See other London properties

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 85% from 69 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed at this hostel with my friend for two nights. We were very surprised by the atmosphere in the house. The staff was very helpfull and kind, recommended us good restaurants and places where to go, bus schedule... everything we asked, answered us. The room was cleaned, the bed very comfortable. I recommend this hostel very much, the location is 5 min. to metro station, bus stop in front of the hostel, simply, high quality house.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • I recommend this hostel. Staff was really very nice, friendly and kind. Everything was clean. If you want to leave your backpack in the hostel, they have a very nice cage but it surprised me I had to buy the padlock in the hostel. It was not available. But still I would go there again with my own padlock:-).
  • 83%
  • 28 Mar 2015 Miluse Czech Republic
  • I had a very nice stay at Elephant & Castle. I was really surprised to see how well maintained the facilities were. One staff member described it as a "boutique hostel"...I couldn't agree more. The location was not bad. Just a very short walk from the train station. The staff were extremely helpful, kind and international (which I thought gave it a nice touch.) I think sheets should be provided as the comforters made me sweat while sleeping...lol. Cool design and layout.
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Marcus USA
  • Would be great to have internet in the rooms and not just in the shared places. The atmosphere in the basement and the pub restaurant set up should be revised. Other than that - a good place to stay.
  • 86%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Raphael Israel
  • the only one flaw was that meagre breakfast.
  • 86%
  • 11 Feb 2015 alessandro Italy
  • the staff are very friendly, the security is extremely greet and location is very near to city centre, 20mins of bus away from the Trafalgar Square. very recommended.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • Nice Hostel! Bedrooms are really cozy and clean. Staff helped us a lot. Internet just work on the bar area and is slow. .You cannot expect a lot from the breakfast, but it is better than no breakfast.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jan 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • No wifi in the rooms but lots of big lounges on the main floor. Beds have curtains for privacy. Bathroom lights are automatic with motion detectors, but the timers are too short and the lights keep turning off, esp mid-shower.
  • 86%
  • 15 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • nice reception staff, helpful, polite,
  • 71%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Ole Vels Denmark
  • I arrived late for one night´s stay ultimo november. There are no numbers on the buildings or the streets in this area, so finding the hostel took some time. I was allocated to a 8-bed room, and was shocked upon opening the door: the smell was unbearable and the room extremely hot. The past week in London had been humid, and now guests were drying their clothes everywhere. I immediately opened the window and fortunately had the bed closest to it. Since it was now around midnight, I felt discoura
  • 49%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Anonymous Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »