See other Galway properties

Salmon Weir Hostel

3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay, Galway, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 69% from 14 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 67%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 61%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A friendly type of hostel. Dominick and his Team are very welcoming, helpful and obliging to guests. Hostel looks a bit tired and does need to be refreshed in certain areas like the Toilets and Dormitory Bedrooms as it look tired and jaded. Many brand new Backpacker Hostels have opened in Galway in recent years and other existing Hostels have all had major refurbishments too. Keep the friendly welcoming spirit but please also invest in the facilities or Salmon Weir will become irrelevant in time
  • 66%
  • 28 Aug 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • We booked for a twin room, the room was very small and the beds were very no confortable to sleep.
  • 51%
  • 13 Aug 2015 Ivan Spain
  • There was no parking facilities and the rooms were tiny. Cleanest was not the best.
  • 46%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • I was actually slightly shocked when I arrived. Didn't know there were hostels in such bad conditions (at least not in the 21st century). Even more surprised that they had a 'Trip advisor'-sticker outside. Has this place really been recommended?! I had a quick look at the room, turned around, and walked out. Wouldn't even spend a night there for free.
  • 26%
  • 05 Aug 2015 Robin Sweden
  • homely sort of place. very friendly staff, good cooking facilities, easy walking distance to bus and town center
  • 86%
  • 19 Jun 2015 thomas Ireland
  • Nice staff, friendly people. it is a small lovely place in the heart of Galway. It is clean and all the facilities I had what I needed. I recommend it to everyone who doesn`t want spiritless huge hostels. Good value.
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2015 Janos Hungary
  • I highly recommend Salmon Weir Hostel. It is only 5 min. walking from Galway Bus Station. Since I arrived there I immediately felt its friendly atmosphere, the staff showed me all the facilities and even introduce to me other guests, it made me feel in comfortable and safe environment. This Hostel is clean, tidy and such a valuable option for any kind of budget.
  • 91%
  • 02 Apr 2015 edgar Mexico
  • We were in a 6 bed mixed that definitely should have had 2 less beds. Two people couldn't move around at one time and there was far too little luggage space (and there were only 4 small lockers instead of 6). Beds were rickety and not the best, but for the price we paid that was to be expected. Showers were questionable but at least hot water! Kitchen was really nice and we loved having access to seasonings for food! Location was decent, about 10 min from train station and 10 from Shop St.
  • 71%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff and other people there were awesome and fun! Everyone was so helpful and were available at all times.
  • 86%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »