See other Vancouver properties

SameSun Backpacker Lodge - Vancouver

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 89% from 38 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Samesun has a very nice atmosphere, it's kinda cosy in there. Rooms are small (therefore the cosiness!!) but clean and practical (many outlets, lamps and small tables by each bedside, big mirror, etc.). Bathrooms are ok-isch. Breakfast was great and free (or should I say, included...).
  • 77%
  • 07 Jul 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • I didn't end up taking as much advantage of samesun as I could have, because I had made friends on the first leg of my trip, and we mostly stuck together, but the hostel was great for my purposes - clean, great location, friendly. If I had wanted to do more through them, they appeared to have a ton of great stuff going on.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • A friendly place to stay. 4-person rooms were large and comfortable. Every bed had a light, fan, and small shelf for keeping things close. Location is in the heart of the entertainment district, super close to bars and clubs, as well as public transportation.
  • 91%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • i was in town for a class, so i wasn't around much, mostly just there to sleep. however, i noticed that SameSun had a lot of activities available, many of which appealed to me. the staff was very helpful and always available. it was a nice experience overall.
  • 86%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Eric USA
  • better showers than back home. great seperation of noisy areas and sleepy areas
  • 86%
  • 08 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Its a nice place to stay. I like the beds with there own light and fan.
  • 100%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Anonymous Trinidad And Tobago
  • One of the best hostels I have stayed so far. It seemed a little expensive but the breakfast that is included on the price is really good (anywherelse it would cost no less than 8 bucks for sure). The daily activities are awesome, is a prefect hostel either if you want to party like an animal or just visit vancouver an chill in the nights.The only point to improve is the lugage storage room as there is not much safety if everyone can go for their own bags with no supervision or tags.
  • 91%
  • 05 Apr 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Great staff - super helpful and friendly + super clean place, and great facilities
  • 94%
  • 23 Mar 2015 Anonymous France
  • It is really nice to place to stay in downtown Vancouver. Location is really good in downtown.
  • 100%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Jonghoon
  • Very friendly and helpful staff. Delightfully large towels. Friendly environment overall among the guests. The bathrooms were accommodating and the showers were great. My mattress wasn't the best -- I could feel the springs -- but overall it was a great experience.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jan 2015 Cordelia USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »