See other London properties

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 87% from 48 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The rooms on the street are very noisy
  • 86%
  • 11 Aug 2014 sophie France
  • Staying at this hostel was very comfortable and enjoyable. All the rooms including the bathrooms were clean and modern. There was a large common area downstairs that was very comfortable. The bunk beds had curtains providing privacy which was a huge plus! There were large crates under the beds with more than enough room to secure my belongings. The location was very accessible by the tube. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location wasn't the best. I felt safe but I'd never walk alone at night. Most tenants were younger and nice. Not many shady people. The wifi is only in the lounge and not in rooms. And there's no hand soap in the bathrooms. - a little inconvenient but manageable.
  • 77%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Gretel USA
  • The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent,
  • 94%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was way too hot. Other than that, it was fine.
  • 83%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Kevin USA
  • I took "poor" for security, because we were very surprise about the luggage room. Everybody could entered the room and took off a suitcase. it was not locked, neither a number for every piece of luggage. But all the other things were great and we had e pleasant stay at your hostel.
  • 89%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Susanne Germany
  • The staff was amazing. They're easily the best part of this hostel. The hostel is nice, the staff is awesome, especially David and Irwin. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the curtains surrounding the beds made them private. The only bad thing about the hotel was that the rooms aren't ventilated, and they get ridiculously hot.
  • 97%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Temperature is too high in the rooms ! and too much noise in the room when we close the door's room
  • 77%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • On the negative side the rooms were too hot and the breakfast poor. On the positive side it was clean, modern, easy to find and good value for money. The area has gone through some major changes during the last couple of years which has improved the safety and decreased the amounts of crime.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2014 Emma Maria Sweden
  • Definitely recommend! Very good value for money, zone 1, close to the underground and buses, also night ones. Shops and restaurants nearby (definitely try Pizzeria La Luna). Rooms are very nice and cleaned on a daily basis (except for the trash bins, but they were emptied slightly later). Comfy linen and towels. The only (small) minus is that WiFi only works at the bar downstairs, which is closed around 11 PM.
  • 91%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous Poland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »