See other San Diego properties

RK/Buckner hostel

765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 76% from 20 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This Hostel is really nice with a great atmosphere and reall friendly staff. Exellent bathrooms are located next to nearly every room. I think the hostel is newly renovated and the beds were comfy. It is in pretty easy walking distance to the gaslamp quarter.
  • 97%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Sandra Germany
  • The location is the best that you can dream of. Also, we had some issues on the road, so the staff member waited for us until 1 AM for the check in.
  • 91%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Mahieddine Algeria
  • Great Location (close to Glasslamp, convention center etc), Very friendly staff(especially Matt), Clean dorms and other facilities, Safe neighborhood ( a wonderful bargain market just two blocks away ). Altogether, nice experience. Will consider staying there again ..
  • 86%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous India
  • Close enough for walk to Society for Neuroscience mtg in Convention Center and to Gaslight restaurants & hoopla but far enough away to be QUIET when I needed to sleep. Hostel itself quiet. Kitchen small, not used much for cooking by people staying when I did, but OK. Toilet & sink in annex to room: convenient! Lack of shelves or clothes hooks inconvenient. Quiet "non-party" place when I was there. Staff friendly, laid back. Walk to #992 bus (airport). Computer for internet. Good deal!
  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2013 F. Frank USA
  • Nice hostel, great location - near Balboa Park :D The rooms were clean, modest, common bathroom but kept in very clean conditions. Overall, good hostel!
  • 89%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Ana Maria Romania
  • kitchen very small; the staff is excellent that's what makes a good hostel
  • 71%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Anonymous US Virgin Islands
  • I stayed at RK hostel for 3 days had a great time with the staff and overall the stay was pleasant; until my last day the receptionist Leo (tall Afro-American gentleman) questioned if I paid and he said I already checked out. I told him I checked in 3 days ago and please check you records on the computer and even offered to show him my receipts (key deposit and payment). He continued to badger me in a very unprofessional way as if I was a criminal and the racial slurs were uncalled for.
  • 66%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great place for the value. There were t.v.'s and refrigerators in rooms. Kitchen small. Couple blocks from Padre Stadium, five blocks to gaslamp, couple blocks to trolley, close to Balboa Park and the Zoo. Bathrooms new and clean.
  • 83%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Lynn USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »