See other Shanghai properties

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 85% from 30 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There was nothing that I didn't like about this hostel. The room was great, the staff were great. The location? Suited my purposes just fine. Lots of good Chinese food in the area (and a Starbucks to keep me caffeinated). Would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to Shanghai.
  • 97%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Adam Canada
  • Finding the hostel was nearly impossible.
  • 57%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Sandra USA
  • Very good! Even my parents like it! (-:
  • 86%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Maxim Germany
  • Mold in the room was not okay, it was bad. WLAN didn't work too well. Otherwise all was okay or good.
  • 83%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Very nice and clean hostel! The staff was really helpful and friendly as well. Would definitely recommend it!
  • 94%
  • 25 Feb 2014 Ingrid Norway
  • Facilities of double bed room were quite poor comapring to other hostels I stayed in Shanghai. dont be afraid of locaion! as I read before booking - this is a hostel for those who are bored with nanjing road area! exactly! its good to experiene sth new in SH and we discovered amazing food corner right next to metro station entrance. Staff is extremely nice and lobby area is just lovely. Had a nice stay there!
  • 86%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed at, perfect atmosphere for a chill-vacation.
  • 97%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very comfortable. The pool table and the bar area is nice and spacious. The rooms are well-heated and comfortable. The interior also has a clean/ fresh feel to it.
  • 74%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • My only complaint isn't even about the hostel. One end if the road they were on smelled a bit funky, and the other end is pretty dark in the evening. All was well knowing that the dark park next to the dark street was a private gated middle school. Still crazy to have a scooter come flying at you out of the darkness. The staff was very accommodating even as I traveled with my young travel buddy!
  • 100%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The location was nice, right by a school so it was quiet and safe. The surrounding area was full of locals and was clean as well. It was about 3 blocks to the Zhongshan Park metro station (Line 2) and that was the best, because many Shanghai attractions are located right on Line 2. Additionally, the lobby was great and had a fountain and nice couches with good breakfast. My girlfriend and I ate breakfast there each morning before going out to explore Shanghai. Internet was pretty good too.
  • 86%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Matthew USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »