See other Tallinn properties

Red Emperor Bar&Hostel

Aia 10, Tallinn, Estonia, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 92% from 13 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place to stay. Alternative look. Good evening programme! Fully recommended for a stay in Tallinn.
  • 91%
  • 18 Jul 2016 Robert Germany
  • I enjoyed staying at the Red Emperor Hostel. The hostel is situated in the very city center and in walking distance from most place I wanted to visit. The staff is friendly, helpful, and always up for a chat. Consider buying a scale for weighing luggage :-)
  • 91%
  • 09 Jul 2016 Anonymous Denmark
  • Great place to stay! Everything was excellent. No wonder it was (nearly) fully booked. Friendly staff (especially Luke and the Finnish girl)!
  • 97%
  • 03 Jun 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • Overall I liked it. I was especially impressed with how despite being sort of a party hostel, with a bar in the building, it was still quiet in the rooms. The sound insulation must be good! Areas for improvement: 1. More power outlets. The only power outlets I found in my room were over two of the bottom bunks. Convenient if you're in those bunks, but awkward otherwise. Also most seating in the common room isn't near an outlet. 2. Wifi signal booster? I couldn't get wifi in my room.
  • 83%
  • 25 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Awesome!!!
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2016 miloud France
  • Let's start with the good things (and they were more). Nice and helpful staff, whoever wrote the rules of conduct - I slip you five. Room isn't anything special but all you need is there, including a locker. Location is good, supermarket across the street. Security is maintained with a bar - you actually need to be let in the bar to get into the hostel. Quite a disappointment was the pub - felt more of a locals' place, with everybody keeping to their groups, and not wishing to speak English.
  • 86%
  • 07 Jan 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • I stayed at The Red Emperor for three nights. It's well located, across the street from the Rimi supermarket and an easy walk into old town. If your into cooking your own meals, the Red Emperor has a very good kitchen, two working stoves, plenty of good cook wear, and they keep their knives sharp, which is rare for most hostels. My dorm room was comfy and clean, as were the showers and bathrooms.
  • 100%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Geronimo USA
  • Just please add more hooks, mirrors and shelves everywhere to be perfect!
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Anonymous Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »