See other Shanghai properties

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 83% from 19 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really good hostel, good place, good people I saw there, If recommend this hostel for sure.
  • 91%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Very good stay. very helpful. cafe/bar very nice food and eating area.
  • 77%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Hannah Ireland
  • The Hostel was nice but we only got one room key and were a group of four. It was not very conveniant because we didn't always do everything together.
  • 71%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Mareike Germany
  • The deluxe double room was far from deluxe! Very unclean, and bugs smashed against the walls everywhere! Darker and more humid than the ordinary double rooms. The room had less space than the ordinary double rooms, which were very nice. We felt cheated as the deluxe is more expensive! The common facility room was one of the best in all of our stays!
  • 60%
  • 27 Jun 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • i stayed on the third floor and no lift in the hostel. the room is not sound proof so the noise of people talking and walking outside could easily be heard in the middle of the night.
  • 74%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Ah Bah Malaysia
  • We stayed in the private room. It was cozy and nice. The room is clean and comfortable too. The only thing that I don't like about this place is that the lobby/cafe is wayyyyyyyyyy too cold. There is no heater. If you wan to chill at the lobby and cafe, wear something warm!
  • 80%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Wonderful as always
  • 94%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • The neighbourhood is not so tidy and clean but it is very close to the underground station. We stayed in delux room and the heater and water were both excellent. Very clean and nice garden. Atmosphere was great with the bar with music not so loud. It would be better if there were more information for travellers. Staff were quite formal and business like. It would be perfect if they would hold some interesting activities like chinese wine tasting night. I am spoiled by other hostels but why not?
  • 71%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Wai Yee Hong Kong
  • Fun atmosphere, helpful staff. Rooms have lockers in them so you can store your larger luggage. Great for not having to go all the way to the lobby to ask for your luggage each time you need something. Public showers have coat hangers in their cabins, coverable by a curtain. You don't have to worry about people stealing your valuables while taking a shower, because you can take them inside with you and not have them get wet. Free Wi-Fi! Recommended, would stay again.
  • 86%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Attila
  • It was a short but nice stay
  • 89%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »