See other Vancouver properties

SameSun Vancouver

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 86% from 32 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, though not that much room in the dorms for kit. Kitchen not all that well equipped and you have to ask at the front desk for pots and pans. They also only have a stove, no oven. They plan a free outing/activity every day and the on site bar has something going on every night so lots to do. Definitely recommend them.
  • 77%
  • 14 Jul 2016 Anonymous England
  • I loved SameSun Hostal! It's really close to anything and all the staff is really nice! Also they have daily activities so if you're a solo trip you will get to know someone ;)
  • 94%
  • 05 Jun 2016 Brenda Mexico
  • Our stay here was great! The staff were friendly and accommodating and the facilities were very nice! Loved the free breakfast and all the activities the staff planned! Will definitely stay here again next time I am in Vancouver.
  • 100%
  • 18 May 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • Ticks all the boxes. Best location for downtown, the hostel was very busy but run extremely well and efficiently it was like clockwork. Good breakfast, bathrooms were fine, fun bar with affordable drinks. Weekday prices were very reasonable. Because it was so big, the staff did sometimes seem a bit detached and cold which had an impact on the atmosphere, but they were very helpful for the most part and even waived the fee I owed for booking the wrong night. Would definitely stay here again.
  • 94%
  • 17 May 2016 Joseph
  • Great hostel in an unbeatable location. It's accessible to transit, shopping, and bars. Rooms and other facilities were cleaned daily. But allergy sufferers should note that there's a lot of carpeting. The only issue was that the self-service kitchen closes at midnight. Even if you have food in it you won't be able to access it after that time.
  • 97%
  • 22 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I've been here 3 times within the last 4 months after checking its review and it holds true to its current rating within the last year or so and its been great staying over here.
  • 97%
  • 25 Mar 2016 Joel Canada
  • LUUUUUUUDDDDDDOOOOOOO!
  • 100%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Kynan Australia
  • I had a wonderful stay here! The showers are some of the better ones I've encountered in hostels- good water pressure, privacy and temperature control. Bagels for breakfast was different than the standard cereal but very good, other choices were also available. Rooms are small, but okay. I would caution you that they do not allow any outside bedding whatsoever, and I was told to pack up my extra blanket until I left. This isn't a huge issue, as the blankets given are warm enough.
  • 100%
  • 04 Mar 2016 Penelope Canada
  • Awesome people, location and facilities. Pretty big place, rooms are nice, everything's clean. The bar downstairs is great - cheap beer on tap, food, fun events like beer pong nights/etc. Has everything you could need like laundry, big kitchen, etc. Sign up for all of the activities/trips - they're fun and the staff/guides are all great people. I could go on but yeah, just stay here, it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in.
  • 100%
  • 20 Feb 2016 Amanda Canada
  • Love the SameSun. If I'm ever back in Vancouver, this is definitely where I'll be staying. Everything was top notch from the staff to the facilities to the food and drinks in the Beaver. Just a wonderful experience.
  • 94%
  • 14 Jan 2016 Nathaniel USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »