See other Penang properties

Roommates Penang

17 B, Lorong Chulia, Penang, Malaysia, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 84% from 13 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We booked for Roommates, but we're send to another hostel on the other side of the street, because they didn't have any room left... the room was very very small, we weren't allowed to lock the doors and there was no wifi after all. :/
  • 66%
  • 14 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I stayed 5 nights, very hot in the dorm even they have fan and air condition, I changed two dorm and bed but still bites by bed bugs, the wifi very slow.
  • 69%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Everything is ...OK....but we find another G.H....that it is more beautiful with same rate...!
  • 89%
  • 15 May 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • Good location and nice staff.
  • 89%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great place to stay. I was in roommates II. Excellent staff.
  • 89%
  • 06 Feb 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • I just have to say that was perfect everything in roommates!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jan 2014 Karolina Honduras
  • This hostel and its host aka the owner is just what you need right in Georgetown. Me and my friend stayed for one night and then renewed for another 2 nights and stayed over christmas. The host (which name I forgot - SORRY!) organized a christmas gathering with the roommates and had us all sitting in the kitchen - so amazing. Thanks again for such hospitality. If you need a place to sleep go here! All the good sights are just around the corner and you feel very save in the hood.
  • 100%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • The location is great, being right in the middle of Georgetown. The staff were very friendly and helpful. When I asked the owner where I could find an internet cafe, he insisted that I use his laptop for free instead. I've marked the security as 'poor' because the doors of the dorms are always unlocked (they don't give you a key), and anyone can get in through the front door, but there were never any actual problems.
  • 71%
  • 09 Dec 2013 Andrew Canada
  • Clean and quiet rooms in a central location. Dorm beds have curtains surrounding them to offer privacy, which is always nice in dorm rooms. Great place, great value!
  • 89%
  • 17 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very good location- close to main bus station stop-easyli can walk to the hostel once arriving to Penang, no taxi neede, just the map :). Close to man road where one can catch a bus that goes to main attraction on Penang (national park, beach, penang hill). Very helpfull Staff that can help in organising the bus ticket to other citys as well as giving a tip about getting around.
  • 83%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »