See other Reykjavik properties

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 91% from 12 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • As demonstrated in the aforementioned report, I had a very good experience from this hostel, from the staff and their willingness to answer every question or problem issued. For example, I had a cancellation of an activity I had pre-booked and they helped me on the fly to arrange for another that suits my needs. They were also eager to answer any other question in regards to things to do, visit e.t.c. It is very close to all and yet not by main roads that attract traffic. The sole disadvantage
  • 94%
  • 26 Apr 2015 Konstantinos Greece
  • Very clean rooms and great location. Nice with bathrooms in the rooms. More like a hotel then hostel. Social areas not very good. Bang for the buck? Absolutley, if you are not looking for a party hostel.
  • 86%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Olof Sweden
  • Great hostel. Just loved it.
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • Awesome Hostel Experience. I stayed there during a pretty quiet time but the staff was always pretty friendly and lovely. The full kitchen was a huge selling point. I would highly suggest staying here if you need a place to stay in Iceland. The hostel is located close to downtown and the staff are willing to help with anything you need.
  • 91%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • A perfect hostel. Great location just in the center. Well designed, very clean and quiet.
  • 100%
  • 04 Nov 2014 Ido Israel
  • The hostel and my room were spotless. The staff was very kind to me in providing me with a lower bed. They treated me very well and was very helpful with my needs and questions. I stayed there before and plan to stay there again on my next trip to Iceland.
  • 100%
  • 21 Sep 2014 Norman USA
  • Nice hostel. The staff was really nice and the bathrooms were clean. Breakfast seemed pricey at first but is comparable to the rest of the city.
  • 74%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Christopher USA
  • Very near to the Old harbor, from the BSI central bus stop it took 15-20 minutes walk. Also you can book all the possible tours Golden Circle, Whale watching, Blue Lagoon as well as Airport shuttle from here, which made our life quite easier there. Nice place.
  • 66%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous India
  • The hostel was well located, and central to everything that I wanted to see - so I could walk all over the city! For trips out into the countryside, or shuttles to and from the airport, there is pick-up at the door to the hostel. The place was clean, and spacious. Each bunk appears to have it's own reading light, which I though was very nice, and it also appeared that each bunch might have it's own outlets - let's face it, everyone needs to recharge their devices these days! STAFF was tops!
  • 100%
  • 30 May 2014 Valerie USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »