See other London properties

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 87% from 52 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Many reviews say that the area is dodgy but honestly it felt just like back home which is to say, quite fine. I wouldn't take out my cell phone and idly look at it while walking alone late at night, but that's just common sense anywhere. The 3-person private was amazing, the staff very friendly, the included breakfast perfect. Some reminders to younger visitors to be quiet and respectful of others after 10pm would be nice, but aside from that it certainly is a "poshtel". Thumbs up to Emilio.
  • 97%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This Hostel is more like a nice family Hotel. Best Hostel I´ve ever been before. They are cleaning everyday and when something get dirty during the day, they are cleaning again. The atmosphere is amazing there. The people who are staying there are really nice and the whole hotel is very nice.
  • 100%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Danijela Germany
  • Safestay is super secure, the staff is helpful and friendly, it's super clean, and a great price. I will say that it is not in the best location, but you are close to the metro and bus stops, so that's okay. There's not much atmosphere as it's a big hostel, but that's not really their fault. It's more of a place to stay than a place to meet people. And I don't like that they don't have a kitchen, but the bar has good food for cheap, which makes up for it. Overall, I recommend it!
  • 91%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I've stayed at RestUp, St.Christophers and Safestay and Safestay was the best among these.
  • 80%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Burak Turkey
  • The only think that i did not like it it was that you have to pay for water. (hot water).
  • 97%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Mauricio Argentina
  • The rooms on the street are very noisy
  • 86%
  • 11 Aug 2014 sophie France
  • Staying at this hostel was very comfortable and enjoyable. All the rooms including the bathrooms were clean and modern. There was a large common area downstairs that was very comfortable. The bunk beds had curtains providing privacy which was a huge plus! There were large crates under the beds with more than enough room to secure my belongings. The location was very accessible by the tube. I would definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location wasn't the best. I felt safe but I'd never walk alone at night. Most tenants were younger and nice. Not many shady people. The wifi is only in the lounge and not in rooms. And there's no hand soap in the bathrooms. - a little inconvenient but manageable.
  • 77%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Gretel USA
  • The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent,
  • 94%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was way too hot. Other than that, it was fine.
  • 83%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Kevin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »