See other Beppu Spa City Oita properties

SPA Hostel Khaosan Beppu

3-3-10 Kitahama, Beppu city, Oita, Beppu Spa City Oita, Japan

Rating: 82% from 8 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • toilet and bathroom is very dirty....
  • 60%
  • 03 May 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • It's far from the station when you are carrying a big bag on your bag and it's hard to find. There was a horrible smell in the whole first floor. Their manga area is really nice, but the kitchen is too dark.
  • 49%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Montserrat Mexico
  • The staff were extremely kind and helpful when we checked in, but we didn't interact with them much beyond that. Do not use the onsen they have since it was lukewarm at best; there are many other affordable onsens around the hostel. It is very easy to hop on a bus two blocks away from the hostel that leads directly to where the jigoku are which makes the location amazing.
  • 89%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice hostel, very good Price, they were very easy and flexible, we could cook in the kitchen, everyone was very helpful and they gave us great advices where to go and how. We enjoyed our time there :)
  • 91%
  • 06 Nov 2014 Elif Germany
  • Generally a good hostel, the staff were helpful, the rooms were fine and the location is great to use as a base. I didn't try out all the facilities like the onsen bath and the computers but they are there if you want them and I dint hear any bad reports from anyone. My only criticism would be that there are not enough shower rooms or toilets for the amount of people this hostel can hold, the lockers are very tall and skinny, ok for hanging clothes and storing small valuables but not backpacks
  • 83%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Possibly the best hostel i stayed in during 5 weeks in Japan!! Beppu is awesome and this hostel was spot on!! Great clean and quiet dorm! Awesome hot onsen with showers which is hot but just on my limit!! Amazing fast internet on the computers and great kitchen plus i found the tv room great as i got to watch Ali and American beauty on VHS video which took me back a few years!! Do not miss the day visiting the 8 hells! Great staff will give you best information especially the lovely Asuka x
  • 100%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Found the owner to be a Conscientious person . Saw your needs and predicament and adjusted to accommodate you. Which was very much appreciated. Great well placed hostel. Cleaning was obvious every day ,. A great trait. The area is interesting , I loved cycling around the small streets and in through the nearby covered in syreets . Where many and varied foods , Indian t, Korean and Japanese , Izakaya and ramen to mention but a few. Really enjoyed My stay.
  • 97%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Barry Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »