiring. Secondly, the room was unmade and light and fan didn't work. Thirdly, the bathrooms (of which there are too few) were filthy. And finally, in addition to extremely uncomfortable beds, this hostel has BED BUGS! If the constant biting isn't enough to scare you away, you will also not be allowed to stay at most other hostels as a result. DO NOT STAY HERE!
  • 43%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Julien
  • I ended up not staying there as supposed to. After waiting outside for almost an hour to get someone to open the door (I arrived there really late at night) I was told that even though I had made a reservation they wouldn't be able to honor it because of comic con weekend or give me a female room as request Apparently I had been charged much less than I was supposed to - so I had to find another place. However, the hostel is in a nice spot in the city, breakfast good and rooms ok.
  • 49%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • It was perfect for my group because we didn't expect to hang around at the hostel so it was fine that the staff wasn't very active. The staff were though very unorganized and it took a good 20 min for them to get our reservation together. The staff ad friends were very nice but didn't use the right hospitality a hostel should
  • 60%
  • 01 Jul 2014 emily USA
  • Hire people staying for free rent, owner came in yelling on phone which made people check out because they were trying to sleep. This was my first hostel but some of the british people i talked to said this was about the worst one in the area. People were living here and got sent out if it was fully booked. Not many international people were around. Most had to work and the two i was with (british and russian). The russian was a drunk and british was fun. They both left for another hostel.
  • 80%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Mackenzie USA
  • Maybe their attention might improve.
  • 69%
  • 22 Jun 2014 ANTONIO Mexico
  • Lockers missing, no hostel atmosphere (need events etc), more restrooms would be a plus.. Location quite good. Cheap, but rather spend 10usd more and stay spomewhere else.
  • 51%
  • 25 May 2014 tommi Finland
  • It's ok for the price
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2014 RODOLPHE France
  • not clean, beds were very uncomfortable, not even a cupbord in the room. bathrooms were horrible. Never again!!
  • 31%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Nice location (close to gaslamp district and balboa park), friendly staff.
  • 77%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Hannah Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »