See other Shanghai properties

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 83% from 25 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • i stayed on the third floor and no lift in the hostel. the room is not sound proof so the noise of people talking and walking outside could easily be heard in the middle of the night.
  • 74%
  • 18 Apr 2015 Ah Bah Malaysia
  • We stayed in the private room. It was cozy and nice. The room is clean and comfortable too. The only thing that I don't like about this place is that the lobby/cafe is wayyyyyyyyyy too cold. There is no heater. If you wan to chill at the lobby and cafe, wear something warm!
  • 80%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous Singapore
  • Wonderful as always
  • 94%
  • 13 Feb 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • The neighbourhood is not so tidy and clean but it is very close to the underground station. We stayed in delux room and the heater and water were both excellent. Very clean and nice garden. Atmosphere was great with the bar with music not so loud. It would be better if there were more information for travellers. Staff were quite formal and business like. It would be perfect if they would hold some interesting activities like chinese wine tasting night. I am spoiled by other hostels but why not?
  • 71%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Wai Yee Hong Kong
  • Fun atmosphere, helpful staff. Rooms have lockers in them so you can store your larger luggage. Great for not having to go all the way to the lobby to ask for your luggage each time you need something. Public showers have coat hangers in their cabins, coverable by a curtain. You don't have to worry about people stealing your valuables while taking a shower, because you can take them inside with you and not have them get wet. Free Wi-Fi! Recommended, would stay again.
  • 86%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Attila
  • It was a short but nice stay
  • 89%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Funky hostel, very welcoming with a bar and plenty of room to chill downstairs. Some of the double rooms can be a bit claustrophobic, with no windows as they're on the inside of the corridor, so when booking ask for one on the outside if possible. No kitchen, which means you need to venture out for a meal.
  • 77%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • One of the nicest hostels I've been to. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, it's in a nice part of Shanghai, close enough to the center, but far enough to be calm. The facilities, drinks and food are great. The best hostel in Shanghai.
  • 100%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Aaron USA
  • This place is totally cool - one of the cleanest and hippest hostels I visited in China. It's mostly foreigners (which can be a good or bad thing depending on your desire for a "Chinese" experience or not), but the rooms were really clean and nice and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It's a tad far from the subway if you have a lot of luggage but I personally didn't mind the walk.
  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel - nice atmosphere and reasonably priced bar.
  • 97%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »