See other London properties

Safestay (Elephant and Castle) Limited

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 86% from 58 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, clean and looks really nice.
  • 86%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Michel Netherlands
  • THE ROOM IS AWESOME. BED WITH CURTAINS. ITS WARM IN THE HOSTEL.
  • 86%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • High quality accomodation. Shower could have been cleaned better.
  • 74%
  • 07 Nov 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • I choose this hostel because they have private curtain for each bed. It was nice stay. They have very big bar underground. The only drawback is this hostel is little bit expensive comparing to other hostels. But definitely wanna stay here again for my next visit.
  • 86%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I travel often in hostel and i think Safestay like a good one. It's clean, safe, near bus station and underground (Elephant&Castle). There is maybe two wrong point. First : there is no microwave reachable to eat something hot. When you travel, it's sometimes the best and cheap lunch or diner. The second wrong point is about the Wifi. It's on just in the main room and sometimes he's off line. The main room is also too noisy for skype or a little work.
  • 80%
  • 15 Oct 2014 Guillaume France
  • They didn't give good directions to the hostel and when I pointed this out during check in, I was told that I couldn't read a map and found that INCREDIBLY rude. There was no age limit so I was a 21 year old female in a room with 45 year old men. The location was horrible! BAD neighborhood and it was far away from all the sights. The wifi didn't work AT ALL and they charge an arm and a leg to use their computers. Staff was rude and bathrooms were FILTHY. Beds were comfortable though.
  • 43%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Many reviews say that the area is dodgy but honestly it felt just like back home which is to say, quite fine. I wouldn't take out my cell phone and idly look at it while walking alone late at night, but that's just common sense anywhere. The 3-person private was amazing, the staff very friendly, the included breakfast perfect. Some reminders to younger visitors to be quiet and respectful of others after 10pm would be nice, but aside from that it certainly is a "poshtel". Thumbs up to Emilio.
  • 97%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This Hostel is more like a nice family Hotel. Best Hostel I´ve ever been before. They are cleaning everyday and when something get dirty during the day, they are cleaning again. The atmosphere is amazing there. The people who are staying there are really nice and the whole hotel is very nice.
  • 100%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Danijela Germany
  • Safestay is super secure, the staff is helpful and friendly, it's super clean, and a great price. I will say that it is not in the best location, but you are close to the metro and bus stops, so that's okay. There's not much atmosphere as it's a big hostel, but that's not really their fault. It's more of a place to stay than a place to meet people. And I don't like that they don't have a kitchen, but the bar has good food for cheap, which makes up for it. Overall, I recommend it!
  • 91%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I've stayed at RestUp, St.Christophers and Safestay and Safestay was the best among these.
  • 80%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Burak Turkey
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »