See other Shanghai properties

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 5.5km

Rating: 83% from 18 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This used to be my top choice when in Shanghai because of the lovely premises and great atmosphere. But this time round, the toilet on the 4th floor where the female dorm is, is full of cigarette smoke, which also fills hallways and even getting some in the room as well. This is seriously setting me back from considering coming back next time ... hope the hostel could rectify this and enforce the "No Smoking" sign seen in toilets.
  • 63%
  • 12 Jun 2016 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Lovely lobby, everything else about average, good place for this price
  • 71%
  • 07 Feb 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • We enjoyed our stay at Rock&Wood Hostel. The facility is very welcoming. The room was very spacious, modern, and comfortable. Heat and hot water worked well. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and things to do around Shanghai, even though we felt fine just sitting around the lounging area. The breakfast choices were great with good value. We were pleased and would recommend it to anyone who asked. The only negative was that there wasn't a tv/dvd player in the room.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jan 2016 ARLISSA USA
  • I stayed there twice in a month. I like it very much. So bad it has no kitchen for the guests, but is ok. And should specify which room is each one, because I payed one thinking about the pictures but the webpage doesnt show ´pictures of the smallest private without windows. Just be careful with the staff you hire because two girls of the house keeping had a really bad fight on the hall and my boyfriend and other persons, had to separate them.
  • 86%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • Recommend that hostel. Clean, new facility, nice stuff and has everything you need.
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2016 Constance Germany
  • It's a delightful place to be, a respite in busy Shanghai. Convenient to get to most attractions in Shanghai, and in terms of daily necessities during your stay here, the neighborhood has convenience stores, supermarts, food ... The only little thing is that the staff almost messed up my booking, but that was quickly resolved.
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • The hostel itself is great. I like the atmosphere but the front desk service simply sucks. First of all it's amazingly slow and second if you are late 10 minutes they immediately assume that you are not coming. I told them I would arrive at 19.00 and I did at 19.10 but they had already gave all 4-bed dorms away since "i was late".
  • 77%
  • 23 Oct 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Really good hostel, good place, good people I saw there, If recommend this hostel for sure.
  • 91%
  • 03 Oct 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Very good stay. very helpful. cafe/bar very nice food and eating area.
  • 77%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Hannah Ireland
  • The Hostel was nice but we only got one room key and were a group of four. It was not very conveniant because we didn't always do everything together.
  • 71%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Mareike Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »