See other London properties

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

144-152 Walworth Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 84% from 72 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • industrial hostel -- packed, quite strict (check-in/out absolute), but good value on balance -- gripes -- bathroom floors flood instantly, suffocating in summer no a/c, toilet paper refills dodgy, and bright lights in dining area designed to damage eyes (drive you out of the place) surrounding area is dead boring except for Crampton Road cafes and 56A infoshop, newly squatted pub, and Aylesburgy Estate conflict -- all temporal left activist action, i.e. right now locals say "Suth-ick" (Southwark
  • 80%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Alan USA
  • Safestay was an awesome hostel. Very clean & nice dorm beds and lots of lounge spaces. It would be nice if the wifi was available in the rooms not just the lounge area. Breakfast is not actually included even though it's still advertised. Would highly recommend staying here!!
  • 89%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It's a nice place: very clean and with a nice bar. I had a room with shower and bathroom. The guys from reception are awesome, I have only two complains: you don't have WI-fi in rooms and is working fine only on bar zone In rooms you have boxes for your stuff but now locks, I had to buy on from reception for 3,5 pounds.
  • 83%
  • 17 May 2015 dragos Romania
  • Good hostel, with good security and privacy.
  • 83%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Thomas Canada
  • I stayed at this hostel with my friend for two nights. We were very surprised by the atmosphere in the house. The staff was very helpfull and kind, recommended us good restaurants and places where to go, bus schedule... everything we asked, answered us. The room was cleaned, the bed very comfortable. I recommend this hostel very much, the location is 5 min. to metro station, bus stop in front of the hostel, simply, high quality house.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • I recommend this hostel. Staff was really very nice, friendly and kind. Everything was clean. If you want to leave your backpack in the hostel, they have a very nice cage but it surprised me I had to buy the padlock in the hostel. It was not available. But still I would go there again with my own padlock:-).
  • 83%
  • 28 Mar 2015 Miluse Czech Republic
  • I had a very nice stay at Elephant & Castle. I was really surprised to see how well maintained the facilities were. One staff member described it as a "boutique hostel"...I couldn't agree more. The location was not bad. Just a very short walk from the train station. The staff were extremely helpful, kind and international (which I thought gave it a nice touch.) I think sheets should be provided as the comforters made me sweat while sleeping...lol. Cool design and layout.
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Marcus USA
  • Would be great to have internet in the rooms and not just in the shared places. The atmosphere in the basement and the pub restaurant set up should be revised. Other than that - a good place to stay.
  • 86%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Raphael Israel
  • the only one flaw was that meagre breakfast.
  • 86%
  • 11 Feb 2015 alessandro Italy
  • the staff are very friendly, the security is extremely greet and location is very near to city centre, 20mins of bus away from the Trafalgar Square. very recommended.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »