See other San Diego properties

RK/Buckner hostel

765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 68% from 22 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 62%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice location (close to gaslamp district and balboa park), friendly staff.
  • 77%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Hannah Australia
  • The addition of doorknobs, salt and cooking oil would drastically improve the experience.
  • 63%
  • 24 Feb 2014 Christina USA
  • Great hostel, very clean, great bathroom facilities. The rooms had plenty of space for liuggage to be put. The kitchen is small but it had everything you needed. Towels weren't provided so BYO
  • 89%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Gemma Australia
  • I loved being able to book a single room at such a great rate. It had a an unusual clientele - as if it were temporary housing for a lot of adults making ends meet - but everyone was friend, nice and I felt very safe. As on older traveler, I preferred these quiet and respectful guests to the college-aged party crowd. The kitchen was a bit of a mess and my room didn't have a shade (just curtains you could see the streetlights thru) but the bathrooms were quite good and my room was very quiet.
  • 80%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This Hostel is really nice with a great atmosphere and reall friendly staff. Exellent bathrooms are located next to nearly every room. I think the hostel is newly renovated and the beds were comfy. It is in pretty easy walking distance to the gaslamp quarter.
  • 97%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Sandra Germany
  • The location is the best that you can dream of. Also, we had some issues on the road, so the staff member waited for us until 1 AM for the check in.
  • 91%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Mahieddine Algeria
  • Great Location (close to Glasslamp, convention center etc), Very friendly staff(especially Matt), Clean dorms and other facilities, Safe neighborhood ( a wonderful bargain market just two blocks away ). Altogether, nice experience. Will consider staying there again ..
  • 86%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous India
  • Close enough for walk to Society for Neuroscience mtg in Convention Center and to Gaslight restaurants & hoopla but far enough away to be QUIET when I needed to sleep. Hostel itself quiet. Kitchen small, not used much for cooking by people staying when I did, but OK. Toilet & sink in annex to room: convenient! Lack of shelves or clothes hooks inconvenient. Quiet "non-party" place when I was there. Staff friendly, laid back. Walk to #992 bus (airport). Computer for internet. Good deal!
  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2013 F. Frank USA
  • Nice hostel, great location - near Balboa Park :D The rooms were clean, modest, common bathroom but kept in very clean conditions. Overall, good hostel!
  • 89%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Ana Maria Romania
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »