See other Reykjavik properties

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 92% from 22 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Extremely clean. Stayed in dorm one night and private room another. Private room had a beautiful view and was definitely worth the extra money.
  • 97%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely fantastic place. The staff was SO friendly, it was almost weird. It was my first time hostel-ing and everyone I met there (ie, the other guests) told me that it was an excellent choice for a first experience, that I got pretty lucky and should hold Reykjavik Downtown Hostel as the standard to which others should be judged. Just absolutely wonderful, my stay here really ended my trip (vacation) on a high note.
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2015 Kate USA
  • We had a private double room with private bath for one night. Everything was clean, efficient and wonderful! The breakfast was a tad pricey (though probably cheaper than going out) but it was very good and filling. We would totally stay there again!
  • 100%
  • 10 Nov 2015 Jennifer USA
  • I can't say enough good things about Downtown Hostel. My bags were lost and the staff was amazing, calling every single day for me to the airport. Hostel was comfortable and clean. Everyone even staying there was fantastic. Literally the best hostel I've stayed at. I highly recommend it!
  • 100%
  • 30 Oct 2015 Lane USA
  • We arrived early in the morning so reserved the room for the previous night. When we arrived everyone was pleasant and very helpful. The location was perfect for walking in the old downtown, shopping, restaurants and day-trips. The breakfast was just enough and a good variety. The room was very clean and the shower was perfect. Everyone on the staff as helpful especially the young man and the girl from Germany.
  • 97%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Peter USA
  • Clean, pleasant, environmentally friendly. Great location.
  • 97%
  • 26 Aug 2015 David USA
  • Fantastic location, amazing staff, and true Icelandic hospitality. What more can you ask for?
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • Great place to stay; very friendly staff, and close to the main strip and the waterfront! Very well kept facilities, although the multi-building process did make it confusing/inconvenient at times. Overall, well worth the stay!
  • 91%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Todd Canada
  • great kitchen and location. would recommend to someone looking for a relaxing hostel with a mature vibe.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Clare Australia
  • Great staff. Wonderful location.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »