See other Vancouver properties

SameSun Backpacker Lodge - Vancouver

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 87% from 52 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was totally good.Because when I got to there,the staff was really friendly and smile.And I can't speak English well but they listened and talked politely.So I had good time there.
  • 94%
  • 07 Sep 2015 Takuya
  • Amazing place! The staff are great, a big hello and thanks to Doug and Giles and David! Clean facilities, friendly atmosphere, and budget friendly. Greetings from your pal, Juan Sabat.
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2015 Juan Honduras
  • very good and clean hostel, many nice People and right Downtown. Good place to stay.
  • 86%
  • 24 Aug 2015 Nadine Germany
  • I stayed at the SameSun Backpacker in August for a half marathon race. The staff was always friendly and helpfull and made sure only guests were allowed in the hostel area. It is centrally located in the downtown area and its a short walk to the skytrain which can get you anywhere. For the price it included a pretty good breakfast of bagels, fruit, and oatmeal in the restaurant below. The rooms were clean and the bed were comfortable but no a/c in rooms. Bathrooms were clean. I would stay again!
  • 86%
  • 11 Aug 2015 Herbert USA
  • Excellent Location, very good day trip activities. Information ready available.
  • 83%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Doreen Canada
  • Great location. Beaver Bar downstairs is an excellent place to meet new friends! Would stay again!
  • 86%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anna USA
  • I enjoyed my visit to Vancouver and this hostel had a great location on Granville Street. They had a lot of evening activities for the guests and informed us about walking tours and day trips like the Granville Island tour guided by one of their staff members. However, on the downside, the hostel had a horrible odor on my way up the stairs. There was no ventilation or A/C so the rooms were hot and humid. The mattress on the bottom bunk bed was uncomfortable so I had trouble sleeping.
  • 69%
  • 13 Jul 2015 ANISH Canada
  • Samesun has a very nice atmosphere, it's kinda cosy in there. Rooms are small (therefore the cosiness!!) but clean and practical (many outlets, lamps and small tables by each bedside, big mirror, etc.). Bathrooms are ok-isch. Breakfast was great and free (or should I say, included...).
  • 77%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • I didn't end up taking as much advantage of samesun as I could have, because I had made friends on the first leg of my trip, and we mostly stuck together, but the hostel was great for my purposes - clean, great location, friendly. If I had wanted to do more through them, they appeared to have a ton of great stuff going on.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • A friendly place to stay. 4-person rooms were large and comfortable. Every bed had a light, fan, and small shelf for keeping things close. Location is in the heart of the entertainment district, super close to bars and clubs, as well as public transportation.
  • 91%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »