See other London properties

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 83% from 85 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very clean and well organized. love the bed curtains!
  • 91%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was my second time on a hostel and I didn't like it! The location of the hostel is bad, not far from the center, but the atmosphere is strange and seems dangerous... The staff are not very nice! The hostel's conditions are very good, but it wasn't always cleaned.
  • 40%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous Portugal
  • A really nice hostel: clean and comfortable. However, it is hotel-like insofar you don't have a kitchen to cook for yourself, only a regular bar.
  • 74%
  • 29 Jul 2015 María José Argentina
  • Although its is pretty far from the city centre, this is a very nice place to stay. Nice comfortable beds, good facilities in the dorm, friendly staff. It was too bad the wifi was not working in the whole hostel. It was a good stay!
  • 86%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Esther Netherlands
  • This hostel was great! I loved that even though I was in a room for 8 I had this privacy, thanks to the curtains. I saw that people complained about location but the underground station was literally a 5 minute walk and there was a Nandos near the station aswell. The only downside was the wifi not in the rooms. Although my sister and I enjoyed hanging out in the bar. Very open and it was nice to not be in the room. However when the bar would get packed the internet was extremely slow.
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Rebecca USA
  • I only stayed a few hours in this hostel, but I have nothing to complain about it. I had a good night sleep and left my luggage there while I was still in the city.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Ricky Brazil
  • The hostel is very clean and comfortable. The staff are also very kind. Although there is smell in some toilets becuase they don't have any windows, it is very valuable to stay with the cost. I recommend this hostel.
  • 97%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Anonymous China
  • No individual powerpoints near the beds was inconvenient, but the hostel was very clean and professionally run.
  • 86%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Typical hostel set up. Beds have curtains for privacy. Woman working breakfast was very rude but the bartender made up for it, he was very hospitable! No wifi in the rooms or lobby, only downstairs in their lounge which is only accessible in the morning if you pay for breakfast.
  • 83%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent Hostel, was there for four nights and enjoyed it. Everything is clean, the rooms are nice and big. There is plenty of room to sit quietly and chill out or to have a few drinks. Staff are friendly and will definitely be heading back there.
  • 94%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Liam Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »