See other Vancouver properties

SameSun Backpacker Lodge - Vancouver

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 86% from 28 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Rooms were TINY. Originally paid to reserve a bed in an 8 bed co-ed room. Was told I got "bumped up" to a room with 6 dudes stuffed in 3 bunk beds in a 12' x 8' room with lockers occupying only free space. This hostel is not as social as it looks. Open mic night cancelled because d.j. didn't show up. Candy machine ripped me off for $1.50 and desk refused to reimburse, even though the hostel owns the machine. Kitchen is okay. Showers clean. Located in heart of V.C. entertainment district.
  • 57%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was friendly and very helpful, facilities were well beyond what I was expecting for 33$ a night. I felt safe the entire time I was there, and felt no insecurities leaving my luggage there during the day. Location is perfect, very central. Saved lots of money with the included breakfast that The Beaver puts on. I'll definitely stay at this hostel again, and recommend it to friends.
  • 100%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I think, the wash rooms need to be more spacious.
  • 83%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Arnab India
  • Great people. Great location.
  • 89%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Michael Canada
  • Perfect location in the city. Security was good. Great staff and good facilities. Recommended for others!
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Kjartan Alexander Norway
  • I would have like to seen better common areas. Maybe a fussball table or something. Rooms were clean.
  • 74%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anders Sweden
  • Awesome location and breakfast, great offers of organized activities. Facilities seemed average hostel standards.
  • 77%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • Crews are nice. People are nice. Everything was nice in Vancouver. If there had been more activities that hostel hosts, it would've been better than I felt. But it was still nice. And don't forget to taste the beer they recommend in the beaver. It's worth staying for at least a week
  • 80%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It was a nice vibrant atmosphere. There were many opportunities to meet people. I was impressed with the frequency of the cleaning of the bathrooms. However quite often there was a wait for showers and sinks, toilets less frequently.
  • 89%
  • 21 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We were at Samesun last week end, and it was just awesome! The rooms clean, beds comfortable, nice room mates and delicious breakfast. You just need to walk out the building and stand directly in front of all the bars and clubs. We didn't go to the hostel bar, it seemed nice and fun though! We'll check it out this week end when we'll go again ;)
  • 83%
  • 17 May 2014 Marilena Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »