See other Galway properties

Salmon Weir Hostel

3 St. Vincent Avenue, Woodquay, Galway, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 74% from 14 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel was sadly the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. As students, we only really used our room for sleeping. The bedroom was tiny (the size of a single bunk bed and enough room to open the door). There was no space to store anything which made moving around the room hard. The room was mouldy and constantly smelt damp. However the bathroom and kitchen were clean. If you want cheap accommodation then this is your place to stay, but be warned! I am glad I only stayed here for 2 nights.
  • 83%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • The hostel had a pretty weird vibe, it sort of felt like it was just some guys house with a lot of people staying in it. It seemed like everyone knew each other except for us. Also there wasn't locked luggage room, we just had to put our stuff in the common room/living room. I mean everything was fine, it just felt a bit weird.
  • 54%
  • 21 Feb 2014 Melanie USA
  • We booked a room for 2 in this hostel, and ended up in a very small room with a quite small bed and very few space for our stuff. The bathrooms are small as well, with nowhere to put your stuff and towel. Moreover, we decided to sleep in this hostel because the website said there was a free parking for residents, which turned out to be absolutely wrong, we had to pay a parking for the 2 days we stayed there. The staff and atmosphere are very pleasant though, but we were disappointed by the place
  • 63%
  • 22 Nov 2013 Soriya France
  • Great hostel! The staff were friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was great and the hostel is very good located. The owner is very kind and caring! We truly recomend!!! One thing important to know - the dorms are small and a bit crowded. Overall it is a great place! And with in reasonable price compare to other hostels.
  • 94%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Tsafrir
  • Great staff! They do your laundry for free. There are also two kitchens to use (with fridges). Also, great location.
  • 91%
  • 10 Jul 2013 Michael USA
  • I think the staff is too loud and there's no plugs in the room
  • 60%
  • 06 Jul 2013 RENATA Brazil
  • The salmon wire hostel is a small hostel with only few showers. But it is really cheap. In a student city like Galway there you can meet a lot of people from different countries.
  • 89%
  • 29 Jun 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • we booked a room for 6 and we were in 4: they told us that the room was only for us, instead tell us that there were other two girls that they went in the room at three in the morning withoput sayng naothing before: rabbish
  • 57%
  • 28 Jun 2013 daniele Italy
  • Cool place. Like going home. Small cozy, friendly people. Good kitchen and good people. No luggage storage room. Not a huge issue though. We were warned against it and it turned out great. More of a homely feel than many hostels. It's a nice quiet place where you can get comfortable fast. Backyard smoking area is great. Staff had an issue with an unwanted person and dealt with it swiftly and very well. Great location for all Galway has to offer.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Luke USA
  • Good WiFi and staff were nice. Bathrooms were unclean. Beds were horrifically uncomfortable. Rooms were very cramped. Lockers available was nice but locks didn't fit. Shortage of wall sockets. Shortage of bathrooms. One of our group waited an hour to use the bathroom because three rooms seemed to be using one bathroom.
  • 63%
  • 08 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »