See other Rotorua properties

Rotorua Central Backpackers

1076 Pukuatua St, Rotorua, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 92% from 14 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 98%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Best hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff are very helpful and friendly the location is very close and within short 5 min walk to everything you will need. Free wifi is also very fast
  • 100%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Laura Canada
  • This is one of, if not the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Both the 4 person and private rooms were awesome, staff was helpful and the location was great for walking anywhere including bus locations and pak n save.
  • 94%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Nathan Canada
  • Really lovely! The sunny yellow room 20 was one of our favorite stops in New Zealand. Thank you!
  • 94%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Colourful buildings on the seafront. Hostel was fine but taken over by chattering Germans.
  • 83%
  • 29 Dec 2014 Anonymous England
  • Welcoming and helpful staff. Great hostel.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Nice hostel, clean and fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, clean and convenient bathrooms. I recommend, really worth it for the price.
  • 86%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anne-Laure France
  • Had a lovely time here. Things were well organized. Information about the local area was great as well as being able to lock things in a safe closet when we went out for the day
  • 94%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Amelia New Zealand
  • The couple who run the hostel were awesome! They offered a lot of great advice on activities and were super friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The kitchen was on the unclean side, with not a lot of resources to use. However with that said, I would definitely stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »