See other Shanghai properties

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 83% from 22 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The deluxe double room was far from deluxe! Very unclean, and bugs smashed against the walls everywhere! Darker and more humid than the ordinary double rooms. The room had less space than the ordinary double rooms, which were very nice. We felt cheated as the deluxe is more expensive! The common facility room was one of the best in all of our stays!
  • 60%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • i stayed on the third floor and no lift in the hostel. the room is not sound proof so the noise of people talking and walking outside could easily be heard in the middle of the night.
  • 74%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Ah Bah Malaysia
  • We stayed in the private room. It was cozy and nice. The room is clean and comfortable too. The only thing that I don't like about this place is that the lobby/cafe is wayyyyyyyyyy too cold. There is no heater. If you wan to chill at the lobby and cafe, wear something warm!
  • 80%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Wonderful as always
  • 94%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • The neighbourhood is not so tidy and clean but it is very close to the underground station. We stayed in delux room and the heater and water were both excellent. Very clean and nice garden. Atmosphere was great with the bar with music not so loud. It would be better if there were more information for travellers. Staff were quite formal and business like. It would be perfect if they would hold some interesting activities like chinese wine tasting night. I am spoiled by other hostels but why not?
  • 71%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Wai Yee Hong Kong
  • Fun atmosphere, helpful staff. Rooms have lockers in them so you can store your larger luggage. Great for not having to go all the way to the lobby to ask for your luggage each time you need something. Public showers have coat hangers in their cabins, coverable by a curtain. You don't have to worry about people stealing your valuables while taking a shower, because you can take them inside with you and not have them get wet. Free Wi-Fi! Recommended, would stay again.
  • 86%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Attila
  • It was a short but nice stay
  • 89%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • We had double private room on the 4th floor - the room is really big, very light, clean. Facilities are ok too, the only minus is a glass door to the bathroom and a toilet right behind it. Location is great - 2 subway stations, 2 banks, a lot of cafes, massage salon, a park, supermarket, electronic market near the hostel. There is luggage room and self-service laundry. The only minus - no tables to seat with your own food, only cafe. Clean and quiet hostel, but no hostel atmosphere.
  • 80%
  • 11 Nov 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Funky hostel, very welcoming with a bar and plenty of room to chill downstairs. Some of the double rooms can be a bit claustrophobic, with no windows as they're on the inside of the corridor, so when booking ask for one on the outside if possible. No kitchen, which means you need to venture out for a meal.
  • 77%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • One of the nicest hostels I've been to. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, it's in a nice part of Shanghai, close enough to the center, but far enough to be calm. The facilities, drinks and food are great. The best hostel in Shanghai.
  • 100%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Aaron USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »