See other Shanghai properties

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 83% from 27 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Funky hostel, very welcoming with a bar and plenty of room to chill downstairs. Some of the double rooms can be a bit claustrophobic, with no windows as they're on the inside of the corridor, so when booking ask for one on the outside if possible. No kitchen, which means you need to venture out for a meal.
  • 77%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • One of the nicest hostels I've been to. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, it's in a nice part of Shanghai, close enough to the center, but far enough to be calm. The facilities, drinks and food are great. The best hostel in Shanghai.
  • 100%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Aaron USA
  • This place is totally cool - one of the cleanest and hippest hostels I visited in China. It's mostly foreigners (which can be a good or bad thing depending on your desire for a "Chinese" experience or not), but the rooms were really clean and nice and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It's a tad far from the subway if you have a lot of luggage but I personally didn't mind the walk.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel - nice atmosphere and reasonably priced bar.
  • 97%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • There was nothing that I didn't like about this hostel. The room was great, the staff were great. The location? Suited my purposes just fine. Lots of good Chinese food in the area (and a Starbucks to keep me caffeinated). Would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to Shanghai.
  • 97%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Adam Canada
  • Finding the hostel was nearly impossible.
  • 57%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Sandra USA
  • Very good! Even my parents like it! (-:
  • 86%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Maxim Germany
  • Mold in the room was not okay, it was bad. WLAN didn't work too well. Otherwise all was okay or good.
  • 83%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Very nice and clean hostel! The staff was really helpful and friendly as well. Would definitely recommend it!
  • 94%
  • 25 Feb 2014 Ingrid Norway
  • Facilities of double bed room were quite poor comapring to other hostels I stayed in Shanghai. dont be afraid of locaion! as I read before booking - this is a hostel for those who are bored with nanjing road area! exactly! its good to experiene sth new in SH and we discovered amazing food corner right next to metro station entrance. Staff is extremely nice and lobby area is just lovely. Had a nice stay there!
  • 86%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »