See other London properties

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 84% from 62 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • nice reception staff, helpful, polite,
  • 71%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Ole Vels Denmark
  • I arrived late for one night´s stay ultimo november. There are no numbers on the buildings or the streets in this area, so finding the hostel took some time. I was allocated to a 8-bed room, and was shocked upon opening the door: the smell was unbearable and the room extremely hot. The past week in London had been humid, and now guests were drying their clothes everywhere. I immediately opened the window and fortunately had the bed closest to it. Since it was now around midnight, I felt discoura
  • 49%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • Hygiene is very important. They should think about a rubber may in the bathroom as well as organic breakdown to help with the smell in the sewage systems
  • 74%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Clement Namibia
  • Great hostel, clean and looks really nice.
  • 86%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Michel Netherlands
  • THE ROOM IS AWESOME. BED WITH CURTAINS. ITS WARM IN THE HOSTEL.
  • 86%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • High quality accomodation. Shower could have been cleaned better.
  • 74%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • I choose this hostel because they have private curtain for each bed. It was nice stay. They have very big bar underground. The only drawback is this hostel is little bit expensive comparing to other hostels. But definitely wanna stay here again for my next visit.
  • 86%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I travel often in hostel and i think Safestay like a good one. It's clean, safe, near bus station and underground (Elephant&Castle). There is maybe two wrong point. First : there is no microwave reachable to eat something hot. When you travel, it's sometimes the best and cheap lunch or diner. The second wrong point is about the Wifi. It's on just in the main room and sometimes he's off line. The main room is also too noisy for skype or a little work.
  • 80%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Guillaume France
  • They didn't give good directions to the hostel and when I pointed this out during check in, I was told that I couldn't read a map and found that INCREDIBLY rude. There was no age limit so I was a 21 year old female in a room with 45 year old men. The location was horrible! BAD neighborhood and it was far away from all the sights. The wifi didn't work AT ALL and they charge an arm and a leg to use their computers. Staff was rude and bathrooms were FILTHY. Beds were comfortable though.
  • 43%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Many reviews say that the area is dodgy but honestly it felt just like back home which is to say, quite fine. I wouldn't take out my cell phone and idly look at it while walking alone late at night, but that's just common sense anywhere. The 3-person private was amazing, the staff very friendly, the included breakfast perfect. Some reminders to younger visitors to be quiet and respectful of others after 10pm would be nice, but aside from that it certainly is a "poshtel". Thumbs up to Emilio.
  • 97%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »