See other Reykjavik properties

Reykjavik Backpackers

Laugavegur 28, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 77% from 11 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was nice, although the night I arrived, I was suppossed to find an envelope with my room key, but there wasn´t any envelope.
  • 91%
  • 21 Jan 2014 Rodrigo Spain
  • Had a great stay at Reykjavik Backpackers which provides the perfect base to explore the city and Iceland. We parked our car for free just up the road in the church car park and there are lots of good places to eat and drink on the doorstep of the hostel (including an independent bar and restaurant in the hostel building). The only things i'd fault were the wifi signal which doesn't reach the rooms and the bathrooms get a bit dirty due to their design but they are cleaned every day.
  • 94%
  • 27 Sep 2013 Anonymous England
  • Our room was OK despite of the poor furniture. The kitchen is in an other building, on the 4th floor. It was terrible disgusting, undemanding with left unwashed pots. Garbage on the floor, etc. We weren't as brave as to use it.
  • 49%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Zoltán Hungary
  • I was very disappointed upon arrival at the hostel. When making my booking I was asked what time I wanted to check in and I stated 8am as I had a 6:30am arrival time at the airport and couldn't wait to sleep. I was told very abruptly that there is "no such thing as a requested check-in time and our check in at 2pm." I did not meet this guy again and thankfully the rest of the staff was much more friendly and helpful. This guy finally relented and let me check in as he had space at that time.
  • 66%
  • 30 Jun 2013 Florence Canada
  • The hostel is situated in the heart of Reykjavik. The staff was always smiling and helpful and the athmosphere was great. A perfect place to stay for a long weekend in Reykjavik:-)
  • 94%
  • 23 Jun 2013 Inger-Hanne Norway
  • Location is great. The adjacent bar is a lot of fun and the happy hour is a good value. Space is a little tight in the rooms but things are new and there is enough space to hang out on the floors and in the lobby. Try to get a bed away from the door because the locks on the doors start beeping after about three seconds if the doors aren't shut all the way and they take a bit of doing to shut. You're either sounding an alarm or slamming the door hard to get it shut.
  • 97%
  • 13 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It would be better if there were cooking facilities available or even a light breakfast. One concern is that bedding was an extra charge this differs from all the other hostels in NA, England and Europe we have stayed at. It is customary to not allow people to use their sleeping bags for concern in transferring bed bugs, lice, and ticks.
  • 66%
  • 03 Jun 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Loved the place, great location and staff is super friendly. Would recommend to anyone
  • 100%
  • 01 May 2013 Philip USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whether you want to get down'n'dirty in Austin or stay up all night in Berlin, live music is an unforgettable way to get to know any city's secret rhythms. But what cities have the best gigs? Here's five of our favourites...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »