See other Singapore properties

River City Inn

33C Hong Kong Street, Singapore, Singapore, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 93% from 44 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Honestly, this is the best hostel in which I have ever stayed. I ended up making three friends in the hostel common room. We had a great time in Singapore and then I rendezvoused with them later in the week in Kuala Lumpur and Hong Kong. Clean facilities and great travel experiences. Perfect location. Staff could have been a little kinder, though.
  • 94%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • good and clean
  • 91%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Chang Taiwan
  • Overall was a good experience; let me check out and still keep my bag, then shower for late flight. Staff was great. Its more of a baracks type enviroment, but I had no complaints.
  • 74%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Calvin USA
  • The rooms are a little small but they're clean and if you don't have a window there's AC and a fan in the room. Breakfast was just toast, peanut butter, jelly and margerine but it was still good. The beds weren't all that great but compaired to aircraft carrier racks they were luxury. It was good for what I needed it for, sleep. The location is fantastic! Its right up the street from both Clarke and Boat Quay which are EASILY the best night spots in Singapore. Awesome if you want to have fun.
  • 91%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Joshua USA
  • Great atmosphere, very clean and very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this backpackers to others.
  • 94%
  • 19 Aug 2013 James New Zealand
  • More than I expected,the only problem was the stairs. Fortunately my partner had the foresight to pay the extra at Tiger airlines to transfer our luggage,as we only stayed 1 night & had a small carry on bag each. Included was friendly advice,nice coffee,wi-fi,toast for breakfast & nice clean modern shower & toilets. I've only stayed at Aussie B-packers before, this won hands down :)
  • 97%
  • 19 Aug 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Fantastic location! Just a walk away from Clarke Quay, so MRT station is easily accessible. The staff was very friendly. Interior design was decent with lots of "popping" colours, such as bright red, green and purple, for the mats-so I still got a contemporary feel. My room was equipped with a drape, a cloth hanger and an extension-showing attention to details to the needs of the customers. Quite a memorable stay for me.
  • 94%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Anonymous Indonesia
  • Very Clean.
  • 83%
  • 30 Jul 2013 Sanketh India
  • The staff is a woman and I think her son. Both helpful and nice, albeit a bit intense. The place is kept strictly clean and fellow guests are quite nice. Location is convenient; it takes a long time to get anywhere on public transport in singapore no matter where you go, unfortunately
  • 91%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • that was already my second stay in Rivery City Inn. Love everything about it. very warm and helpful staff, i still remember Adrian got me a glass of cold water when i arrived :) will definitely come back whenever I visit SG again. keep up with the good work!
  • 100%
  • 21 Jul 2013 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »