See other Reykjavik properties

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 93% from 20 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We had a private double room with private bath for one night. Everything was clean, efficient and wonderful! The breakfast was a tad pricey (though probably cheaper than going out) but it was very good and filling. We would totally stay there again!
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2015 Jennifer USA
  • I can't say enough good things about Downtown Hostel. My bags were lost and the staff was amazing, calling every single day for me to the airport. Hostel was comfortable and clean. Everyone even staying there was fantastic. Literally the best hostel I've stayed at. I highly recommend it!
  • 100%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Lane USA
  • We arrived early in the morning so reserved the room for the previous night. When we arrived everyone was pleasant and very helpful. The location was perfect for walking in the old downtown, shopping, restaurants and day-trips. The breakfast was just enough and a good variety. The room was very clean and the shower was perfect. Everyone on the staff as helpful especially the young man and the girl from Germany.
  • 97%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Peter USA
  • Clean, pleasant, environmentally friendly. Great location.
  • 97%
  • 26 Aug 2015 David USA
  • Fantastic location, amazing staff, and true Icelandic hospitality. What more can you ask for?
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • Great place to stay; very friendly staff, and close to the main strip and the waterfront! Very well kept facilities, although the multi-building process did make it confusing/inconvenient at times. Overall, well worth the stay!
  • 91%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Todd Canada
  • great kitchen and location. would recommend to someone looking for a relaxing hostel with a mature vibe.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Clare Australia
  • Great staff. Wonderful location.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff at the hostel was extremely helpful to me in all my needs and questions that I had. I have stayed at the hostel several times and I always had a great experience. The location can't be any better for the price. It was also so clean you can eat off the floor. The room was a very good size for the amount of people in the room. The only thing a cannot comment on is the ktchen facilities as I did not use it nor did I see it. WILL DEFINATELY WILL STAY HERE AGAIN.
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2015 Norman USA
  • As demonstrated in the aforementioned report, I had a very good experience from this hostel, from the staff and their willingness to answer every question or problem issued. For example, I had a cancellation of an activity I had pre-booked and they helped me on the fly to arrange for another that suits my needs. They were also eager to answer any other question in regards to things to do, visit e.t.c. It is very close to all and yet not by main roads that attract traffic. The sole disadvantage
  • 94%
  • 26 Apr 2015 Konstantinos Greece
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »