See other London properties

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 87% from 46 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I took "poor" for security, because we were very surprise about the luggage room. Everybody could entered the room and took off a suitcase. it was not locked, neither a number for every piece of luggage. But all the other things were great and we had e pleasant stay at your hostel.
  • 89%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Susanne Germany
  • The staff was amazing. They're easily the best part of this hostel. The hostel is nice, the staff is awesome, especially David and Irwin. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the curtains surrounding the beds made them private. The only bad thing about the hotel was that the rooms aren't ventilated, and they get ridiculously hot.
  • 97%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Temperature is too high in the rooms ! and too much noise in the room when we close the door's room
  • 77%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous France
  • On the negative side the rooms were too hot and the breakfast poor. On the positive side it was clean, modern, easy to find and good value for money. The area has gone through some major changes during the last couple of years which has improved the safety and decreased the amounts of crime.
  • 89%
  • 22 May 2014 Emma Maria Sweden
  • Definitely recommend! Very good value for money, zone 1, close to the underground and buses, also night ones. Shops and restaurants nearby (definitely try Pizzeria La Luna). Rooms are very nice and cleaned on a daily basis (except for the trash bins, but they were emptied slightly later). Comfy linen and towels. The only (small) minus is that WiFi only works at the bar downstairs, which is closed around 11 PM.
  • 91%
  • 16 May 2014 Anonymous Poland
  • It needs WiFi throughout not just in the basement lounge/bar. Also the bar isn't open until midnight, it's 11 if you can only make like two things after 11 then just close at 11. It's in a bit of a sketchy area but it isn't hard to get to the tube station, however, you need better directions to the hostel. There are more than one exits to that station and your directions suck.
  • 74%
  • 24 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very helpful staff. Professionally run. Suitable for young and older. Would use it again
  • 89%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Margaret New Zealand
  • I totally loved this hostel, everything was perfect from A-Z (clean, stylish, new, willing staff, bus stop in front etc.). My rating is 99%. The 1% left is three minor things: missing a shelf or a table in the room, slamming doors (some cushioning would be fine) and Wi-Fi available only in the lounge. Great hostel, totally recommend!
  • 100%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Jaroslava Czech Republic
  • Very clean rooms, bathrooms and showers. Felt safe, hostel located right next to bus stops and a short walk from a tube station.
  • 97%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Chad USA
  • Loved staying here! The place was clean and nice looking. The Staff was most Excellent! There was a young man there that seemed to go out of his way to help me out. From the very first when I arrived with all my baggage, he was out cleaning off the porch and when he saw me arrive, ran down to help me get my bags up the stairs. And the ladies at the desk, who helped me with my plug-in issue, was so helpful. Definitely recommend anyone to stay. One suggestion ~ shelves in the bunks for phones.
  • 97%
  • 08 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »