See other Reykjavik properties

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 91% from 17 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was fine- i was disappointed by the lack of activities for guests (pub crawls etc) so it was difficult to meet other travelers. Our first day one of the hostel staff came into our reserved room and asked if we could add an extra person to the room, which would require us to change beds. There was no offer to reduce the price of the room or accommodate us. This was done in front of the additional guests, making for an uncomfortable situation for all. I found this unprofessional.
  • 66%
  • 06 Oct 2016 Paula USA
  • Excellent location; people are friendlier than what I saw in two other hostels I stayed at in Reykjavik. Not sure if it was a people-thing or a hostel-factor. All in all, good value for money.
  • 80%
  • 16 Sep 2016 Ashish India
  • It's an environmentally friendly place, which I liked. It's a sizeable property and the rooms are spacious for 8 beds and lockers, provided a light for each bed, and it was very safe. It's walking distance to everything and the front desk makes it easy to learn more about tourist attractions. While clean, the shower had mildew The constant hot water was excellent. It was difficult to rest with so many people. I wish they'd had curtains for the beds to muffle light and sound. Overall comfort.
  • 86%
  • 01 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great location close to the Old Harbour and square with restaurants/cafes/pubs. Everything is within walking distance.
  • 100%
  • 21 Aug 2016 Ashley Canada
  • Great double with private bathroom. The shower was huge with a great rainfall shower head. The room was surprisingly big and had a desk. The kitchen was great for storing food the night before we had to pack meals for a day tour. The staff was super friendly, helpful, and answered all our tourist questions. The location is great- about 2 minute walk from all the restaurants and shops but just far enough away to be away from the noise. Beds are a little too hard to be comfortable.
  • 94%
  • 21 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Extremely clean. Stayed in dorm one night and private room another. Private room had a beautiful view and was definitely worth the extra money.
  • 97%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely fantastic place. The staff was SO friendly, it was almost weird. It was my first time hostel-ing and everyone I met there (ie, the other guests) told me that it was an excellent choice for a first experience, that I got pretty lucky and should hold Reykjavik Downtown Hostel as the standard to which others should be judged. Just absolutely wonderful, my stay here really ended my trip (vacation) on a high note.
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2015 Kate USA
  • We had a private double room with private bath for one night. Everything was clean, efficient and wonderful! The breakfast was a tad pricey (though probably cheaper than going out) but it was very good and filling. We would totally stay there again!
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2015 Jennifer USA
  • I can't say enough good things about Downtown Hostel. My bags were lost and the staff was amazing, calling every single day for me to the airport. Hostel was comfortable and clean. Everyone even staying there was fantastic. Literally the best hostel I've stayed at. I highly recommend it!
  • 100%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Lane USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »